Development News Edition
Give Feedback

REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 0600 GMT/0200 ET


Reuters Last Updated at 08 Aug 2018, 11:08 IST

Here are the top stories and upcoming coverage plans for Reuters text service as of 6 a.m. GMT/2 a.m. ET. For a full schedule of news and events, go to our editorial calendar on Reuters Connect https://www.reutersconnect.com/planning or on Media Express http://mediaexpress.reuters.com/planning-tools/calendar.

TOP STORIES

GLOBAL

INDONESIA-QUAKE

Rescuers dig through quake rubble for aunt of Indonesian sprint star

KARANGPANGSOR, Indonesia (Reuters) - Rescuers on Indonesia’s quake-hit island of Lombok dug through the rubble of a mosque on Wednesday, hoping to reach the aunt of a sprinter who became a national hero last month at the under-20 world championships in Finland.

USA-IMMIGRATION

Guatemalan children reunited with deported parents after U.S. separation

GUATEMALA CITY (Reuters) - Nine Guatemalan children separated from their parents at the U.S. border under President Donald Trump’s “zero tolerance” immigration policy were flown home on Tuesday and reunited with their deported families, Guatemala’s government said.

U.S.

USA-ELECTION

Trump-backed Republican clings to narrow lead in U.S. House race in Ohio

Aug 7 (Reuters) - A Republican clung to a narrow lead in a hotly contested U.S. House of Representatives race in Ohio late on Tuesday, holding off a strong challenge in the reliably Republican district after a late show of support from President Donald Trump.

USA-TRUMP/RUSSIA-MANAFORT

Manafort defense questions star witness Gates about 'secret life'

ALEXANDRIA, Va., Aug 7 (Reuters) - The star witness in the trial of former Trump campaign chairman Paul Manafort faced tough questioning on cross-examination on Tuesday about a "secret life" that included an extramarital affair and stealing funds from his former boss.

BUSINESS

TESLA-MUSK-BUYOUT

Elon Musk's Tesla buyout would reengineer take-private deals

(Reuters) - Billionaire investor Elon Musk has always done things his own way, from designing space rockets to manufacturing electric cars. Now the Tesla Inc CEO is looking to reengineer how a company can be taken private.

USA-TRADE-CHINA-MEDIA

Chinese media warns against 'wantonly' rising tariffs in U.S. trade war

BEIJING (Reuters) - Certain people who want to wield the “stick of hegemony” on China with tariffs for their own personal ends will only end up hurting themselves, major Chinese state newspapers said on Wednesday in a unified message against the United States.

ENTERTAINMENT

PEOPLE-JOLIE-PITT

Angelina Jolie wants divorce finalized by end of 2018

LOS ANGELES (Reuters) - Angelina Jolie on Tuesday sought to move forward with her long and sometimes bitter divorce from Brad Pitt, which has yet to be finalized after almost two years.

FILM-WINNIETHEPOOH

China denies entry to Disney's Winnie the Pooh film: source

LOS ANGELES (Reuters) - Walt Disney Co’s request to show “Christopher Robin,” a movie that features the honey-loving bear Winnie the Pooh, has been denied by authorities in China, a source familiar with the matter said on Tuesday.

SPORTS

USA-GAMBLING-NEW-YORK

New York mulls paying league fees for sports betting

SARATOGA SPRINGS, N.Y. (Reuters) - A top New York state gaming official said on Tuesday that paying fees to professional sports leagues is under consideration by state regulators who are drafting rules that govern betting.

GOLF-PGACHAMP

Woods' world dominates PGA Championship build-up

ST. LOUIS, Missouri, Aug 7 (Reuters) - It wasn't so much media day at the 100th PGA Championships on Tuesday as Tiger Woods Day.

UPCOMING

POLITICS / INTERNATIONAL AFFAIRS

BRITAIN-EU/FRANCE-SCHOOLS

France builds schools for Brexit kids, parents may prefer private ones

French authorities are spending 150 million euros to open new high schools in Paris for the children of bank employees who relocate from London as Brexit looms. But French state-run schools may not be what expats are looking for or expect.

8 Aug 06:00 ET / 10:00 GMT

FRANCE-WW1/BATTLE (PIX) (TV)

Centenary of the Battle of Amiens, key moment of World War One

Commemorations to mark the 100th anniversary of the Battle of Amiens, a critical moment in World War One when French and British troops launched the 100-day offensive against German forces that led to the armistice in November 1918. Theresa May and Prince William will attend the ceremony at Amiens Cathedral.

8 Aug 08:30 ET / 12:30 GMT

SAUDI-CANADA/DIPLOMACY (PIX) (TV)

Saudi Foreign Minister holds a press conference on Canada row

Saudi Foreign Minister Adel al-Jubeir is holding a press conference in Riyadh after the kingdom froze new trade and investment and expelled the Canadian ambassador in retaliation for Ottawa’s call to free arrested Saudi civil society activists.

8 Aug 06:30 ET / 10:30 GMT

SAUDI-CANADA/DIPLOMACY

Canadian Prime Minister to address growing dispute with Saudi Arabia

Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau is scheduled to speak to reporters and will be pressed on a rapidly escalating diplomatic dispute with Saudi Arabia. Riyadh recalled its ambassador and barred all new bilateral trade deals after Ottawa criticized the kingdom's human rights record.

8 Aug 14:00 ET / 18:00 GMT

USA-IMMIGRATION/

Judge to weigh temporary ban on deporting reunited migrant families

Lawyers for immigrant children who have been reunited with their parents will ask a federal judge to temporarily prevent the Trump Administration from deporting them so that they have time to pursue U.S. asylum.

8 Aug 16:00 ET / 20:00 GMT

ITALY-POLITICS/ (TV)

PM Conte holds press conference ahead of summer break

Italian Prime Minister Giuseppe Conte meets reporters for a press conference ahead of the traditional summer holiday break.

8 Aug 05:00 ET / 09:00 GMT

ZIMBABWE-ELECTION/ (PIX) (TV)

Opposition leader Chamisa and lawyers to announce details on election challenge

Zimbabwe's main opposition leader Nelson Chamisa and his lawyers are expected to announce when they will challenge President Emmerson Mnangagwa's victory at the Constitutional Court.

8 Aug 05:30 ET / 09:30 GMT

CRIME / LAW / JUSTICE

USA-GUNS/HAWAII (PIX)

Unlikely pair could usher gun rights case to U.S. Supreme Court

George Young is a Vietnam veteran who sued the state of Hawaii three times on his own, without a lawyer, for the right to carry a handgun in his state and lost each time. Attorney Alan Beck is a solo practitioner who took on Young's appeal for free. Without any help from the powerful NRA gun lobby, the pair last month won a major victory for gun rights from a notably liberal appeals court and could end up before the U.S. Supreme Court to settle the next great firearms debate in America - whether states can ban people from carrying handguns in public.

8 Aug 06:00 ET / 10:00 GMT

USA-CANNABIS/PETS (PIX) (TV)

Pot for pets - "Give the dog a bone" raises legal questions

Medical marijuana is being used to treat a growing number of ailing dogs and cats amid a new wave of studies indicating it eases animals' struggles with arthritis, epilepsy, anxiety and other sicknesses.

But life-altering decisions typically made by veterinarians - about dosing, among others - are being left up to pet owners because nearly all of the 29 U.S. states that have legalized medical marijuana have failed to include veterinarians. As a result, vets are muted out of fear that even discussing the federally outlawed drug will put their hard-earned professional licenses at risk.

That could change soon with California poised to pass the nation’s first law giving veterinarians the legal cover they need to answer pet owners' questions about using cannabis products for their infirmed four-legged clients.

8 Aug 07:00 ET / 11:00 GMT

BUSINESS / ECONOMICS

NETHERLANDS-SUPER YACHTS/ (PIX)

Dutch super yacht builders benefit from economic upswing

The Netherlands, which amassed great wealth during its maritime Golden Age, has carved out a vast share of the global luxury boating market, with several of the world's top 10 super yacht builders located in Dutch harbours. The Dutch now supply nearly a third of ships in a market that has topped a billion euros annually worldwide. What’s the secret to their success?

8 Aug 09:00 ET / 13:00 GMT

THOMSONREUTERS-RESULTS/ (PIX)

Thomson Reuters second-quarter earnings

Thomson Reuters reports second quarter results. The company may also provide an update on the sale of a majority stake in its Financial & Risk unit, which sells data and news primarily to financial customers, to private equity firm Blackstone Group. The deal is expected to close in the second half of the year.

8 Aug 08:30 ET / 12:30 GMT

USA-FED/BARKIN

Richmond Federal Reserve Bank President Barkin speaks before business and community leaders

Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond President Tom Barkin speaks on "Unlocking Our Potential" before a group of local business and community leaders, in Roanoke, Va.

8 Aug 08:30 ET / 12:30 GMT

SCIENCE / TECHNOLOGY

USA-CLIMATECHANGE/ (PIX)

American climate skeptics hold America First Energy Conference

Trump administration officials team up with America’s most vocal climate skeptics for an ‘America First Energy Policy’ conference in Louisiana, one of the coastal states fighting to protect its coast against rising seas.

8 Aug 10:00 ET / 14:00 GMT

ARTS / CULTURE / ENTERTAINMENT

TELEVISION-MTV/ (PIX)

Escapism or activism? Resurgent youth channel MTV looks to do both

Youth channel MTV is enjoying a resurgence on the back of reviving reality shows like the raucous "Jersey Shore: Family Vacation." Now the network that championed "Rock the Vote" in the 1990s is burnishing its activist credentials as teens turn to social media to promote causes ranging from gun control to gay rights.

8 Aug 09:00 ET / 13:00 GMT

SPORTS

GOLF-PGACHAMP/ (PIX)

Golf - PGA Championship

Justin Thomas, Patrick Reed, Justin Rose and Tommy Fleetwood are among players speaking to the media on Wednesday ahead of the PGA Championship.

8 Aug 17:00 ET / 21:00 GMT

(PIX) (TV) (GRAPHIC)

FRANCE - BTF non-competitive bids

8 Aug 05:00 ET / 09:00 GMT

(This story has not been edited by Devdiscourse staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

add banner

LEAVE COMMENT

Download our Android App on Google Play