Development News Edition
Give Feedback

REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 10 p.m. GMT/6 a.m. SGT


Reuters Last Updated at 09-11-2018 03:30:35 IST
President Donald Trump’s strategy to contain Iranian power in the Middle East by forging Arab allies into a U.S.-backed security alliance was in trouble even before the murder of Saudi journalist Jamal Khashoggi. Now, three U.S. sources said, the plan faces fresh complications.

US-USA-RUSSIA-GORBACHEV/

Frail Mikhail Gorbachev warns against return to the Cold War

MOSCOW (Reuters) - Mikhail Gorbachev, the last Soviet leader, warned on Thursday against rising tensions between Russia and the United States and said there should be no return to the Cold War.

U.S.

US-CALIFORNIA-SHOOTING/

Ex-Marine identified as suspect in mass shooting in California bar

THOUSAND OAKS, Calif. (Reuters) - An ex-Marine opened fire in a crowded Southern California bar popular with college students, killing 12 people including a sheriff’s deputy, police said on Thursday, in the latest U.S. mass shooting that stunned a community with a reputation for safety.

US-USA-ELECTION/

Unresolved high-profile U.S. elections could be headed to recounts

High-profile U.S. electoral races in Georgia, Florida and Arizona remained unresolved on Thursday, two days after the vote, with the prospect of legal challenges, recounts and ballot reviews setting the stage for possible weeks of uncertainty.

BUSINESS

US-TESLA-CHAIR/

Tesla taps director Denholm as chair after Musk rows

Tesla Inc director Robyn Denholm, a telecoms executive who has worked for Toyota, has been promoted to chairwoman of the electric car company and tasked with regulating billionaire Elon Musk’s regime after months of turbulence.

US-ALPHABET-GOOGLE-HARASSMENT/

Google hears protesters, changes sexual harassment policies

Alphabet Inc’s Google said on Thursday it would change the way it handles sexual harassment claims, a week after 20,000 of its employees around the world walked off their jobs to protest its response to such issues.

ENTERTAINMENT

US-NETFLIX-SATANIC-TEMPLE/

Satanic Temple sues Netflix over 'Sabrina' use of Baphomet deity

NEW YORK (Reuters) - The Satanic Temple sued Netflix Inc and Warner Bros Entertainment on Thursday, seeking more than $50 million for their alleged unauthorized use of a statue of the goat-headed deity Baphomet in the series “Chilling Adventures of Sabrina.”

US-FILM-WIZARD-OF-OZ-AUCTION/

'Wizard of Oz' draft scripts head for auction block

LOS ANGELES (Reuters) - A collection of draft scripts for “The Wizard of Oz” and other material from the archives of the 1939 film are going up for auction in December and could fetch up to $1.2 million.

SPORTS

US-BASEBALL-MLB-OFFSEASON/

MLB faces offseason challenges

Major League Baseball heads into the offseason with no shortage of issues to address, most pressingly the drop in stadium attendance and TV ratings, a trend toward longer games and a dearth of star power in its ranks.

US-GOLF-EUROPEAN/

Golf: Garcia sets pace at Sun City with faultless 64

Sergio Garcia birdied three of the last four holes on his way to a faultless opening round of 64 and a four-shot lead in the European Tour’s Nedbank Golf Challenge in Sun City on Thursday.

UPCOMING

POLITICS / INTERNATIONAL AFFAIRS

AUSTRIA-HOLOCAUST/

Austrian parliament and government commemorate Nazi Kristallnacht

Austria's cabinet and members of parliament attend a ceremony marking the 80th anniversary of the Kristallnacht, also known as the Night of Broken Glass, a state-sponsored spree of looting and destruction of Jewish property across Nazi Germany and Austria.

9 Nov, 03:30 ET / 08:30 GMT

GERMANY-HOLOCAUST/ (PIX) (TV)

Germany´s Merkel speaks on 80th anniversary of Nazis' Kristallnacht

Chancellor Angela Merkel speaks on the 80th anniversary of Kristallnacht, also known as Night of Broken Glass, a state-sponsored spree of looting and destruction of Jewish property across Germany and Austria, at Berlin's largest synagogue in Rykestrasse street. President Frank-Walter Steinmeier and parliament president Wolfgang Schauble will also attend, as will other high-ranking German officials.

9 Nov, 05:00 ET / 10:00 GMT

GERMANY-POLITICS/

German candidates seeking to replace Merkel as CDU leader give statements

Annegret Kramp-Karrenbauer, Friedrich Merz und Jens Spahn, who are all in the running to replace Merkel as leader of the Christian Democrats (CDU) - a role that would put them in pole position to become chancellor - will each make statement.

9 Nov, 09:00 ET / 14:00 GMT

CONFLICTS / WAR / PEACE

MIDEAST-CRISIS/JAPAN-HOSTAGE (PIX)

Japanese journalist freed after 40 months in Syrian "hell" speaks at news conference

Japanese journalist Jumpei Yasuda, recently freed after held hostage 40 months by Syrian militants, gives second news conference since his release.

9 Nov, 01:00 ET / 06:00 GMT

DISASTERS / ACCIDENTS

AFGHANISTAN-DROUGHT/ (PIX) (TV)

Winter cold adds to misery for Afghans left homeless by drought

Mahiuddin, from Badghis, in western Afghanistan, has been living in a tent for months, one of tens of thousands displaced by the worst drought the country has seen in years. Already struggling after decades of war, Afghanistan faces an acute food shortage in many regions, with 2.6 million people facing emergency-level food insecurity, one stage short of outright famine.

Nov 9

BUSINESS / ECONOMICS

GLOBAL-ECONOMY/WEEKAHEAD

Global Economy Weekahead

A weekly look at key economic events for the global economy in the coming seven days.

Nov 9

MEXICO-ECONOMY/INDUSTRIALOUTPUT

Mexico-Industrial production

9 Nov, 08:00 ET / 13:00 GMT

USA-FED/WILLIAMS

New York Federal Reserve Bank President Williams gives opening remarks before workforce book launch event

Federal Reserve Bank of New York President John Williams gives opening remarks before the Investing in America's Workforce Book Launch, in New York.

9 Nov, 08:30 ET / 13:30 GMT

USA-FED/QUARLES

Federal Reserve Vice Chair Quarles speaks at Brookings Institution

Federal Reserve Vice Chair for Supervision Randal Quarles speaks on "Stress Testing" before Brookings Institution event: "The Future of Financial Regulation," in Washington.

9 Nov, 09:05 ET / 14:05 GMT

AUSTRALIA-ECONOMY/RBA

RBA statement on monetary policy

RBA's quarterly outlook for the economy and policy should remain upbeat given the economy surprised with its strength in the first half and unemployment unexpectedly fell to a 6-1/2 year low of 5 pct in Sept. Inflation and wage growth are still too low, however, and falling home prices have added an extra risk.

9 Nov 19:30 ET / 00:30 GMT

CHINA-CYBER/

Wuzhen hosts the 5th World Internet Conference

The fifth World Internet Conference (WIC) runs from Nov 7 to Nov 9 in Wuzhen, Zhejiang province.

Nov 9

CHINA-AUTO/

China Association of Automobile Manufacturer to announce October auto sales figures

China's top auto industry association to announce October auto sales figures, amid slowing economic growth and a biting trade war between China and the United States.

9 Nov, 01:00 ET / 06:00 GMT

CHINA-TRADE/

Shanghai holds the China International Import Expo

Shanghai holds the China International Import Expo from Nov. 5 to 10.

Nov 9

COLOMBIA-TAX/

Colombia tax reform may push up prices, hasten rate rise-analysts

A controversial tax reform proposed by Colombia's government could push up consumer prices, moving inflation away from its target level and possibly leading the central bank to raise the interest rate sooner than had been expected, analysts said.

Nov 9

USA-FED/HARKER

Philadelphia Federal Reserve Bank President Harker speaks on "Workforce Investment by Sector"

Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia President Patrick Harker speaks on "Workforce Investment by Sector" before the Investing in America's Workforce Book Launch, in New York.

9 Nov, 08:45 ET / 13:45 GMT

EU-TRADE/ (TV)

European Union trade ministers meet

European Union trade ministers meet in Brussels with EU-U.S. relations likely to be high on their agenda

9 Nov

AIA GROUP-RESULTS

Insurer AIA to announce Q3 results

Asia-focused insurer AIA Group Ltd will announce its financial results for the fiscal third quarter on Friday.

Nov 9

HUNGARY-CHINA/ (PIX) (TV)

China central bank governor Yi Gang, Hungary PM Orban speak at event

Chinese central bank governor Yi Gang, Hungarian Prime Minister Viktor Orban and Hungarian central bank governor Gyorgy Matolcsy speak at news conference.

9 Nov, 03:00 ET / 08:00 GMT

ARTS / CULTURE / ENTERTAINMENT

JAPAN-ROYALS/ (PIX)

Japanese Emperor Akihito holds annual autumn garden party, his last before abdicating next April

Japanese Emperor Akihito holds his last autumn garden party before abdicating next April, the first abdication by a Japanese emperor in about two centuries.

Nov 9

FILM-RUTH BADER GINSBURG/ (TV)

'On the Basis of Sex' world premiere in Los Angeles

World premiere of "On the Basis of Sex" a dramatization of the life and career of U.S. Supreme Court Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg, starring Felicity Jones, Armie Hammer.

8 Nov, 23:00 ET / 04:00 GMT

AUCTION-ART/DIAMOND-PREVIEW (PIX) (TV)

$30 to $50 million-estimated pink diamond goes at auction

Estimated between $30 and $50 million, 18.96 carats pink diamond "The Pink Legacy" goes under the hammer at Christie's bi-annual auction. Descended from the Oppenheimer Family, this rectangular-cut gem will lead the sale. Only four vivid pink diamonds over ten carats have ever been offered for sale at auction.

9 Nov, 03:00 ET / 08:00 GMT

SPORTS

SPORT-DOPING/RUSSIA (PIX) (TV)

Russian anti-doping chief Ganus holds news conference

Head of Russia’s anti-doping authority (RUSADA) Yuri Ganus holds a news conference in Moscow. RUSADA's status had been reinstated by WADA (World Anti-Doping Agency) after serving a three-year ban.

9 Nov, 05:00 ET / 10:00 GMT

(This story has not been edited by Devdiscourse staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)


add banner

LEAVE COMMENT