Development News Edition
Give Feedback

REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 6 a.m GMT/2 p.m SGT


Reuters Last Updated at 09-11-2018 11:31:03 IST
The Trump administration unveiled new rules on Thursday to sharply limit migrant asylum claims by barring individuals who cross the U.S. southern border illegally from seeking asylum.

USA-MIDEAST-ALLIANCE-EXCLUSIVE/

Exclusive: Khashoggi murder further complicates 'Arab NATO' plan - U.S. sources

WASHINGTON (Reuters) - President Donald Trump’s strategy to contain Iranian power in the Middle East by forging Arab allies into a U.S.-backed security alliance was in trouble even before the murder of Saudi journalist Jamal Khashoggi. Now, three U.S. sources said, the plan faces fresh complications.

U.S.

USA-ELECTION/

Recounts, runoffs loom over high-profile elections in Florida, Georgia

High-profile U.S. elections in Georgia, Florida and Arizona remained unresolved on Thursday, two days after the vote, with the prospect of legal challenges, recounts and ballot reviews setting the stage for possible weeks of uncertainty.

CALIFORNIA-SHOOTING/

Ex-Marine apparently acted alone in California bar shooting: FBI

THOUSAND OAKS, Calif. (Reuters) - A former U.S. Marine combat veteran opened fire in a Los Angeles area bar packed with line-dancing college students, killing 12 people in a mass shooting that stunned a bucolic Southern California community with a reputation for safety.

BUSINESS

ALPHABET-GOOGLE-HARASSMENT/

Google hears protesters, changes sexual harassment policies

Alphabet Inc’s Google said on Thursday it would change the way it handles sexual harassment claims, a week after 20,000 of its workers around the world walked off their jobs to protest its response to such issues.

MEXICO-TRADE/

U.S., Mexico, Canada ministers to sign trade pact Nov. 30, official says

MEXICO CITY (Reuters) - Cabinet ministers from the United States, Mexico and Canada will sign a new trade agreement on Nov. 30, Mexico’s economy minister said on Thursday.

ENTERTAINMENT

MUSIC-BTS-JAPAN/

Japan TV cancels show of K-pop's BTS over atom bomb t-shirt furor

TOKYO (Reuters) - A Japanese TV station said it had canceled a Friday television show with South Korean boy band BTS after news one member had worn a t-shirt that sparked anger on social media and was interpreted as commemorating the atomic bombing of Hiroshima.

NETFLIX-SATANIC-TEMPLE/

Satanic Temple sues Netflix over 'Sabrina' use of Baphomet deity

NEW YORK (Reuters) - The Satanic Temple sued Netflix Inc and Warner Bros Entertainment on Thursday, seeking more than $50 million for their alleged unauthorized use of a statue of the goat-headed deity Baphomet in the series “Chilling Adventures of Sabrina.”

SPORTS

FOOTBALL-NFL/

NFL notebook: QB McCown to start for Jets

New York Jets quarterback Josh McCown will start on Sunday against the Buffalo Bills, coach Todd Bowles said Thursday.

BASEBALL-MLB-MANFRED-CONTRACT/

Mlb owners expected to approve manfred contract: report

Major League Baseball owners are expected to unanimously approve a five-year contract extension for commissioner Rob Manfred when they meet next week in Atlanta, USA Today reported Thursday.

UPCOMING

POLITICS / INTERNATIONAL AFFAIRS

AUSTRIA-HOLOCAUST/

Austrian parliament and government commemorate Nazi Kristallnacht

Austria's cabinet and members of parliament attend a ceremony marking the 80th anniversary of the Kristallnacht, also known as the Night of Broken Glass, a state-sponsored spree of looting and destruction of Jewish property across Nazi Germany and Austria.

9 Nov 03:30 ET / 08:30 GMT

USA-CHINA/ (PIX) (TV)

Pompeo, Mattis host their Chinese counterparts in Washington

U.S. Secretary of State Mike Pompeo and Secretary of Defense James Mattis host China's top diplomat Yang Jiechi and Defense Minister General Wei Fenghe for the second U.S.-China Diplomatic and Security Dialogue in Washington.

9 Nov 12:35 ET / 17:35 GMT

GERMANY-POLITICS/

German candidates seeking to replace Merkel as CDU leader give statements

Annegret Kramp-Karrenbauer, Friedrich Merz und Jens Spahn, who are all in the running to replace Merkel as leader of the Christian Democrats (CDU) - a role that would put them in pole position to become chancellor - will each make statement.

9 Nov 09:00 ET / 14:00 GMT

GERMANY-HOLOCAUST/ (PIX) (TV)

Germany´s Merkel speaks on 80th anniversary of Nazis' Kristallnacht

Chancellor Angela Merkel speaks on the occasion of the 80th anniversary of Kristallnacht, also known as Night of Broken Glass, a state-sponsored spree of looting and destruction of Jewish property across Germany and Austria, at Berlin's largest synagogue in Rykestrasse street. President Frank-Walter Steinmeier and parliament president Wolfgang Schauble will also attend, as will other high-ranking German officials.

9 Nov 05:00 ET / 10:00 GMT

TURKEY-MINISTER/

Turkish Foreign Minister Mevlut Cavusoglu holds press conference with Turkmen counterpart Rasit Meredow

Turkish Foreign Minister Mevlut Cavusoglu holds press conference with Turkmen counterpart Raşit Meredow (0600 GMT).

9 Nov 01:00 ET / 06:00 GMT

BUSINESS / ECONOMICS

MEXICO-ECONOMY/INDUSTRIALOUTPUT

Mexico-Industrial production

9 Nov 08:00 ET / 13:00 GMT

USA-FED/WILLIAMS

New York Federal Reserve Bank President Williams gives opening remarks before workforce book launch event

Federal Reserve Bank of New York President John Williams gives opening remarks before the Investing in America's Workforce Book Launch, in New York.

9 Nov 08:30 ET / 13:30 GMT

USA-FED/QUARLES

Federal Reserve Vice Chair Quarles speaks at Brookings Institution

Federal Reserve Vice Chair for Supervision Randal Quarles speaks on "Stress Testing" before Brookings Institution event: "The Future of Financial Regulation," in Washington.,

9 Nov 09:05 ET / 14:05 GMT

CHINA-AUTOS/ (PIX)

China Association of Automobile Manufacturer to announce October auto sales figures

China's top auto industry association to announce October auto sales figures, amid slowing economic growth and a biting trade war between China and the United States

9 Nov 01:00 ET / 06:00 GMT

USA-FED/HARKER

Philadelphia Federal Reserve Bank President Harker speaks on "Workforce Investment by Sector"

Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia President Patrick Harker speaks on "Workforce Investment by Sector" before the Investing in America's Workforce Book Launch, in New York.

9 Nov 08:45 ET / 13:45 GMT

HUNGARY-CHINA/ (PIX) (TV)

China central bank governor Yi Gang, Hungary PM Orban speak at event

Chinese central bank governor Yi Gang, Hungarian Prime Minister Viktor Orban and Hungarian central bank governor Gyorgy Matolcsy speak at news conference.

9 Nov 03:00 ET / 08:00 GMT

ARTS / CULTURE / ENTERTAINMENT

AUCTION-ART/DIAMOND-PREVIEW (PIX) (TV)

$30 to $50 million-estimated pink diamond goes at auction

Estimated between $30 and $50 million, 18.96 carats pink diamond "The Pink Legacy" goes under the hammer at Christie's bi-annual auction. Descended from the Oppenheimer Family, this rectangular-cut gem will lead the sale. Only four vivid pink diamonds over ten carats have ever been offered for sale at auction.

9 Nov 03:00 ET / 08:00 GMT

SPORTS

SPORT-DOPING/RUSSIA (PIX) (TV)

Russian anti-doping chief Ganus holds news conference

Head of Russia’s anti-doping authority (RUSADA) Yuri Ganus holds a news conference in Moscow. RUSADA's status had been reinstated by WADA (World Anti-Doping Agency) after serving a three-year ban.

9 Nov 05:00 ET / 10:00 GMT

(This story has not been edited by Devdiscourse staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)


add banner

LEAVE COMMENT