Development News Edition
Give Feedback

REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 5 a.m. ET/10 a.m. GMT


Reuters Last Updated at 09-11-2018 15:29:53 IST
A man stabbed three people in the Australian city of Melbourne on Friday, killing one, before being shot and wounded by police, who said the attack was not believed to be terror-related.

NORTHKOREA-SANCTIONS-UN/

North Korea postponed U.S. talks because 'they weren't ready': Haley

UNITED NATIONS (Reuters) - North Korea postponed talks with the United States on Thursday “because they weren’t ready,” U.S. Ambassador to the United Nations Nikki Haley said as she urged Pyongyang to implement a June deal between the two countries.

U.S.

CALIFORNIA-SHOOTING/

Ex-Marine apparently acted alone in California bar shooting: FBI

THOUSAND OAKS, Calif. (Reuters) - A former U.S. Marine combat veteran opened fire in a Los Angeles area bar packed with line-dancing college students, killing 12 people in a mass shooting that stunned a bucolic Southern California community with a reputation for safety.

USA-ELECTION/

Recounts, runoffs loom over high-profile elections in Florida, Georgia

High-profile U.S. elections in Georgia, Florida and Arizona remained unresolved on Thursday, two days after the vote, with the prospect of legal challenges, recounts and ballot reviews setting the stage for possible weeks of uncertainty.

BUSINESS

MEXICO-TRADE/

U.S., Mexico, Canada ministers to sign trade pact Nov. 30, official says

MEXICO CITY (Reuters) - Cabinet ministers from the United States, Mexico and Canada will sign a new trade agreement on Nov. 30, Mexico’s economy minister said on Thursday.

USA-RUSSIA-OIL-SANCTIONS-EXCLUSIVE/

Exclusive: Russia clashes with Western oil buyers over new deals as sanctions loom

MOSCOW (Reuters) - Russian energy majors are putting pressure on Western oil buyers to use euros instead of dollars for payments and introducing penalty clauses in contracts as Moscow seeks protection against possible new U.S. sanctions.

ENTERTAINMENT

MUSIC-BTS-JAPAN/

Japan TV cancels show of K-pop's BTS over atom bomb t-shirt furor

TOKYO (Reuters) - A Japanese TV station said it had canceled a Friday television show with South Korean boy band BTS after news one member had worn a t-shirt that sparked anger on social media and was interpreted as commemorating the atomic bombing of Hiroshima.

NETFLIX-SATANIC-TEMPLE/

Satanic Temple sues Netflix over 'Sabrina' use of Baphomet deity

NEW YORK (Reuters) - The Satanic Temple sued Netflix Inc and Warner Bros Entertainment on Thursday, seeking more than $50 million for their alleged unauthorized use of a statue of the goat-headed deity Baphomet in the series “Chilling Adventures of Sabrina.”

SPORTS

BASEBALL-MLB-MANFRED-CONTRACT/

MLB owners expected to approve Manfred contract: report

Major League Baseball owners are expected to unanimously approve a five-year contract extension for commissioner Rob Manfred when they meet next week in Atlanta, USA Today reported Thursday.

CRICKET-TEST-LKA-ENG/

Leach hurts Sri Lanka, England continue victory push

GALLE, Sri Lanka, Nov 9 (Reuters) - Left-arm spinner Jack Leach struck twice in the post-lunch session to help reduce Sri Lanka to 190 for five at tea as England inched closer to a comprehensive victory in the opening test on Friday.

UPCOMING

POLITICS / INTERNATIONAL AFFAIRS

USA-CHINA/ (PIX) (TV)

Pompeo, Mattis host their Chinese counterparts in Washington

U.S. Secretary of State Mike Pompeo and Secretary of Defense James Mattis host China's top diplomat Yang Jiechi and Defense Minister General Wei Fenghe for the second U.S.-China Diplomatic and Security Dialogue in Washington.

9 Nov, 12:35 ET / 17:35 GMT

GERMANY-HOLOCAUST/ (PIX) (TV)

Germany´s Merkel speaks on 80th anniversary of Nazis' Kristallnacht

Chancellor Angela Merkel speaks on the occasion of the 80th anniversary of Kristallnacht, also known as Night of Broken Glass, a state-sponsored spree of looting and destruction of Jewish property across Germany and Austria, at Berlin's largest synagogue in Rykestrasse street.

9 Nov, 05:00 ET / 10:00 GMT

GERMANY-POLITICS/

German candidates seeking to replace Merkel as CDU leader give statements

Annegret Kramp-Karrenbauer, Friedrich Merz und Jens Spahn, who are all in the running to replace Merkel as leader of the Christian Democrats (CDU) - a role that would put them in pole position to become chancellor - will each make statement.

9 Nov, 09:00 ET / 14:00 GMT

ITALY-ROME/MAYOR (TV)

Rome court expected to rule in case against city mayor, Virginia Raggi

A Rome court is expected to hand down its verdict in a case where city mayor Virginia Raggi is accused of lying to a public body over a staffing appointment. If convicted, Raggi, who is a member of the 5-Star Movement, has said she will resign, throwing the Italian capital into fresh political chaos.

10 Nov

WW1-CENTURY/FRANCE-TURKEY

Turkey's Erdogan attends 100th anniversary of First World War end in Paris

Turkish President Tayyip Erdogan visits Paris to attend the 100th anniversary of the signing of the Armistice which brought the First World War to a close.

10 Nov

DISASTERS / ACCIDENTS

PORTUGAL-FIREFIGHTERS/ (PIX) (TV)

Dozens of young people are learning to be volunteer firefighters

One of the largest firefighter schools in Portugal is recruiting young volunteers after last year's deadly wildfires.

10 Nov

BUSINESS / ECONOMICS

MEXICO-ECONOMY/INDUSTRIALOUTPUT

Mexico-Industrial production

9 Nov, 08:00 ET / 13:00 GMT

USA-FED/WILLIAMS

New York Federal Reserve Bank President Williams gives opening remarks before workforce book launch event

Federal Reserve Bank of New York President John Williams gives opening remarks before the Investing in America's Workforce Book Launch, in New York.

9 Nov, 08:30 ET / 13:30 GMT

USA-FED/QUARLES

Federal Reserve Vice Chair Quarles speaks at Brookings Institution

Federal Reserve Vice Chair for Supervision Randal Quarles speaks on "Stress Testing" before Brookings Institution event: "The Future of Financial Regulation," in Washington.,

9 Nov, 09:05 ET / 14:05 GMT

USA-FED/HARKER

Philadelphia Federal Reserve Bank President Harker speaks on "Workforce Investment by Sector"

Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia President Patrick Harker speaks on "Workforce Investment by Sector" before the Investing in America's Workforce Book Launch, in New York.

9 Nov, 08:45 ET / 13:45 GMT

ARTS / CULTURE / ENTERTAINMENT

COLOMBIA-PEACE/TOURISM (PIX) (TV)

Former FARC rebels, UN join forces to bring tourism to old war zones

Former fighters from Colombia's FARC rebel group, aided by the United Nations, have set up a rafting business deep in the country's southern Amazon. The project is part of reintegration efforts for the ex-guerrillas, who hope to attract international tourists.

10 Nov

SPORTS

SPORT-DOPING/RUSSIA (PIX) (TV)

Russian anti-doping chief Ganus holds news conference

Head of Russia’s anti-doping authority (RUSADA) Yuri Ganus holds a news conference in Moscow. RUSADA's status had been reinstated by WADA (World Anti-Doping Agency) after serving a three-year ban.

9 Nov, 05:00 ET / 10:00 GMT

CHESS-WORLD/ (PIX) (TV)

2018 World Chess Championship - Magnus Carlsen v Fabiano Caruana

The first move is played in the opening game of the 2018 World Chess Championship between the reigning champion, Magnus Carlsen and U.S. challenger Fabiano Caruana.

9 Nov, 10:00 ET / 15:00 GMT

(This story has not been edited by Devdiscourse staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)


add banner

LEAVE COMMENT