Development News Edition
Give Feedback
write for Us

211 contestants file nominations for Mizoram poll

PTI aizawl India
Updated: 09-11-2018 18:51 IST

As many as 211 contestants have filed nominations for the Mizoram assembly elections that will be held on November 28, state election department officials said.

Some candidates are contesting from two seats, including Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla who has submitted his nominations from his home turf of Serchhip and Champhai South constituencies.

Zoram People's Movement (ZPM) chief ministerial candidate Lalduhoma has also filed his nominations from Serchhip and Aizawl West-I seats, election office sources said.

The president of People's Representation for Identity and Status of Mizoram (PRISM), Vanlalruata, would also try his electoral luck from Serchhip and Aizawl North-I.

Friday was the last date for filing nominations. As per the EC schedule, the nomination papers will be scrutinised on Monday.

The officials said the number of contestants was provisional as the information received from some districts might change. PTI HCV KK


(This story has not been edited by Devdiscourse staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)