Development News Edition
Give Feedback
write for Us

Ruth, Staubach, Page earn presidential honors

Updated: 10-11-2018 23:16 IST

Three sports legends will be among seven people awarded the Presidential Medal of Freedom on Friday.

New York Yankees icon Babe Ruth, former Dallas Cowboys quarterback Roger Staubach and former Minnesota Vikings defensive tackle Alan C. Page are all set to be honored in President Donald Trump's first batch of award recipients.

Page, a nine-time Pro Bowler and one-time MVP, was a long-time judge on the Minnesota Supreme Court after his Hall of Fame career.

Ruth and Staubach were also Hall of Famers.

The award is considered the highest honor bestowed upon civilians in the United States.

The other winners are Miriam Adelson, wife of casino magnate Sheldon Adelson, Utah Sen. Orrin Hatch, legendary singer Elvis Presley and Antonin Scalia, the late Supreme Court Justice.

--Field Level Media

(This story has not been edited by Devdiscourse staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)