Development News Edition
Give Feedback

REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 6 p.m. ET /7 a.m. SGT


Reuters Last Updated at 11-11-2018 04:30:46 IST
Ed Sheeran, Tim McGraw and Faith Hill have settled a copyright lawsuit claiming that their song “The Rest of Our Life” was a “blatant” rip-off of a song by two Australian songwriters, titled “When I Found You.”

SPORTS

BASKETBALL-NBA/

NBA roundup: Sixers’ Embiid scores 42 in OT win over Hornets

Joel Embiid had a season-high 42 points to go along with 18 rebounds and four blocked shots to lift the Philadelphia 76ers past the visiting Charlotte Hornets 133-132 in overtime Friday night.

TENNIS-FEDCUP-FINAL/

Czechs take 2-0 lead against united states in fed cup final

PRAGUE - World doubles number one Katerina Siniakova helped the Czech Republic to sweep the opening-day matches in the Fed Cup final against defending champions the United States on Saturday, overpowering Alison Riske 6-3 7-6(2).

UPCOMING

POLITICS / INTERNATIONAL AFFAIRS

BRITAIN-EU/WHIPS (PIX)

Softly, softly for now, British PM May's enforcers gear up for big Brexit vote

Less than five months before Britain leaves the European Union, Prime Minister Theresa May's parliamentary enforcers are on the prowl. Chief Whip Julian Smith and his team have a powerful armoury at their disposal to force politicians into line.

11 Nov

UKRAINE-CRISIS/DONETSK-ELECTION (PIX) (TV)

Separatist-held regions hold elections in eastern Ukraine Rebel-controlled Donetsk and Luhansk regions in eastern Ukraine hold leadership elections on Sunday in the shadow of a conflict that has killed more than 10,000 people and poisoned relations between Ukraine and Russia.

11 Nov

WW1-CENTURY/POLAND (PIX) (TV)

Poland marks 100th anniversary of independence

Poland marks 100th anniversary of regaining independence from Russia, Austria and Germany at the end of World War One. An annual far-right march held in Warsaw attracted wide international condemnation last year because of racist and xenophobic slogans.

11 Nov 03:00 ET / 08:00 GMT

PEACE-SUMMIT/FRANCE-ARRIVALS (PIX) (TV)

World leaders gather in Paris for peace conference on 100th anniversary of WW1 armistice

On the centenary anniversary of the WW1 armistice, world leaders gather in Paris for a peace forum chaired by French President Emmanuel Macron. 11 Nov 09:00 ET / 14:00 GMT

WW1-CENTURY/FRANCE-TURKEY

Turkey's Erdogan attends 100th anniversary of First World War end in Paris

Turkish President Tayyip Erdogan visits Paris to attend the 100th anniversary of the signing of the Armistice which brought the First World War to a close.

11 Nov

ASEAN-SUMMIT/ (PIX) (TV)

ASEAN summit

Leaders gather in Singapore for the 33rd Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) Summit.

11 Nov

PEACE-SUMMIT/FRANCE (PIX) (TV)

World leaders gather in Paris for peace conference on 100th anniversary of WW1 armistice

On the centenary anniversary of the WW1 armistice, world leaders gather in Paris for a peace forum chaired by French President Emmanuel Macron. German Chancellor Angela Merkel expected to give opening speech.

11 Nov 07:00 ET / 12:00 GMT

MYANMAR-ROHINGYA/ (TV)

Myanmar minister addresses media ahead of Rohingya repatriation

A senior Myanmar official will address media about the status of plans to repatriate Rohingya refugees who fled to neighboring Bangladesh after a massive army crackdown last year. The first round of returns is planned for Nov. 15 but Rohingya are widely opposed.

11 Nov 04:30 ET / 09:30 GMT

USA-RUSSIA/TRUMP-PUTIN (PIX) (TV)

US President Donald Trump expected to meet Vladimir Putin in Paris

US president Donald Trump is expected to meet his Russian counterpart Vladimir Putin for a short working lunch on the sidelines of the ceremony marking the 100th anniversary of the end of the First World War, in Paris. Kremlin aide Yuri Ushakov says.

11 Nov

PEACE-SUMMIT/FRANCE-OPENING (PIX) (TV)

German Chancellor Angela Merkel opens Paris peace summit

German Chancellor Angela Merkel symbolically opens the Paris peace summit held on the centenary of the WW1 armistice. French President Emmanuel Macron and U.N. Secretary General Antonio Guterres are also expected to speak.

11 Nov 09:00 ET / 14:00 GMT

BUSINESS / ECONOMICS

IRAQ-OIL/ (PIX)

Explainer: Iraq's Kirkuk oilfields, a crucial source for export

Iraq's disputed Kirkuk oilfields have taken on new significance after the United States restored oil sanctions against neighbouring Iran, as Washington pressures Baghdad to resume exports stalled since last year. Why is Kirkuk so important and when will exports resume?

11 Nov 05:00 ET / 10:00 GMT

SUDAN-ECONOMY/

Liquidity crunch hits Sudan following emergency measures

Cash machines in Sudan's capital have run out of banknotes weeks after authorities sharply devalued the Sudanese pound and announced emergency measures to stave off an economic crisis.

11 Nov

ARTS / CULTURE / ENTERTAINMENT

FILM-BOXOFFICE/ (PIX) (TV) (GRAPHIC)

Top five films at the North American box office

Preliminary box office ticket results identifies the top five films at the North American box office.

11 Nov

ODDLY ENOUGH

JAPAN-GAME/POLE-TOPPLING (TV)

Military cadets try and capture the pole during Japan's wildest game - Botaoshi

Botaoshi, or “topple the pole,” is one of Japan's great spectacles. The century-old game, which combines elements of rugby, sumo and martial arts, sees Japanese military cadets battle to defend or attack a pole in a game designed to promote teamwork and toughness.

11 Nov 01:00 ET / 06:00 GMT

(This story has not been edited by Devdiscourse staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)


add banner

LEAVE COMMENT