Development News Edition
Give Feedback

REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 10 p.m. GMT/6 a.m. SGT

REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 10 p.m. GMT/6 a.m. SGT


Reuters 11 Jul 2018, 03:27 AM

Here are the top stories and upcoming coverage plans for Reuters text service as of 10 p.m. GMT/6 a.m. SGT. For a full schedule of news and events, go to our editorial calendar on Reuters Connect https://www.reutersconnect.com/planning or on Media Express http://mediaexpress.reuters.com/planning-tools/calendar.

TOP STORIES

GLOBAL

MEXICO-POLITICS-USA/

Mexico president-elect to meet top U.S. officials this week: aide

MEXICO CITY (Reuters) - Mexico's President-elect Andres Manuel Lopez Obrador will meet with U.S. President Donald Trump's son-in-law Jared Kushner, U.S. Treasury Secretary Steven Mnuchin and other U.S. officials at a meeting on Friday, a senior aide said on Tuesday.

PAKISTAN-BLAST/

Suicide bomber kills 12 at anti-Taliban party rally in Pakistan PESHAWAR, Pakistan (Reuters) - A suicide bomber blew himself up at an anti-Taliban political party's rally in northwest Pakistan on Tuesday, killing 12 people, including a candidate in July 25 elections, police said.

U.S.

USA-IMMIGRATION/

Judge says U.S. must reunite migrant families or face penalties

SAN DIEGO (Reuters) - The U.S. government must reunite 63 children under the age of five who were separated by immigration officials after crossing into the United States from Mexico as soon as Tuesday or face penalties, a federal judge said.

DELAWARE-SHOOTING/

Family of five dies in apparent murder-suicide in Delaware

A family of five was found dead in an apparent murder-suicide in which the father is suspected of shooting his wife and three children, aged 3, 4 and 6 years, in their Delaware home before killing himself, police said on Tuesday.

BUSINESS

USA-ECONOMY/

U.S. job quits rate hits 17-year high; labor market tightening

WASHINGTON (Reuters) - More American workers voluntarily quit their jobs in May, government data showed on Tuesday, a sign of confidence in the labor market that economists say will soon boost wage growth.

CHINA-TRADE-TARIFFS/

China raises tariff rates for some U.S. optical fiber products, from July 11

BEIJING (Reuters) - China's commerce ministry said on Tuesday it is raising "anti-dumping tariff rates" for some optical fiber products originating from the United States, effective on Wednesday, July 11.

ENTERTAINMENT

PEOPLE-CLOONEY-ACCIDENT/

Actor George Clooney injured in scooter accident in Italy: Ansa

ROME (Reuters) - The American actor and director George Clooney was injured in a scooter accident on the Italian island of Sardinia where he is working on a miniseries, Italian media reported on Tuesday.

FILM-INDIANA-JONES/

'Indiana Jones 5' delayed again, until 2021

LOS ANGELES (Reuters) - Harrison Ford's big screen return as adventurer Indiana Jones has been pushed back until 2021, Walt Disney Co announced on Tuesday, two years after the fifth movie in the action franchise was first scheduled to be released.

SPORTS

FOOTBALL-NFL-ANTHEM/

NFL players union challenges policy to stop anthem protests

WASHINGTON (Reuters) - The NFL players union filed a grievance on Tuesday over the league's new requirement that players stand for the national anthem or wait in their dressing rooms, a policy that followed President Donald Trump's denunciation of pregame protests.

SOCCER-WORLDCUP-FRA-BEL/

Umtiti header sends streetwise France into World Cup final

ST PETERSBURG (Reuters) - Samuel Umtiti's 51st-minute header sent France into the World Cup final with a ruthless 1-0 win over Belgium in an absorbing first semi-final on Tuesday.

UPCOMING

DISASTERS / ACCIDENTS

ASIA-STORM/TAIWAN (TV)

Super typhoon Maria lashes Taiwan

Taiwan is battered by super typhoon Maria, which lashed the island late on Tuesday, disrupting flights and bringing heavy rain and winds.

Jul 11

HAWAII-VOLCANO/TOURISM (PIX)

Lava tourism thrives in Hawaii disaster zone

Shane Turpin has for years been taking tourists on boat rides to see lava oozing lazily down Kilauea's slopes and into the Pacific Ocean nearby. In June, he had to stop, when that stream turned into a churning river of molten rock.

Jul 11

USA-WILDFIRES/DROUGHT

In drought-hit U.S. West, wildfires get bigger, more destructive

Wildfire fighter Ben Brack is facing the most terrifying fire conditions of his life in southeast Colorado, after severe drought in the U.S. West created what he calls a "perfect firestorm." Born of a near-record-dry winter, global warming and a man-made buildup of forest fuels, such blazes are making 2018 an extreme wildfire year, with acreage burned so far similar to 2017, the second worst year on record, according to the National Interagency Fire Center (NIFC).

Jul 11

POLITICS / INTERNATIONAL AFFAIRS

SINGAPORE-SOUTHKOREA/ (PIX)

South Korean President Moon arrives in Singapore

South Korean President Moon Jae-in will visit Singapore from July 11 to 13, and give a speech on his vision and policies for permanent peace on the Korean peninsula as well as cooperation with Asian countries in the region.

Jul 11

INDIA-SOUTHKOREA/

South Korean President Moon visits India

South Korean President Moon Jae-in will visit India from July 8 to 11, his presidential office said on July 2, and hold a summit with Prime Minister Narendra Modi where their discussions are expected to focus on economic cooperation. Moon will also meet with President Ram Nath Kovind on his first visit to the country, the statement said.

Jul 11

CHILE-AMAZON.COM/

Chile's President Pinera launches US tech chiefs charm offensive

Chile's Sebastian Pinera says he will meet Amazon's Jeff Bezos and Alphabet's Larry Page at the Allen & Company Sun Valley Conference in Idaho to try to get them to commit to platforms in the country.

Pinera has said he hopes to convert Chile into a digital and information services platform for South America, and is vying with Argentina for an Amazon data center to be set up in Chile.

Jul 11

CZECH-GOVERNMENT/ (PIX) (TV)

Czech parliament expected to approve new center-left government

The lower house of parliament votes on backing the new, center-left minority cabinet led by billionaire Andrej Babis and including his ANO party and the center-left Social Democrats. Its fate depends on the pro-Russian, anti-NATO Communist Party whose votes are needed to form a majority. The Communists have agreed to provide support, making it highly likely the cabinet will win the vote.

Jul 11

BRITAIN-EU/GOVE

Environment minister speaks to parliament committee

Britain's environment minister Michael Gove will speak to parliament's environment committee

11 Jul 05:30 ET, 09:30 GMT

IVORYCOAST-POLITICS/ (PIX)

Ivory Coast new government holds first cabinet meeting

President Alassane Ouattara will give his vision for the next two years to the 2020 presidential poll, after a reshuffle in which he attempted to appease his rebellious coalition partner, the PDCI. Few of the 36 ministerial jobs were changed in a re-jigging that was largely cosmetic, with the key positions of finance, defense and agriculture left unchanged.

11 Jul 07:00 ET, 11:00 GMT

NATO-SUMMIT/SPENDING (TV)

NATO leaders hold first session - Russia, defense spending, Iraq training mission, Macedonia

NATO leaders hold their first working session to discuss defense and deterrence, projecting stability and fighting terrorism, NATO-EU cooperation and alliance modernization.

11 Jul 08:30 ET, 12:30 GMT

BRITAIN-EU/FOX

Britain's trade minister Liam Fox speaks to parliament committee

Britain's trade minister Liam Fox will to speak to the international trade committee

11 Jul 10:30 ET, 14:30 GMT

EUROPE-MIGRANTS/

Austria's Interior Minister Herbert Kickl briefs media on the EU interior ministers meeting

Austria's Interior Minister Herbert Kickl briefs journalists prior to talks with his EU counterparts about how to shut down the Mediterranean route for illegal migrants.

11 Jul 11:00 ET, 15:00 GMT

CONFLICTS / WAR / PEACE

LIBYA-SECURITY/OIL (PIX) (TV)

Contested Libyan oil ports lie idled by conflict

Activity at key export terminals in Libya's oil crescent has grounded to a halt as fighting left infrastructure damaged and triggered a blockade shutting off most of the country's production.

Jul 11

ARTS / CULTURE / ENTERTAINMENT

BRITAIN-ROYALS/IRELAND (PIX) (TV)

Prince Harry and Meghan visit Dublin

Britain's Prince Harry and his wife Meghan, the Duke and Duchess of Sussex, continue their visit to Dublin.

Jul 11

BUSINESS / ECONOMICS

MALAYSIA-ECONOMY/RATES

Malaysia's c.bank holds monetary policy meeting to decide key rate

Malaysia's central bank will hold its third monetary policy meeting for the year on Wednesday, to determine its key interest rate. A Reuters poll forecast no change to the current rate of 3.25 percent.

11 Jul 03:00 ET, 07:00 GMT

CREDIT SUISSE-LAWSUIT/ (PIX)

Credit Suisse nears $360 million deadline in fraud suit built on a hunch

When high-end property development Lake Las Vegas collapsed during the 2008 financial crisis, 31 funds that helped finance the project lost a total of $540 million. But only one of them, hedge fund Highland Capital Management, aggressively pursued legal action against Credit Suisse Group AG, which arranged the financing and appraisals for the project.

11 Jul 06:00 ET, 10:00 GMT

EU-JAPAN/TRADE (PIX) (TV)

**CANCELLED** EU-Japan to sign free-trade deal at Brussels EU-Japan summit

Japanese Prime Minister Abe and the EU's presidents Juncker and Tusk will sign a free-trade deal at a summit in Brussels, allowing the accord to come into effect in early 2019. The deal removes almost all tariffs, creates a market of 600 million people and contrasts with Trump's protectionist agenda. Japan is agreeing to adopt international car standards for the first time.

11 Jul 08:00 ET, 12:00 GMT

BRITAIN-ECONOMY/WOODS

Deputy Governor of the Bank of England speaks to parliament committee

Deputy Governor of the Bank of England Sam Woods will speak to the Treasury Select Committee

11 Jul 10:00 ET, 14:00 GMT

CRIME / LAW / JUSTICE

GERMANY-FARRIGHT/TRIAL (PIX) (TV)

German court due to rule in trial against neo-Nazi murder suspect Zschaepe

A Munich court is due to issue a verdict in the case against Beate Zschaepe, a suspected neo-Nazi gang member on trial for involvement in the murders of 10 people. The prosecution has demanded a life sentence, while Zschaepe's lawyers have urged the court to convict her of the lesser charges of arson and robbery.

11 Jul 03:30 ET, 07:30 GMT

(PIX) (TV) (GRAPHIC)

FRANCE - BTF non-competitive bids

11 Jul 05:00 ET, 09:00 GMT

(This story has not been edited by Devdiscourse staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)