International Development News
Development News Edition
Give Feedback


PTI Mumbai
Updated: 31-10-2018 20:18 IST

The Maharashtra government

Wednesday declared drought in 151 talukas in 26 of total 36

districts in the state.

As per a government order, 112 talukas are facing

severe drought and 39 talukas a moderate drought.

The 26 districts comprise eight districts each in the

Vidarbha and the Marathwada regions, five districts in North

Maharashtra, four districts in western Maharashtra and Palghar

district in the coastal Konkan region.

Among all 26 districts, the moderate and severe

drought overlap in many talukas.

Jalgaon district in the north Maharashtra consists of

13 talukas that are reeling under severe drought, followed by

Ahmednagar and Beed (11 talukas each), Solapur and Aurangabad

districts (9 talukas each).

Other districts are: Pune, Sangli, Satara, Palghar,

Dhule, Nandurbar, Nashik, Jalna, Nanded, Parbhani, Osmanabad,

Hingoli, Latur, Akola, Amravati, Buldhana, Washim, Yavatmal,

Chandrapur, Nagpur and Wardha.

On October 23, the state government had declared that

180 talukas were facing drought-like conditions.

"The ground truthing/verification was done and based

on indicators of rainfall deficit, reservoir storage, ground

water index, soil moisture, the drought was declared," a

Revenue department official said.

The opposition Congress and the Nationalist Congress

Party (NCP) had accused the BJP-led government of shirking its

responsibility by not declaring drought in the state and

hiding behind vague terminology such as "drought-like" or

"scarcity-like" conditions.

(This story has not been edited by Devdiscourse staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)