International Development News
Development News Edition
Give Feedback


PTI Mumbai
Updated: 02-11-2018 19:39 IST

The Congress and the NCP are finding

it difficult to have an understanding on contesting eight out

of 48 Lok Sabha constituencies of Maharashtra, even after

reaching a consensus on distribution of other seats among the

two parties and their other allies, according to sources.

Leaders of the Congress and the NCP met here Friday to

iron out differences on 8 constituencies but put off the

matter till after Diwali on November 7.

The two parties said a few days back that they had

reached consensus on 40 seats at stake in next year's polls.

The eight Lok Sabha seats, over which the differences

persist, are Pune, Ahmednagar, Aurangabad, Jalna, Raver,

Jalgaon, Yavatmal and Shirdi.

According to a source, the NCP wants to contest from the

Pune seat, with demands in the party that its chief Sharad

Pawar should enter the fray from there.

But, traditionally, the Congress has been contesting the

Pune seat. Last time, the BJP had won the seat.

Pawar, the former union minister and Maharashtra Chief

Minister, had declared in 2014 that he would not contest Lok

Sabha polls again and reiterated it last month.

The 78-year-old NCP chief, who has represented Baramati

and Madha constituencies in the past, is at present a member

of the Rajya Sabha.

Asked about the possibility of Pawar contesting from

Pune, NCP spokesperson Nawab Malik ruled it out.

"No, nothing like that. Such a possibility was denied

in the past too," he said.

Malik said the workers had demanded that Pawar contest

the Lok polls again but he had refused.

"The two parties want to swap some seats. The Congress

has been contesting from Shirdi, while NCP has traditionally

been contesting from Ahmednagar. This time, the Congress is

demanding Ahmednagar," a source in the Congress told PTI.

The NCP contested Raver constituency last time but now,

the Congress wants to field candidate from there, the source


Another source said senior Congress leaders would meet

the party's ticket aspirants and workers, particularly from

the eight seats concerned, for three days beginning November

15 to know their view point and gauge ground realities.

After that, the Congress and NCP leaders may meet once

again on November 18 and November 19.

In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, the NCP had won four

seats while the Congress could manage to win only two.

Speaking to reporters after the meeting, Maharashtra

NCP chief Jayant Patil said he was confident that differences

would be sorted out soon and the two parties would take

decision unanimously.

He said the two parties would discuss the seat-sharing

issues again later this month.

"Leaders of the Congress and NCP may meet again for

one more time. There are not too many differences between the

parties. If the differences persist we will meet again and

present the situation before the central leadership," he


Meanwhile, the Haatkanangale constituency is likely to

go to Swabhimani Shetkari Sanghatana led by Raju Shetti,

according to the understanding in the opposition camp.

The source added that the Akola constituency too may go

to the Prakash Ambedkar-led Bharip Bahujan Mahasangh (BBM) if

it joins the alliance.

The BBM has already announced its decision to join hands

with the Asaduddin Owaisi-headed AIMIM, but efforts were still

on to bring the Ambedkar-led party into the alliance led by

Congress and NCP.

(This story has not been edited by Devdiscourse staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)