Devdiscourse
Development News Edition
Give Feedback
VisionRI - Urban Development

REUTERS SPORTS SCHEDULE AT 7:30 p.m. GMT/2:30 p.m. ET


Reuters
Updated: 08-11-2018 01:00 IST

Here are the top sports stories and upcoming coverage plans for Reuters text service as of 7:30 p.m. GMT/2:30 p.m. ET. For a full schedule of news and events, go to our editorial calendar on Reuters Connect https://www.reutersconnect.com/planning or on Media Express http://mediaexpress.reuters.com/planning-tools/calendar.

TOP STORIES

US-GYMNASTICS-USA/

USOC under pressure to fix USA Gymnastics before Tokyo 2020

Like a world-class gymnast, the United States Olympic Committee(USOC) needs to nail a perfect landing to put a damaging sexual abuse scandal behind it ahead of the 2020 Games in Tokyo, sports sponsorship experts said.

US-FOOTBALL-NFL-NO/

WR Bryant to join Saints on one-year deal

Former Dallas Cowboys wide receiver Dez Bryant agreed to a one-year deal with the New Orleans Saints, according to multiple reports.

US-SOCCER-UNK-NYR-TOP-DEFENDER/

Red Bulls' Long named MLS' top defender

Aaron Long was given up on by two MLS teams. Now he is the best defensive player in the league.

UPCOMING

SOCCER

SOCCER-IFAB/HANDBALL

Soccer-Rulemakers discuss how to make handball rule clearer

The International Football Association Board - soccer's rulemaking body - discussed the handball rule at a meeting on Tuesday and how it could be made clearer.

7 Nov, 14:30 ET / 19:30 GMT

SOCCER-CHAMPIONS-MCI-SHK/ (PIX)

Soccer - Champions League - Manchester City v Shakhtar Donetsk

Manchester City host Shakhtar Donetsk in a Champions League group stage match.

7 Nov, 15:00 ET / 20:00 GMT

SOCCER-CHAMPIONS-CSK-ROM/ (PIX)

Soccer - Champions League - CSKA Moscow v AS Roma

Group G leaders AS Roma face a tricky visit to CSKA Moscow.

7 Nov, 12:55 ET / 17:55 GMT

SOCCER-CHAMPIONS-BAY-AEK/ (PIX)

Soccer - Champions League - Bayern Munich v AEK Athens

Bayern Munich will look for success in Europe and a spot in the last 16 with a win over AEK Athens after another slipup in the German league on the weekend.

7 Nov, 15:00 ET / 20:00 GMT

SOCCER-CHAMPIONS-VAL-YBO/ (PIX)

Soccer - Champions League - Valencia v Young Boys

7 Nov, 12:55 ET / 17:55 GMT

SOCCER-CHAMPIONS-VPL-MAD/ (PIX)

Soccer - Champions League - Viktoria Plzen v Real Madrid

Viktoria Plzen host Real Madrid in the Champions League.

7 Nov, 15:00 ET / 20:00 GMT

SOCCER-CHAMPIONS-JUV-MUN/ (PIX) (TV)

Soccer - Champions League - Juventus v Manchester United

Juventus face Manchester United in their Champions League group stage match.

7 Nov, 15:00 ET / 20:00 GMT

SOCCER-CHAMPIONS-SLB-AJA/ (PIX)

Soccer - Champions League - Benfica v Ajax Amsterdam

Benfica need to overcome their poor domestic form and end Ajax Amsterdam's unbeaten record to keep alive their chances of progressing from Group E.

7 Nov, 15:00 ET / 20:00 GMT

SOCCER-CHAMPIONS-LYO-TSG/ (PIX)

Soccer - Champions League - Olympique Lyonnais v 1899 Hoffenheim

Olympiqe Lyon plays 1899 Hoffenheim in Champions League play

7 Nov, 15:00 ET / 20:00 GMT

SOCCER-ASEAN/

Soccer - ASEAN Championship

Cambodia host Malaysia and Laos play Vietnam in the opening Group A fixtures at the ASEAN Championship.

8 Nov, 08:00 ET / 13:00 GMT

SOCCER-PHILIPPINES/ERIKSSON (PIX)

Soccer - Former England boss Eriksson trains with the Philippines, reflects on new coaching role

Former England, Lazio and Manchester City coach Sven-Goran Eriksson trains with his new team, the Philippines, ahead of Southeast Asia's Suzuki Cup and January's Asian Cup and explains why he turned down other national teams to work in a country that's more passionate about basketball than soccer.

Nov 8

NATIONAL FOOTBALL LEAGUE

FOOTBALL-NFL-ALL32/

Field Level Media-FLM All 32: Team-by-team notes

News for all 32 teams in the NFL.

7 Nov, 20:00 ET / 8 Nov, 00:00 GMT

FOOTBALL-NFL-NOTEBOOK/

Field Level Media-NFL notebook

News and notes from around the NFL.

7 Nov, 19:30 ET / 23:30 GMT

RUGBY

RUGBY-UNION-SCO-FJI/PREVIEW (PIX)

Rugby Union - Scotland team announcement

Scotland coach Gregor Townsend names his team to play Fiji in their test at Murrayfield on Saturday and later holds a press conference.

8 Nov, 07:00 ET / 12:00 GMT

RUGBY-UNION-FRA-ZAF/ (PIX)

Rugby Union - South Africa team announcement

South Africa coach Rassie Erasmus names his side to face France in their November international in Paris on Saturday.

8 Nov, 07:30 ET / 12:30 GMT

RUGBY-UNION-ENG-NZL/PREVIEW (PIX)

Rugby Union - New Zealand team announcement

New Zealand name their team to face England and then at 12pm on Thursday coach Steve Hansen holds a news conference

8 Nov, 03:00 ET / 08:00 GMT

RUGBY-UNION-IRL-ARG/PREVIEW (PIX)

Rugby Union - Ireland team announcement

Ireland coach Joe Schmidt names his team for Saturday's test against Argentina

8 Nov, 08:30 ET / 13:30 GMT

RUGBY-UNION-ITA-GEO/ (PIX)

Rugby Union - Italy team announcement

Italy coach Connor O'Shea will announce the starting lineup for the test against Georgia in Florence on Saturday.

8 Nov, 08:00 ET / 13:00 GMT

RUGBY-UNION-ENG-NZL/PREVIEW (PIX)

Rugby Union - England team announcement news conference

England hold a training session before head coach Eddie Jones announces his team for the upcoming test match against New Zealand.

8 Nov, 07:00 ET / 12:00 GMT

RUGBY-UNION-ENG-NZL/PREVIEW (PIX)

Rugby Union - New Zealand news conference & training

New Zealand news conference ahead of England game

8 Nov, 07:00 ET / 12:00 GMT

RUGBY-UNION-WAL-AUS/ (PIX)

Rugby Union - Australia team announcement

Australia coach Michael Cheika names his team for Saturday's test against Wales

8 Nov, 06:30 ET / 11:30 GMT

RUGBY-UNION-WAL-AUS/PREVIEW (PIX)

Rugby Union - Wales team announcement

Wales announce their team for Saturday's test against Australia and will then hold a news conference with coach Warren Gatland.

8 Nov, 07:00 ET / 12:00 GMT

RUGBY-UNION-FRA-ZAF/

Rugby Union - France team announcement

France coach Jacques Brunel announces his team to face South Africa in Saturday's November international in Paris.

8 Nov 08:00 ET / 13:00 GMT

RUGBY-UNION-IRE-ARG/PREVIEW (PIX)

Rugby Union - Argentina team announcement

Argentina will put up three players up for interviews at the end of training on Thursday and then announce their team via social media

8 Nov 06:00 ET / 11:00 GMT

GOLF

GOLF-EUROPEAN/ (PIX)

Golf - Nedbank Challenge

The penultimate tournament of the European Tour takes place at Sun City with the field chasing a $7.5 million prize purse.

8 Nov, 10:30 ET / 15:30 GMT

GOLF-MAYAKOBA/

Golf - PGA Tour: Mayakoba Golf Classic

First round coverage of the PGA Tour event in Mexico.

Nov 8

CHESS

CHESS-WORLD/PREVIEW (TV)

2018 World Chess Championship - News Conference

Magnus Carlsen and Fabiano Caruana talk to the media ahead of the 2018 World Chess Championship at The College in London. 8 Nov, 09:00 ET / 14:00 GMT

MOTOR RACING

MOTOR-F1-BRAZIL/ (PIX) (TV)

Formula One - Brazilian Grand Prix - Media day

Formula One drivers meet the media ahead of Sunday's Brazilian Grand Prix in Sao Paulo.

Nov 8

BASKETBALL

BASKETBALL-NBA-NOTEBOOK/

Field Level Media-NBA notebook

News and notes from around the NBA.

7 Nov, 20:00 ET / 8 Nov, 00:00 GMT

HOCKEY

ICEHOCKEY-NHL-NOTEBOOK/

Field Level Media-NHL notebook

News and notes from around the NHL.

7 Nov, 19:30 ET / 23:30 GMT

(This story has not been edited by Devdiscourse staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)


POST A COMMENT