Development News Edition
Give Feedback
write for Us


PTI mumbai India
Updated: 19-11-2018 14:35 IST

The Maharashtra Legislative

Assembly Monday paid rich tributes to former Prime Minister

Atal Bihari Vajpayee, who died on August 16, with Chief

Minister Devendra Fadnavis describing him as a multi faceted

personality who believed in uniting minds.

Moving a condolence motion in the lower House on the

first day of the winter session, Fadnavis said Vajpayee

believed political opponents were rivals and not enemies.

"He would always say there should be no differences in

minds despite having differences in opinion. Pandit Nehru was

the first to see potential in Vajpayee to lead the nation.

Former PM Chandra Shekhar called him gurudev as Vajpayee's

personality was so huge that everyone could learn from him,"

Fadnavis said.

The Maharashtra CM, during his speech, also

highlighted the Pokhran nuclear tests that took place under

the Prime Ministership of Vajpayee as well as the late Bharat

Ratna's efforts to have good relations with Pakistan.

"Vajpayee led an inspiring life. In his death we have

lost a dream. He was an ocean of thoughts. He was beyond

politics, religion and linguistic differences. The (Narendra)

Modi government is working on the foundations laid by

Vajpayee," Fadnavis said.

The Leader of opposition in the Assembly, Radhakrishna

Vikhe Patil said representing the country in the United

Nations was a moment of greater pride for Vajpayee than

becoming PM.

"He referred to (former PM) Indira Gandhi as Durga

after the (1971) Bangladesh war. In an era in which political

discourse has lowered, Vajpayee's absence is being truly

felt," Vikhe Patil said.

The House also paid tributes to former state minister

Anandrao Devkate, former minister of state Vasantrao Dhotre

and former member Madhavrao Gaikwad.

Tributes were also paid to former members Keshavrao

Pardhi, Vasudev Deshmukh, Shivajirao Nagwade, Vaijnathrao

Akaat, Yadavrao Bhoir, Laxmanrao Jadhav, Vasantrao Thorat,

Vithalrao Bhailume, Vasantrao Itkelwar and Vimal Rangnekar.



(This story has not been edited by Devdiscourse staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)