Devdiscourse
Development News Edition
Give Feedback
write for Us

REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 6 a.m GMT/ 2 p.m SGT


Reuters
Updated: 26-11-2018 11:32 IST
Russia seized three Ukrainian naval ships off the coast of Russia-annexed Crimea on Sunday after opening fire on them and wounding several sailors, a move that risks igniting a dangerous new crisis between the two countries.

BRITAIN-EU/

You face a stark choice - Britain's May warns lawmakers over Brexit

LONDON (Reuters) - Prime Minister Theresa May will tell lawmakers on Monday they face a stark choice - either back the deal she negotiated to leave the European Union or reject it and take Britain “back to square one” with “more division and more uncertainty”.

U.S.

USA-IMMIGRATION

U.S. fires tear gas into Mexico to repel migrants, closes border gate for several hours

TIJUANA, Mexico (Reuters) - U.S. authorities shut the country’s busiest border crossing and fired tear gas into Mexico on Sunday to repel Central American migrants approaching the border after U.S. President Donald Trump vowed the asylum-seekers would not easily enter the country.

USA-WEATHER/

Storm strands U.S. holiday travelers, more than 1,240 flights canceled

Many holiday travelers in the United States were stuck at airports on the final day of Thanksgiving weekend after more than 1,240 flights were canceled because of a blizzard that swept across the Midwest, according to weather officials.

BUSINESS

GM-GLOBALOPERATIONS/

GM plans major announcement on global operations Monday -Canada union

MONTREAL/WASHINGTON (Reuters) - General Motors Co is set to make a major announcement on Monday that will affect its global operations and threatens to shutdown a big vehicle assembly plant in the province of Ontario, a Canadian union said on Sunday.

RUSSIA-TECHNOLOGY-SECURITY-EXCLUSIVE/

Exclusive: Russia plans stiffer fines for tech firms that break rules - sources

MOSCOW (Reuters) - Russia plans to impose stiffer fines on technology firms that fail to comply with Russian laws, sources familiar with the plans said, raising the stakes in the Kremlin’s fight with global tech giants such as Facebook and Google.

ENTERTAINMENT

PEOPLE-JUSTIN-BIEBER/

'Married man' Justin Bieber says wants to be more like Jesus

LOS ANGELES (Reuters) - Justin Bieber marked his first Thanksgiving as a married man, saying that “love isn’t always easy” but adding he was trying, like Jesus Christ, to be more patient and selfless.

BRITAIN-ROYALS/FROGMORE

Prince Harry and Meghan move to Windsor Estate ahead of first baby

Britain's Prince Harry and his wife Meghan are moving to Frogmore Cottage on the royal family's Windsor Estate early next year in time for their first child's birth in the spring, they said on Saturday.

SPORTS

Tennis-Daviscup-Final/

Inspired Cilic seals historic Davis Cup win for Croatia

Marin Cilic clinched Croatia's second Davis Cup title by crushing France's Lucas Pouille 7-6(3) 6-3 6-3 to give his side a decisive 3-1 lead in an historic final at Lille's Stade Pierre Mauroy on Sunday.

MOTOR-F1-ABUDHABI/

Raikkonen retires from final race for ferrari

Kimi Raikkonen retired from his last Formula One race with Ferrari on Sunday, his car losing power and coasting to a halt on the main straight after just seven laps of the season-ending Abu Dhabi Grand Prix.

UPCOMING

POLITICS / INTERNATIONAL AFFAIRS

VIRGINIA-PROTESTS/ (PIX)

James Fields Jr. goes to trial in death of counterprotester at Virginia alt-right rally

James Fields Jr., Ohio man accused of first-degree murder in the death of a counterprotester at a white nationalist rally, faces trial in Circuit Court. Fields is charged with driving a car into a crowd at the August 2017 "Unite the Right" rally.

26 Nov 09:30 ET / 14:30 GMT

ITALY-SALVINI/MAFIA

Italian interior minister says to help demolish villa owned by alleged Rome mafia family

Italy's interior minister, Matteo Salvini, has promised to take part in the demolition of a villa built illegally by an alleged Mafia family in Rome

26 Nov 05:00 ET / 10:00 GMT

IRAN-USA/STUDENTS (PIX)

Discouraged by Trump's travel ban, Iranian students turn to European universities

The number of visas issued for Iranians to study in American universities has fallen more than 20 percent compared to last year, State Department data show, despite U.S. assurances that President Donald Trump’s policy to ban travelers from Muslim-majority countries would include exemptions for students. Meanwhile more Iranians than before are opting to study in Western Europe.

26 Nov 01:00 ET / 06:00 GMT

BRITAIN-EU/MAY (TV)

British PM May likely to give statement to parliament following EU summit

British Prime Minister Theresa May is likely to give statement to parliament following the special European Union summit.

26 Nov 10:30 ET / 15:30 GMT

IRAN-NUCLEAR/EU (PIX)

Iran nuclear chief Salehi meets EU officials in Brussels

News conference with EU Energy Commissioner Miguel Arias Cañete and Vice-President of the Islamic Republic of Iran and Head of the Atomic Energy Organisation of Iran (AEOI), Ali Akbar Salehi.

26 Nov 05:00 ET / 10:00 GMT

CRIME / LAW / JUSTICE

CHICAGO-POLICE/ (PIX)

Three Chicago police officers who are charged with conspiracy to cover up the 2014 shooting of black teen, face trial

Trial is due to begin in the case of three current and former Chicago police officers who are charged with conspiracy to cover up the role of Jason Van Dyke in the fatal shooting of Laquan McDonald in 2014. It is alleged that David March, Joseph Walsh and Thomas Gaffney filed false accounts of the shooting to keep Van Dyke from being charged with any wrongdoing.

26 Nov 12:00 ET / 17:00 GMT

USA-MEXICO/EL CHAPO (PIX)

Witness testimony continues in U.S. trial of "El Chapo"

Jesus "El Rey" Zampada, a key witness for U.S. prosecutors in the drug trafficking trial of Joaquin "El Chapo" Guzman, is expected to conclude his testimony. He will likely be followed by a U.S. law enforcement witness. Monitoring, coverage on merit.

26 Nov 09:30 ET / 14:30 GMT

BUSINESS / ECONOMICS

NISSAN-GHOSN/ (PIX) (TV)

Mitsubishi Motors' board meets on Monday to remove Chairman Ghosn

Mitsubishi Motors Corp's board will meet on Monday to remove Carlos Ghosn from his role as chairman after his arrest and ouster from alliance partner Nissan Motor Co last week for alleged financial misconduct.

26 Nov 02:30 ET / 07:30 GMT

WORLD-WORK/MINORITY-EMPLOYMENT (PIX) (TV) (GRAPHIC)

INSIGHT-Black employment booms as Trump says, but can it last?

There's little dispute the job market is strong in Memphis. The concern in this majority black city, and more broadly across the United States, is whether it will lead to lasting improvements in economic security.

26 Nov 01:00 ET / 06:00 GMT

USA-COURT/APPLE (TV)

U.S. Supreme Court hears antitrust dispute over Apple's App Store

The U.S. Supreme Court hears arguments to take up Apple Inc’s bid to escape a lawsuit accusing it of breaking federal antitrust laws by monopolizing the market for iPhone software applications and causing consumers to pay more than they should.

26 Nov 06:00 ET / 11:00 GMT

ARGENTINA-USA/BEEF (PIX)

EXCLUSIVE-Argentina says close to inking a two-way beef deal with US

Argentina is on the verge of signing a deal with the United States that would for the first time allow U.S. fresh beef to be exported to Argentina, the South American country's International Trade Secretary Marisa Bircher said.

26 Nov 07:00 ET / 12:00 GMT

SCIENCE / TECHNOLOGY

SPACE-MARS/ (PIX) (TV)

Spacecraft for detecting 'Marsquakes' lands on red planet

NASA's first robotic lander dedicated to studying the deep interior of Mars, with instruments to detect planetary seismic tremors never measured anywhere but Earth, is expected to land on the Martian surface after a six-month voyage through space.

26 Nov 14:00 ET / 19:00 GMT

SPACE-MARS/ (PIX)

NASA's latest Mars craft nears landing for unprecedented seismic mission

NASA's first spacecraft built to explore the deep interior of another world streaked toward a landing scheduled for Monday on a vast, barren plain of Mars, carrying instruments to detect planetary heat and seismic rumblings never measured anywhere but Earth.

26 Nov 15:00 ET / 20:00 GMT

ARTS / CULTURE / ENTERTAINMENT

FILM-AQUAMAN/PREMIERE (PIX) (TV)

Jason Momoa and Amber Heard premiere superhero film Aquaman

London hosts the world premiere of "Aquaman" starring Amber Heard and Jason Momoa in the title role as the half-human, half-Atlantean.

26 Nov 13:00 ET / 18:00 GMT

(This story has not been edited by Devdiscourse staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)


POST A COMMENT