International Development News
Development News Edition
Give Feedback


PTI Agartala
Updated: 26-11-2018 21:41 IST

The CPI(M) will intensify its

movement against the BJP-IPFT government in Tripura to

"restore democracy and establish rule of law", the opposition

party resolved in its 22nd state committee conference Monday.

Political and ideological battle would be strengthened

to win over people especially from the tribal communities, the

newly elected state Secretary of the party Gautam Das said.

The mass support base of the left party had declined

in tribal areas, which came to light in the results of the

assembly elections, CPI(M) politburo member Prakash Karat said

in a statement here.

"Our three strong fortresses Kerala, West Bengal and

Tripura - are being targeted by the RSS and the BJP.... It is

not enough to defeat them in electoral battles, but they

should be isolated through ideological struggle," Karat said.

After the party's uninturrupted 25-year rule ended

in March at the hands of the BJP and the IPFT, the party is

now in power only in Kerala. The Trinamool Congress defeated

CPI(M) led Left Front in West Bengal after a 34-year-long rule

in 2011.

The state conference also identified sectors where the

party suffered losses in the election and the party would

strive to revive those areas, Das said.

"We have completed our 22nd state committee conference

in a difficult situation. Democracy has withered away within

nine months of the BJP-IPFT government in Tripura. The ruling

parties have let loose a reign of terror. So, we have resolved

to restore democracy and establish the rule of law," Das said.

Das was the editor of Daily Desher Katha, the party's

mouthpiece in Tripura, since August 15, 1979 to March 31,

2015, and a member of the state committee since 1986.

The outgoing secretary Bijan Dhar, a central committee

member who remained in the state post for over nine years,

said 299 members attended the conference, which elected a

state committee of 75 members.

The size of the committee was reduced from 80 to 75

this time with induction 16 new members.

Dhar said five politburo members - General Secretary

Sitaram Yechuri, Prakash Karat, Manik Sarkar, Brinda Karat and

Biman Basu attended the conference.

(This story has not been edited by Devdiscourse staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)