Development News Edition
Give Feedback

REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 6 a.m GMT/2 p.m SGT


Reuters Last Updated at 27-11-2018 11:30:37 IST
Ukraine on Monday imposed martial law for 30 days in parts of the country most vulnerable to an attack from Russia after President Petro Poroshenko warned of the “extremely serious” threat of a land invasion.

RIGHTS-SAUDI-ARGENTINA/

HRW asks Argentina to probe Saudi Crown Prince over Yemen, Khashoggi

BUENOS AIRES (Reuters) - Human Rights Watch has asked Argentina to use a war crimes clause in its constitution to investigate the role of Saudi Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman in possible crimes against humanity in Yemen and the murder of journalist Jamal Khashoggi.

U.S.

NEW-YORK-PEDESTRIANS/

Vehicle hits seven pedestrians in New York City, one killed, officials say

A car running in reverse struck seven pedestrians in New York City on Monday and one person died in the apparent accident, officials said.

USA-TRUMP-RUSSIA-MANAFORT/

U.S. prosecutors accuse Manafort of lying to Mueller, blowing up plea deal

NEW YORK (Reuters) - Donald Trump’s former campaign chairman Paul Manafort breached his plea deal by lying to federal investigators, U.S. prosecutors said in a court filing, signaling a potential setback to the special counsel’s probe into Russia’s meddling in the 2016 U.S. presidential election.

BUSINESS

GM-RESTRUCTURING/

GM to slash jobs and production, drawing Trump's ire

DETROIT (Reuters) - General Motors Co said on Monday it will cut production of slow-selling models and slash its North American workforce because of a declining market for traditional gas-powered sedans, shifting more investment to electric and autonomous vehicles.

USA-HOLIDAYSHOPPING-CYBERMONDAY

Cyber Monday on track for U.S. online shopping record

Cyber Monday was on track to bring in a record $7.9 billion in U.S. online sales, as millions of shoppers scoured for steep discounts on everything from Lego sets to big-screen TVs.

ENTERTAINMENT

FILM-AQUAMAN-PREMIERE/

Momoa and Heard take to seas in superhero film 'Aquaman'

LONDON (Reuters) - “Game of Thrones” actor Jason Momoa brings the latest superhero spin-off to the big screen, this time “Aquaman”, to tell the story of the DC Comics half-human, half-Atlantean character.

PEOPLE-BERNARDOBERTOLUCCI/

Bernardo Bertolucci of 'Last Tango' fame, dies in Rome

ROME (Reuters) - Italian director Bernardo Bertolucci, whose 1972 movie ““Last Tango in Paris” shocked audiences with a notorious sex scene that came back to haunt him in his later years, died on Monday.

SPORTS

SOCCER-ENGLAND-BUR-NEW/REPORT

Newcastle revival continues with victory at Burnley

Newcastle United surged clear of the Premier League relegation zone after a Ben Mee own goal and Ciaran Clark's header in the first half helped them to a 2-1 win at struggling Burnley on Monday.

RUGBY-UNION-NEWZEALAND/ROBERTSON

Robertson eyes All Blacks job after Schmidt exits race

Canterbury Crusaders coach Scott Robertson will wait for New Zealand counterpart Steve Hansen to make a decision on his future before taking a "good look" at the All Blacks role.

UPCOMING

POLITICS / INTERNATIONAL AFFAIRS

BRITAIN-EU/

UK PM May expected to hold regular cabinet meeting

UK Prime Minister Theresa May expected to hold regular cabinet meeting

27 Nov 04:30 ET / 09:30 GMT

USA-ELECTION/MISSISSIPPI (PIX)

Republican Hyde-Smith, Democrat Espy face off in Mississippi U.S. Senate runoff

Republican U.S. Senator Cindy Hyde-Smith and Democratic former U.S. Agriculture Secretary Mike Espy face off in a runoff election for a Mississippi seat in the U.S. Senate.

27 Nov 06:00 ET / 11:00 GMT

IRAN-NUCLEAR/

Interview with Iran's nuclear chief Salehi

Iran's nuclear chief Ali Akbar Salehi is speaking to Reuters following meetings in Brussels aimed at preserving the 2015 nuclear agreement after the United States pulled out of the deal and re-imposed sanctions on Iranian oil exports this month.

27 Nov 10:00 ET / 15:00 GMT

TURKEY-POLITICS/

Turkey's Erdogan announces AK Party local election candidates

Turkish President Tayyip Erdogan announces some of his AK Party's candidates in municipal elections next March in a speech to AKP lawmakers in parliament (0845 GMT). Its election prospects were boosted on Saturday when its nationalist allies said they would support AKP candidates in the biggest cities Istanbul, Ankara and Izmir.

27 Nov 03:45 ET / 08:45 GMT

AUSTRALIA-POLITICS/ (PIX)

Fractured Australian government sets stage for May election with early budget

Australian Prime Minister Scott Morrison said on Tuesday his government will deliver its annual budget early as it prepares for an election due by May, but suffered an immediate setback when one of his MPs said she was quitting his party.

27 Nov 03:00 ET / 08:00 GMT

GERMANY-AUSTRIA/ (TV)

German, Austrian foreign ministers speak to reporters

Germany's Foreign Minister Heiko Maas and his counterpart Karin Kneissl from Austria, which currently holds the EU presidency, speak to reporters in Berlin.

27 Nov 05:30 ET / 10:30 GMT

BRITAIN-EU/ARTICLE50

EU judges hear arguments over stopping Brexit

Top EU court hears a case brought by Scottish politicians opposed to Brexit on whether Britain can unilateraly withdraw its exit notice from the bloc.

27 Nov 03:00 ET / 08:00 GMT

BRITAIN-EU/JAVID (TV)

UK interior minister Sajid Javid appears in front of parliamentary committee

UK interior minister Sajid Javid appears in front of parliamentary committee giving evidence on a wide range of topics within his brief.

27 Nov 10:30 ET / 15:30 GMT

USA-HOUSE/PELOSI

Pelosi closes in on U.S. House Democratic leader job, speakership in view

Nancy Pelosi was expected on Wednesday to be reelected as Democratic leader of the U.S. House of Representatives, giving her the inside track to become House speaker in January, unless critics in her own party block her.

27 Nov 06:00 ET / 11:00 GMT

CONFLICTS / WAR / PEACE

MIDEAST-CRISIS/SYRIA-TURKEY

Turkey's Erdogan chairs National Security Council meeting, likely to discuss Syrian developments

Turkish President Tayyip Erdogan will chair a meeting of the National Security Council (1200 GMT). The council releases a written statement after the meeting which may comment on developments in Syria, including an alleged gas attack in Aleppo and U.S. plans to set up observation posts along the Syrian-Turkish border.

27 Nov 07:00 ET / 12:00 GMT

CRIME / LAW / JUSTICE

GERMANY-TRIAL/BVB (PIX) (TV)

German court is expected to pass verdict on attack on BVB soccer team

A German court is expected to rule on the April 2017 bomb attack on Borussia Dortmund's team bus. In early November prosecutors demanded the 29-year-old accused man be imprisoned for life. The man has already admitted that he staged the attack but said he wanted to make money rather than harm or kill anyone.

27 Nov 08:00 ET / 13:00 GMT

MORGAN STANLEY-FRAUD/

Ex-Morgan Stanley adviser to be sentenced for stealing client funds

A former Morgan Stanley adviser is scheduled to be sentenced after he admitted that he misused client funds to invest in a wind farm project and to pay for personal expenses, including his children's college tuition. James Polese, a former senior money manager at Morgan Stanley, faces a mandatory minimum sentence of two years in prison when he is sentenced by a federal judge in Boston.

27 Nov 14:00 ET / 19:00 GMT

VIRGINIA-PROTESTS/

James Fields Jr. goes to trial in death of counterprotester at Virginia alt-right rally

James Fields Jr., Ohio man accused of first-degree murder in the death of a counterprotester at a white nationalist rally, faces trial in Circuit Court. Fields is charged with driving a car into a crowd at the August 2017 "Unite the Right" rally.

27 Nov 03:30 ET / 08:30 GMT

BUSINESS / ECONOMICS

SAFRICA-SAA/

South Africa's national airline briefs parliamentary committee

South Africa's cash-strapped national airline, SAA, briefs parliament's public enterprises committee on a turnaround strategy aimed at reducing its dependence on government bailouts and returning to profitability.

27 Nov 02:30 ET / 07:30 GMT

FRANCE-ENERGY/ (PIX) (TV)

France unveils path to curb nuclear dependence in medium-term energy policy

The French government presents its medium-term energy policy PPE which lays out a road map for it to reduce the share of nuclear power in its energy mix, increase renewables and energy efficiency, and curb carbon emissions. A recently imposed fuel tax has been met with nationwide blockades and protests that have turned violent, with protesters demanding Macron's resignation. (Time TBC)

27 Nov 03:00 ET / 08:00 GMT

USA-FTC/CONGRESS

Senate panel schedules FTC oversight hearing

A Senate Commerce, Science and Transportation Committee panel will hold an oversight hearing on the Federal Trade Commission, and one issue to be raised is whether the FTC should have more authority to protect consumer privacy and ensure companies safeguard consumer data.

27 Nov 14:30 ET / 19:30 GMT

DENMARK-TAX/

Meeting in Danish parliament committee about dividend tax stripping scandal

Denmark's tax, business and justice ministers will be quizzed by other politicians about the developments in a dividend tax stripping scandal in Denmark and other European countries and about the prospects of reclaiming funds from the fraud.

27 Nov 02:30 ET / 07:30 GMT

US-FED/ (PIX)

Fed's Evans, Bostic George compare U.S. rate-hike plans in face of market rout

In a preview of the internal Federal Reserve debate over how high to raise interest rates, three policymakers will weigh in on the policy implications of a market selloff and possible slowing of global economic growth. Regional Fed presidents Charles Evans, Raphael Bostic and Esther George participate in a panel on financial innovation, the economy, regulation and the future of payments at the Clearing House 2018 Annual Conference, in New York.

27 Nov 14:30 ET / 19:30 GMT

CLIMATE-CHANGE/EMISSIONS (TV)

UN Environment presents 2018 Emissions Gap Report

UN Environment will present the 2018 Emissions Gap Report with a press conference in Paris. The report will show whether countries were doing enough to cut greenhouse gas emissions compared with 2030 target.The report comes less than two weeks before the COP24 U.N. climate conference in opening in Poland.

27 Nov 10:30 ET / 15:30 GMT

CRYPTO-CURRENCIES/PROMOTERS (PIX) (GRAPHIC)

SPECIAL REPORT - Little known to many investors, cryptocurrency reviews are for sale

When cryptocurrency issuers want positive coverage for their virtual coins, they buy it.

27 Nov 07:00 ET / 12:00 GMT

ALPHABET-GOOGLE/AI-GENDER (PIX)

FOCUS - Fearful of bias, Google blocks gender-based pronouns from new AI tool

Alphabet Inc's Google introduced a slick feature for Gmail in May that automatically completes sentences for users as they type. Tap out "I love" and Gmail might propose "you" or "it."

27 Nov 01:00 ET / 06:00 GMT

ICICI PRUDENTIAL-CIO/ (PIX)

Interview with chief investment officer of ICICI Prudential Life Insurance

We are interviewing Manish Kumar, chief investment officer at ICICI Prudential Life Insurance Co. Will ask him about his views on the key drivers for markets in 2019 and how he is changing his investment strategy based on his outlook. We will try to get a sense of the sectors in his focus, what's at the top of his worry list next year and how he plans to negotiate debt markets.

27 Nov 03:30 ET / 08:30 GMT

ARTS / CULTURE / ENTERTAINMENT

FILM-MORTALENGINES/ (TV)

Mechanical cities battle for domination in "Mortal Engines"

Director Christian Rivers presents his post apocalyptic drama in which gigantic moving cities crisscross the devouring smaller cites as they go. Staring Robert Sheehan, Hera Hilmar, Hugo Weaving, Stephen Lang and Jihae, the movie, produced by award-winning filmmaker Peter Jackson, has its world premiere in London.

27 Nov 14:30 ET / 19:30 GMT

ODDLY ENOUGH

FRANCE-EIFFEL/STAIRS-AUCTION (TV)

Section of original Eiffel Tower staircase on auction

A section of Eiffel Tower's original staircase will go on auction at the end of the month in Paris, where auction house Artcurial says it could fetch up to €500.000 ($572.000).

27 Nov 13:00 ET / 18:00 GMT

(This story has not been edited by Devdiscourse staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)


add banner

LEAVE COMMENT