Devdiscourse
Development News Edition
Give Feedback
write for Us

REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 10 a.m. GMT/5 a.m. ET


Reuters
Updated: 30-11-2018 15:25 IST
A summit of the world’s top economies will open on Friday with leaders struggling over fallout from a U.S.-China trade war that has roiled global markets and bracing for the kind of divisive geopolitical drama that President Donald Trump often brings to the international stage.

BRITAIN-EU-MAY/

May says focused on December 11 Brexit vote, not alternatives

BUENOS AIRES (Reuters) - British Prime Minister Theresa May said on Thursday she was focused on persuading lawmakers to back her Brexit deal at a vote in parliament on Dec. 11 rather than preparing a plan B.

U.S.

USA-IMMIGRATION-CARAVAN/

Handful of caravan migrants launch hunger strike at U.S. border

TIJUANA, Mexico (Reuters) - A handful of the thousands of Central American migrants camped out at the U.S.-Mexican border waiting to plead their case for asylum in the United States launched a hunger strike on Thursday to protest the Mexican police blocking their way.

CALIFORNIA-WILDFIRES/

Search for remains in California's deadliest wildfire officially ends

CHICO, Calif. (Reuters) - Three weeks after flames incinerated most of a Northern California town in the deadliest U.S. wildfire in a century, the search for more human remains has officially ended with at least 88 people confirmed dead and nearly 200 still listed as missing.

BUSINESS

NISSAN-GHOSN/

Japan-France spat over Nissan-Renault brews as Ghosn remains jailed

TOKYO (Reuters) - Japanese Prime Minister Shinzo Abe and French President Emmanuel Macron were arranging to meet on the sidelines of the G20 summit meeting, media said, amid signs of a brewing diplomatic feud over the power balance at the troubled Renault-Nissan alliance.

G20-ARGENTINA-CHINA/

China hopes U.S. shows sincerity at G20 trade talks

BEIJING/SHANGHAI (Reuters) - China hopes the United States can show sincerity and promote proposals both countries can accept when their two leaders meet at this week’s G20 summit, the Chinese Foreign Ministry said on Friday ahead of the key trade talks.

ENTERTAINMENT

FILM-MARY-POPPINS-RETURNS/

Kites, dancing penguins and magic: 'Mary Poppins Returns'

LOS ANGELES (Reuters) - Flying through the clouds with a black parrot umbrella and holding her signature carpet bag, whimsical British nanny Mary Poppins made her “practically perfect” movie comeback on Thursday, more than 50 years after first charming audiences worldwide.

USA-SEC-CRYPTOCURRENCY/

Boxer Floyd Mayweather and 'DJ Khaled' charged by SEC over token offerings

WASHINGTON (Reuters) - Boxer Floyd Mayweather Jr. and a music producer known as “DJ Khaled” failed to disclose payments they received for promoting investments in initial coin offerings, the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) said on Thursday.

SPORTS

GOLF-HERO-WOODS/

Golf: Presidents Cup captain Woods says cleared air with Reed

Tiger Woods has cleared the air with Patrick Reed in the wake of controversial comments the U.S. Masters champion made following the American team’s Ryder Cup loss in September, the 14-times major winner said on Thursday.

FOOTBALL-NFL-TEN-NYJ-PREVIEW/

Titans need to beat reeling Jets to have hope

Quarterback Marcus Mariota misfired on one pass in his last outing, and the Tennessee Titans still lost by 17 points.

UPCOMING

POLITICS / INTERNATIONAL AFFAIRS

GERMANY-POLITICS/KRAMP-KARRENBAUER (PIX)

Merkel protege speaks about her bid to lead German conservatives

Annegret Kramp-Karrenbauer, general secretary of the Christian Democratic Union (CDU), speaks about her bid to succeed Chancellor Angela Merkel as leader of the conservative party.

30 Nov 06:30 ET / 11:30 GMT

VIRGINIA-PROTESTS/

James Fields Jr. goes to trial in death of counterprotester at Virginia alt-right rally

James Fields Jr., Ohio man accused of first-degree murder in the death of a counterprotester at a white nationalist rally, faces trial in Circuit Court. Fields is charged with driving a car into a crowd at the August 2017 "Unite the Right" rally.

30 Nov 09:30 ET / 14:30 GMT

G20-ARGENTINA/PROTEST (PIX) (TV)

Protesters take to the streets of Buenos Aires as G20 Summit gets underway

Protesters take to the streets of Buenos Aires as G20 Summit gets underway.

30 Nov 13:00 ET / 18:00 GMT

G20-ARGENTINA/GALA-ARRIVALS (PIX) (TV)

G20 leaders arrive to Colon Theatre for a Gala

G20 leaders arrive to Colon Theatre for a Gala offered by hosting President Mauricio Macri.

30 Nov 16:00 ET / 21:00 GMT

USA-IMMIGRATION/ASYLUM (PIX)

ANALYSIS - Trump demand that asylum seekers wait in Mexico may turn on legal clause

U.S. President Donald Trump's unprecedented proposal to keep migrants waiting in Mexico while seeking U.S. asylum will likely face challenges that it endangers refugees and denies them due process, and may be decided by an obscure provision of U.S. immigration law.

30 Nov 06:00 ET / 11:00 GMT

USA-TRUMP/RUSSIA-MANAFORT (PIX) (TV)

Former Trump campaign chairman Manafort faces scheduling hearing

Paul Manafort, U.S. President Donald Trump's former 2016 presidential campaign chairman, faces a scheduling hearing federal court after the U.S. Special Counsel's Office said he had violated a plea agreement by lying to investigators and should be sentenced.

30 Nov 09:30 ET / 14:30 GMT

BRITAIN-EU/ (GRAPHIC)

Trade minister Liam Fox speech on Brexit

British trade minister Liam Fox delivers a speech on Brexit as part of the government's plan to promote the Brexit deal ahead of a vote in parliament.

30 Nov 06:45 ET / 11:45 GMT

G20-ARGENTINA/PLENARY SESSION (PIX) (TV)

Leaders from G20 countries hold first plenary session

Leaders from G20 countries hold first plenary session

30 Nov 10:45 ET / 15:45 GMT

G20-ARGENTINA/EU (TV)

EU Commission Presidents hold joint press conference to kick off G20 summit

EU Council President Donald Tusk and EU Commission President Jean-Claude Juncker hold news conference ahead of G20 Summit

30 Nov 09:30 ET / 14:30 GMT

G20-ARGENTINA/GALA (PIX) (TV)

G20 leaders attend cultural event at Colon Theatre

G20 leaders attend a Gala offered by hosting President Mauricio Macri at Colon Theatre.

30 Nov 16:30 ET / 21:30 GMT

G20-ARGENTINA/OPENING (PIX) (TV)

Argentina’s President Mauricio Macri opens G20 summit

Argentina’s President Mauricio Macri opens G20 summit.

30 Nov 10:30 ET / 15:30 GMT

G20-ARGENTINA/FAMILY-PHOTO (PIX) (TV)

G20 leaders attend family photo

G20 leaders attend family photo.

30 Nov 10:00 ET / 15:00 GMT

G20-ARGENTINA/LEADERS (PIX) (TV)

G20 leaders arrive for the summit, greeted by host President Mauricio Macri

G20 leaders arrive for the summit and are greeted by host President Mauricio Macri.

30 Nov 08:30 ET / 13:30 GMT

G20-ARGENTINA/USMCA (PIX) (TV)

U.S., Mexico, Canada ministers to sign trade pact

Mexico, Canada and U.S. sign renegotiated free trade agreement on the sidelines of the G20 Summit.

30 Nov 06:00 ET / 11:00 GMT

MEXICO-POLITICS/ (PIX) (TV)

Lopez Obrador takes office as Mexican president

Andres Manuel Lopez Obrador takes office as Mexican president after a landslide election victory that gave him the strongest mandate in decades to shake up politics and push through pledges to end corruption, combat inequality and pacify the country.

1 Dec

G20-ARGENTINA/ERDOGAN

Turkish President Tayyip Erdogan attends G20 summit in Argentina

Turkish President Tayyip Erdogan attends the G20 summit in Argentina. His meeting with President Donald Trump will be a "pull aside" rather than a previously expected formal meeting.

1 Dec

BUSINESS / ECONOMICS

USA-FED/WILLIAMS

NY Fed's Williams addresses closed panel at Group of Thirty, Fed releases prepared text

Federal Reserve Bank of New York releases text of President John Williams's prepared remarks before panel, "The Global Economy: Addressing a Future Downturn" at a closed meeting of the Group of Thirty, in New York.

30 Nov 09:00 ET / 14:00 GMT

INDIA-ECONOMY/GDP (PIX)

India releases GDP data for July-September quarter

India will release GDP data for the July-September period of the current fiscal year on Nov 30 around 5.30 pm (Indian time). India’s annual economic growth probably moderated to 7.4 percent in the July-September quarter, according to a Reuters poll, weakening just as Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s Hindu nationalist led-government gets set for an election due by May.

30 Nov 07:00 ET / 12:00 GMT

SCIENCE / TECHNOLOGY

AIDS-DAY/ (PIX) (TV)

World AIDS day marked around the globe

With balloons, red ribbons or various activities, people across continents mark World AIDS day.

1 Dec

ARTS / CULTURE / ENTERTAINMENT

PEOPLE-LIN-MANUEL MIRANDA/ (TV)

Lin-Manuel Miranda receives Hollywood star

"Hamilton" creator Lin-Manuel Miranda receives the 2,652nd star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame.

30 Nov 14:30 ET / 19:30 GMT

SPORTS

ALPINE-SKIING/WOMEN

Alpine skiing-Women battle for downhill World Cup at Lake Louise

Female ski racers compete in the World Cup downhill event in Lake Louise, Canada.

1 Dec

ALPINE-SKIING/MEN

Alpine skiing-Men battle for downhill World Cup at Beaver Creek

Male ski racers compete in the World Cup downhill event on the infamous Birds of Prey course in Beaver Creek, Colorado.

1 Dec

(This story has not been edited by Devdiscourse staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)


POST A COMMENT