Devdiscourse
Development News Edition
Give Feedback
write for Us

REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 6 a.m. GMT/2 p.m. SGT


Reuters
Updated: 04-12-2018 11:26 IST
Yemeni Houthi officials are expected to travel to Sweden shortly for talks as early as Wednesday to end the nearly four-year-old war after the Saudi-led coalition allowed the evacuation of some of their wounded for treatment.

USA-MYANMAR-ROHINGYA/

Human rights law group calls for tribunal on crimes against Rohingya

WASHINGTON (Reuters) - A human rights law group contracted by the U.S. State Department to investigate atrocities against Rohingya Muslims in Myanmar called on Monday for the urgent establishment of a criminal tribunal to bring those responsible to justice.

U.S.

PEOPLE-BUSH/

Washington pays respects to Bush as he lies in state at Capitol

WASHINGTON (Reuters) - Washington’s political elite paid tribute to former U.S. President George H.W. Bush as his body lay in state in the Capitol on Monday, evoking a bygone era of bipartisan civility in American politics.

CALIFORNIA-WILDFIRES/

Number of dead, missing in California's deadliest wildfire drops

The death toll in California’s deadliest wildfire was revised downward to 85 and the number of people believed missing dropped again to 11, down from a high of more than 1,200 about two weeks ago, officials said Monday.

BUSINESS

USA-TRADE-CHINA/

U.S. expects immediate action from China on trade commitments

WASHINGTON (Reuters) - The United States expects China to take immediate action to cut tariffs on U.S. car imports and end intellectual property theft and forced technology transfers as the two countries move toward a broader trade deal, a White House official said on Monday.

USA-STOCKS-AMAZON/

Amazon briefly edges out Apple for most valuable company

SAN FRANCISCO (Reuters) - Amazon.com briefly became the most valuable company on Wall Street in intraday trade on Monday, days after Microsoft Corp dethroned long-time leader Apple Inc.

ENTERTAINMENT

PEOPLE-CARDIB/

Rapper Cardi B fails to show up for hearing over fight at New York club

NEW YORK (Reuters) - A New York judge on Monday rescheduled Cardi B’s court hearing to Friday after she failed to appear in criminal court to face charges of assault in connection with a fight at a strip club but warned that she risked arrest if she did not show up again.

ROMANIA-FILM-WOMEN/

Female film directors and producers shine in Romanian New Wave

BUCHAREST (Reuters) - Starting out as a unit production manager in Romania’s film industry more than two decades ago, Ada Solomon felt she needed to punch above her weight.

SPORTS

SOCCER-BALLON/

Modric wins 2018 Ballon d'Or, breaks Messi-Ronaldo dominance

PARIS,(Reuters) - Real Madrid's Croatia midfielder Luka Modric was named winner of the 2018 Ballon d'Or on Monday, breaking Cristiano Ronaldo's and Lionel Messi's decade-long hold on the prestigious award.

SOCCER-LIBERTADORES-RIV-BOJ/

River coach says fans 'robbed' by Libertadores switch

BUENOS AIRES, (Reuters) - River Plate coach Marcelo Gallardo has accused the South American Football Confederation (CONMEBOL) of "robbing the fans" with its decision to move the Copa Libertadores final to Madrid.

UPCOMING

POLITICS / INTERNATIONAL AFFAIRS

USA-ELECTION/GEORGIA

Runoff election for Georgia secretary of state

Georgia will hold a runoff election on Tuesday for its secretary of state, an office that drew wide scrutiny during November's midterm elections over concerns about practices critics said were meant to suppress minority voting rights. The state's former secretary of state, Brian Kemp, held the office during his successful bid for governor.

4 Dec 06:00 ET / 11:00 GMT

JAPAN-FORCEDLABOUR/SOUTHKOREA (PIX) (TV)

Attorneys of South Korea’s forced labourers hold a news conference in Tokyo

Two attorneys representing the Korean workers, Kim Se Eun and Lim Jae Sung, hold a news conference in Tokyo after the Supreme Court in Seoul ruled that Japan’s Nippon Steel & Sumitomo Metal Corp and Mitsubishi Heavy Industries should compensate South Koreans forced to work during World War Two.

4 Dec 01:00 ET / 06:00 GMT

AUSTRIA-POLITICS/ (PIX)

Austrian leaders mark one year in office

Austrian Chancellor Sebastian Kurz and Vice Chancellor Heinz-Christian Strache hold a news conference to mark the first anniversary of the coalition between their conservative and far-right parties.

4 Dec 04:00 ET / 09:00 GMT

CLIMATE-CHANGE/ACCORD-TEEN ACTIVIST (TV)

Teen activist Greta Thunberg speaks to Reuters

Swedish teenager Greta Thunberg, 15, who inspired students when she staged a one-woman strike outside the Swedish parliament earlier in the year and now skips school every Friday in protest over inaction by leaders speaks to Reuters on the sidelines of the UN climate talks

4 Dec 10:00 ET / 15:00 GMT

USA-CONGRESS/LYNCH

POSTPONED - Lynch scheduled to appear before U.S. House panels for deposition

Former U.S. Attorney General Loretta Lynch scheduled to give private deposition to House Judiciary and Oversight committees in probe of her handling of investigation of Hillary Clinton's email.

4 Dec 10:00 ET / 15:00 GMT

BRITAIN-EU/ARTICLE50

ECJ Advocate General to give opinion on whether Britain can revoke Brexit notice from the EU

The advocate general of the European Union's top court will give his opinion on Dec. 4 as to whether Britain can unilaterally reverse Brexit. The court does not have to but usually does follow such opinions when it gives the final ruling.

4 Dec 04:30 ET / 09:30 GMT

CONFLICTS / WAR / PEACE

YEMEN-SECURITY/WFP (TV)

World Food Programme chiefs briefs on Yemen food situation

The World Food Programme (WFP) Executive Director WFP, David Beasley, updates reporters on the food security and possibility of famine in Yemen, as UN tries to arrange peace talks between the warring sides.

4 Dec 07:00 ET / 12:00 GMT

BUSINESS / ECONOMICS

BRITAIN-EU/TOYOTA

Toyota exec gives evidence to UK lawmakers on Brexit

Tony Walker, Managing Director, Toyota Motor Europe, gives evidence to lawmakers on Brexit. Sydney Nash, Senior Policy Manager at the trade body Society of Motor Manufacturers and Traders will also speak.

4 Dec 05:00 ET / 10:00 GMT

USA-FED/WILLIAMS

New York Federal Reserve Bank President Williams is panelist at economic briefing

Federal Reserve Bank of New York President John Williams gives opening remarks and participates in panel before an economic briefing on local employment and labor force trends in the Second District, including New York City, New York State, and New Jersey. Event will take place in New York.

4 Dec 10:00 ET / 15:00 GMT

THOMSONREUTERS-STRATEGY/

Thomson Reuters Investor Relations Day

Thomson Reuters' senior management team will deliver a series of presentations in Toronto outlining the company’s operating strategy, growth plans and capital structure. The event is a chance for Chief Executive Officer Jim Smith to update investors on the company's future plans after it completed the sale of a majority stake in its Financial & Risk (F&R) unit to private equity firm Blackstone in October.

4 Dec 08:30 ET / 13:30 GMT

USA-COAL/WALLSTREET (PIX)

SPECIAL REPORT-Wall Street cleans up on U.S. 'clean coal' subsidies

Part 2 or 3 Special Reports on the U.S. 'clean coal' program. Goldman Sachs, Fidelity and other companies have jumped into the coal business, chasing subsidized profits from an environmental policy that shows little evidence of reducing smog, a Reuters analysis shows.

4 Dec 07:00 ET / 12:00 GMT

USA-COAL/LABS (PIX)

SPECIAL REPORT-Little lab on the prairie is a gold mine for U.S. 'clean coal' investors

Part 3 of 3 Special Reports on the U.S. 'clean coal' program. A North Dakota laboratory is one of a handful that test refined coal to ensure it reduces pollution enough to quality for lucrative U.S. environmental subsidies – but those results often don’t translate into real-world improvements at power plants.

4 Dec 09:00 ET / 14:00 GMT

EU-ECOFIN/ (PIX)

EU finance ministers meet

European Union finance ministers gather in Brussels in a regular monthly meeting where they are expected to seal a deal on a broad reform of banking rules, to adopt an action plan against money laundering at banks and to discuss possible progress for an EU-wide digital tax.

4 Dec 03:00 ET / 08:00 GMT

SAFRICA-LAND/ (PIX)

South African parliament debates land report

South Africa's parliament debates a committee report recommending that land expropriation without compensation should proceed. This is largely a procedural matter at the beginning stages of what could be a lengthy legislative process to amend the wording in the country's constitution and make provision for accelerated land reform.

4 Dec 07:00 ET / 12:00 GMT

SCIENCE / TECHNOLOGY

SCIENCE-GORILLA GAMING/ (TV)

Gorilla game tests great ape puzzle solving

Scientists devise a puzzle game that integrates hidden computer technology with cognitive animal enrichment to measure how gorillas solve complicated problems.

4 Dec 06:00 ET / 11:00 GMT

ARTS / CULTURE / ENTERTAINMENT

PEOPLE-NICKJONAS/CHOPRA (PIX)

Newly-wed Priyanka Chopra and Nick Jonas meet media at a ceremony in New Delhi

U.S. singer Nick Jonas and "Quantico" actor Priyanka Chopra will be meeting media at a post-wedding ceremony in New Delhi

4 Dec 08:30 ET / 13:30 GMT

SPORTS

SPORT-TICKETS/

StubHub unveils list of top-selling sporting events for 2018

Ticket seller StubHub releases its list of top-selling sporting events in the U.S. for 2018.

4 Dec 14:00 ET / 19:00 GMT

(This story has not been edited by Devdiscourse staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)


POST A COMMENT