Devdiscourse
Development News Edition
Give Feedback
write for Us

REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 6 a.m. GMT/2 p.m. SGT


Reuters
Updated: 06-12-2018 11:28 IST
The death last week of the Taliban’s senior leader in southern Afghanistan in a U.S. air strike highlights a surge in operations amid pressure to coax the increasingly confident insurgents to accept talks to end the 17-year war.

MYANMAR-ROHINGYA-BANGLADESH/

Bangladesh seeks action against Myanmar minister over Rohingya 'brainwashed' remark

DHAKA (Reuters) - Bangladesh summoned the Myanmar ambassador on Wednesday to condemn “irresponsible remarks” made by Myanmar’s religion minister about Rohingya Muslims, and called for action against him, senior officials at the Bangladesh foreign ministry said.

U.S.

PEOPLE-BUSH/

Plane carrying remains of former President Bush lands in Houston

HOUSTON (Reuters) - A plane carrying the body of former U.S. President George H.W. Bush touched down in Houston on Wednesday following a state funeral in Washington where he was remembered as a statesman of uncommon personal kindness.

USA-MILITARY-ACCIDENT/

Five U.S. Marines missing after aircraft crash into sea off Japan

TOKYO/WASHINGTON (Reuters) - Five U.S. Marines were missing after two Marine Corps aircraft collided in mid-air and crashed into the sea off the coast of Japan on Thursday, in what U.S. officials said may have been a refueling exercise gone wrong.

BUSINESS

USA-CHINA-HUAWEI/

China telecoms giant Huawei CFO arrested in Canada

VANCOUVER/WASHINGTON (Reuters) - Canada has arrested Chinese telecoms giant Huawei’s global chief financial officer in Vancouver, where she is facing extradition to the United States, Canada’s Department of Justice said on Wednesday.

GM-RESTRUCTURING/

GM CEO will keep 'open mind' on plant closings, acknowledges anger

WASHINGTON (Reuters) - General Motors Co Chief Executive Mary Barra on Wednesday vowed to keep an “open mind” about the future of an Ohio plant that will lose vehicle production, but warned the Detroit automaker has excess capacity and did not suggest the company was reconsidering the plan.

ENTERTAINMENT

AWARDS-GOLDENGLOBES-HOSTS/

Sandra Oh, Andy Samberg named as Golden Globe hosts

LOS ANGELES (Reuters) - Canadian actress Sandra Oh and U.S. comedian Andy Samberg will co-host the 2019 Golden Globe Awards in January, organizers said on Wednesday.

PEOPLE-CARDIB/

Cardi B splits with husband Offset - 'We just grew out of love'

Rapper Cardi B announced on Wednesday she is seeking a divorce from her husband Offset after just over a year of marriage, saying “I guess we just grew out of love.”

SPORTS

GYMNASTICS-USA/

USA Gymnastics, reeling from abuse claims, files for bankruptcy

USA Gymnastics, the sport’s governing body, filed for bankruptcy on Wednesday, saying that it is staggering under the weight of lawsuits filed by hundreds of women who were sexually abused by former national team doctor Larry Nassar.

SOCCER-ENGLAND/REPORT

United battle to draw with Arsenal, Liverpool march on

LONDON,(Reuters) - Manchester United remain distant spectators in a Premier League title race in which Liverpool continue to chase Manchester City but showed plenty of spirit as they twice equalised in a 2-2 draw with in-form Arsenal at Old Trafford on Wednesday.

UPCOMING

POLITICS / INTERNATIONAL AFFAIRS

PEOPLE-BUSH/ (PIX) (TV)

A funeral ceremony is held for President George H.W. Bush

A funeral is held at St. Martin's Episcopal Church in Houston for President George H.W. Bush. The president's remains are then transported by train to George Bush Presidential Library & Museum at Texas A&M University for internment.

6 Dec 11:00 ET / 16:00 GMT

OSCE-SUMMIT/ (PIX) (TV)

Foreign Ministers of OSCE states meet in Italy

Foreign ministers from many of the 57 member states of the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE) are due to hold two days of talks in Italy.

6 Dec 04:00 ET / 09:00 GMT

USA-CONGRESS/JUSTICE

Congress scrambles for prison reform, with high stakes for 2019

Reforming America's prisons and criminal sentencing standards looked like a bipartisan slam dunk months ago, but with time running out in the 2018 U.S. Congress, leaders of both parties and the White House were scrambling to remove one final obstacle to passage - Senate Republican leader Mitch McConnell. In a struggle with high political stakes going into 2019, McConnell was still dug in on Thursday.

6 Dec 14:00 ET / 19:00 GMT

JAPAN-IMMIGRATION/AKITAKATA (PIX)

As Japan considers allowing more foreigners, tiny rural town wants to go further

Kazuyoshi Hamada, mayor of Akitakata in southwest Japan, wants to attract foreigners to save his dying rural community from extinction but says reforms being pushed by Prime Minister Shinzo Abe to let in more blue-collar workers don't go far enough since only a few will be able to become permanent residents.

6 Dec 01:30 ET / 06:30 GMT

BRAZIL-POLITICS/TEMER (PIX)

Brazil's Temer speaks to foreign press

Outgoing Brazilian President Michel Temer speaks to foreign correspondents on the achievements and shortfalls of his interim two-and a-half-year government. Temer hands over to President-elect Jair Bolsonaro on Jan 1.

6 Dec 06:30 ET / 11:30 GMT

BRITAIN-EU/BARNIER (TV)

EU Brexit negotiator Barnier talks Brexit with regional representatives

Michel Barnier, the European Union's Chief Brexit Negotiator, discusses Brexit and its impact on regions and cities with local leaders from all the EU's member states, a few days before the UK's parliament's crucial vote on the agreed Withdrawal Agreement.

6 Dec 05:00 ET / 10:00 GMT

CRIME / LAW / JUSTICE

USA-COURT/DOUBLEJEOPARDY

Supreme Court weighs "double jeopardy" case

The Supreme Court hears a case that could overturn the ability of the federal government and states to prosecute people separately for the same underlying offense

6 Dec 10:00 ET / 15:00 GMT

BUSINESS / ECONOMICS

MOLECULAR PARTNERS-PIPELINE/

Molecular Partners goes over pipeline with investors at R&D day

Swiss drugmaker Molecular Partners has a lot on its plate, trying to bring a drug for macular degeneration to the market with ally Allergan while bringing forward a host of earlier-stage cancer medicines.

6 Dec 06:30 ET / 11:30 GMT

BOMBARDIER-OUTLOOK/ (PIX)

Canada's Bombardier to publish 2019 guidance for its divisions at investor day

Canadian train and plane maker Bombardier is to publish its 2019 division guidance ahead of the company's investor day in New York.

6 Dec 01:00 ET / 06:00 GMT

LULULEMON-RESULTS/

Q3 2018 Lululemon Athletica Inc Earnings Release

The Canadian athletic apparel maker Lululemon Athletica is expected to post higher third-quarter profit on Thursday, driven by strong online sales and established store sales. Investors will be looking out for comments on the company's further strategy to grow in domestic and international markets.

6 Dec 16:00 ET / 21:00 GMT

TIME WARNER-M&A/AT&T

U.S. court to hear appeal of lower court's approval of ATT-Time Warner deal

A panel of three federal appeals court judges will hear the U.S. Justice Department's appeal of a ruling allowing AT&T Inc to acquire Time Warner,

6 Dec 06:00 ET / 11:00 GMT

GLOBAL-ECONOMY/FOOD

United Nations Food and Agriculture Organization releases monthly food price index

United Nations food agency (FAO) releases food price index, which measures monthly changes for a basket of cereals, oilseeds, dairy products, meat and sugar. FAO also releases its cereal supply and demand brief, including production forecasts.

6 Dec 04:00 ET / 09:00 GMT

USA-FED/BOSTIC

Atlanta Federal Reserve Bank President Bostic speaks on national outlook

Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta President Raphael Bostic speaks on the national outlook before a Georgia Economic Outlook event, in Atlanta, Ga., and possibly give a final sense of whether he favors a December rate increase.

6 Dec 12:15 ET / 17:15 GMT

JAPAN-COMPANIES/ (PIX)

Reuters Corporate Survey

A monthly poll of about 500 large and midsize Japanese corporations, conducted for Reuters by Nikkei Research.

7 Dec 18:00 ET / 23:00 GMT

JPMORGAN-DIMON/

JPMorgan's Dimon speaks at Business Roundtable CEO Innovation Summit

JPMorgan Chase & Co. Chief Executive Jamie Dimon is among the speakers at Business Roundtable CEO Innovation Summit.

6 Dec 13:00 ET / 18:00 GMT

SERBIA-RATES/

Serbia’s central bank announces December benchmark rate

Serbia’s central bank will announce December benchmark rate. The bank currently holds the rate at 3 percent.

6 Dec 06:00 ET / 11:00 GMT

AUSTRALIA-ECONOMY/RBA

RBA Deputy Governor Debelle speaks in Sydney

RBA Deputy Gov Guy Debelle speaks at the ABE dinner on Lessons and Questions from the GFC

6 Dec 04:00 ET / 09:00 GMT

GERMANY-ECONOMY/

German Finance Minister Olaf Scholz holds news conference

German Finance Minister Olaf Scholz speaks to the press after a meeting of Germany's Stability Council, which is made up of representatives of the Federal Ministry of Finance, the finance ministries of Germany's state and the Economy Ministry.

6 Dec 05:00 ET / 10:00 GMT

USA-ECONOMY/WEALTH

Federal Reserve issues Flow of Funds accounts for Q3 2018

Federal Reserve releases figures on the financial health of U.S. household in its Flow of Funds report for the third quarter of 2018, in Washington.

6 Dec 12:00 ET / 17:00 GMT

USA-TRUMP/MARKETS (PIX)

ANALYSIS-Trading Trump: Wall Street stresses over White House comments

The U.S. stock market dropped sharply on Dec. 4 on fears that President's Trump's pronouncements on a trade war truce with China were exaggerated. The brutal reversal highlights a broader dilemma for Wall Street investors: how seriously to take comments by the White House. With embedded tweets.

6 Dec 07:00 ET / 12:00 GMT

SCIENCE / TECHNOLOGY

SPACE-SUMMIT/

U.S. Commerce Secretary Ross speaks at space industry summit

U.S. Commerce Secretary Wilbur Ross is among the features speakers at space industry summit hosted by the U.S. Chamber of Commerce.

6 Dec 08:30 ET / 13:30 GMT

GENOMICS-TUMOR/ (PIX)

SPECIAL REPORT-After a dire diagnosis, hope and uncertainty at the frontiers of medicine

After doctors diagnosed a Reuters editor's 4-year-old boy with a potentially life-threatening brain tumor, she and her husband found themselves confronting new choices where genomics have led to therapies both promising and uncertain.

6 Dec 09:00 ET / 14:00 GMT

ARTS / CULTURE / ENTERTAINMENT

AWARDS-GOLDENGLOBES/NOMINATIONS-TELEVISION (PIX)

Golden Globe nominations for television are announced Nominations are announced for the Golden Globe awards for television shows and performers

6 Dec 14:30 ET / 19:30 GMT

AWARDS-GOLDENGLOBES/NOMINATIONS REACTION (PIX) (TV)

Reactions to the Golden Globe nominations

Film critic in LA reacts following Golden Globe nominations

6 Dec 09:30 ET / 14:30 GMT

AWARDS-GOLDENGLOBES/NOMINATIONS FILM CLIPS (PIX) (TV)

Golden Globe film clips

Film clips for those movies nominated for a Golden Globe

6 Dec 09:30 ET / 14:30 GMT

AWARDS-GOLDENGLOBES/SURPRISES

Snubs and surprises for the Golden Globe nominations

Who was snubbed and who sneaked in at the Golden Globe nominations for movies and television

6 Dec 15:00 ET / 20:00 GMT

(This story has not been edited by Devdiscourse staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)


POST A COMMENT