Development News Edition
Give Feedback

REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 10 p.m. GMT/6 a.m. SGT


Reuters Last Updated at 07-12-2018 03:30:57 IST
France will close the Eiffel Tower and other tourism landmarks in Paris and draft in thousands more security forces on Saturday to stave off another wave of violent protests in the country over living costs.

US-BRITAIN-EU/

Rejecting suggestions of delay, UK PM May's team says Brexit vote will go ahead

LONDON (Reuters) - Parliament’s vote on Prime Minister Theresa May’s Brexit deal will go ahead on Dec. 11, her office said on Thursday, rejecting suggestions from lawmakers that she should seek ways to avoid a defeat so big it might bring down the government.

U.S.

US-USA-MILITARY-ACCIDENT-JAPAN/

U.S. military air crash off Japan coast kills one Marine, five missing

WASHINGTON (Reuters) - One U.S. Marine was killed and rescue teams were searching for five others missing after two Marine Corps aircraft collided in mid-air and crashed into the sea off the coast of Japan during a refueling exercise, officials said on Thursday.

US-PEOPLE-BUSH/

Farewell 'Gampy' - former U.S. president George H.W. Bush mourned by family

HOUSTON (Reuters) - Former U.S. President George H.W. Bush’s family took center stage at his funeral in Houston on Thursday, with personal tributes, grandsons who knew him better as “Gampy” serving as honorary pallbearers and granddaughters reading from the Bible.

BUSINESS

US-USA-CHINA-HUAWEI-TECH-EXCLUSIVE/

Exclusive: U.S. probe of China's Huawei includes bank fraud accusations: sources

WASHINGTON (Reuters) - Chinese telecoms giant Huawei Technologies Co Ltd’s chief financial officer was arrested as part of a U.S. investigation of an alleged scheme to use the global banking system to evade U.S. sanctions against Iran, according to people familiar with the probe.

US-USA-OIL-EIA/

In major shift, U.S. now exports more oil than it ships in

The United States last week exported more crude oil and fuel than it imported for the first time on record, according to data released on Thursday, the same day OPEC ended a meeting without a decision to curb global output to balance out the historic surge in U.S. supply.

ENTERTAINMENT

US-AWARDS-GOLDENGLOBES-NOMINATIONS/

Politics, race, music dominate diverse Golden Globe film nominations

LOS ANGELES (Reuters) - Movies about race, politics and music dominated nominations for the Golden Globe awards on Thursday, setting the stage for a lively Hollywood awards season leading up to the Oscars in February.

US-AUCTION-STARWARS-SKETCHBOOKS/

'Star Wars' costumes sketchbooks seen fetching large sums at auction

LONDON (Reuters) - A sketchbook revealing early costume designs for Darth Vader, Luke Skywalker and other “Star Wars” characters is expected to sell for more than 100,000 pounds ($130,000) at auction in London next week.

SPORTS

US-GYMNASTICS-USA/

USA Gymnastics, reeling from abuse claims, files for bankruptcy

USA Gymnastics, the sport’s governing body, filed for bankruptcy on Wednesday, saying that it is staggering under the weight of lawsuits filed by hundreds of women who were sexually abused by former national team doctor Larry Nassar.

US-SPORT-DOPING-RUSSIA-ZUBKOV/

Doping: Russian Olympic Committee appeals local court doping decision

MOSCOW (Reuters) - The Russian Olympic Committee appealed on Thursday against a Moscow court ruling that refused to recognize bobsledder Alexander Zubkov’s Olympic ban, saying it could cast doubt on Russia’s desire to fight against doping.

UPCOMING

POLITICS / INTERNATIONAL AFFAIRS

SWISS-EU/ (PIX)

Swiss government to decide on draft EU treaty

The Swiss cabinet is due to decide how to handle a draft treaty on future ties with the European Union that has exposed sharp differences in the four-party coalition government

Dec 7

CHINA-NORTHKOREA/ (PIX) (TV)

North Korea's foreign minister visits China for talks

North Korean foreign minister Ri Yong Ho visits Beijing to meet senior officials and discuss the situation on the Korean peninsula.

Dec 7

USA-TRUMP/RUSSIA-COMEY (PIX) (TV)

Comey scheduled to appear before U.S. House panels for deposition

Former FBI Director James Comey scheduled to give private deposition to House Judiciary and Oversight committees in probe of his handling of investigation of Hillary Clinton's email.

7 Dec, 10:00 ET / 15:00 GMT

USA-TRUMP/RUSSIA-MANAFORT (PIX)

U.S. Special Counsel to submit memo detailing alleged lies by Paul Manafort

U.S. Special Counsel Robert Mueller is due to submit a sentencing memo about Paul Manafort, Donald Trump's former campaign chairman, to the federal court in Washington, D.C. handling his case. The memo will contain details about what Manafort allegedly lied about to blow up his plea agreement with Mueller's office.

Dec 7

USA-CHINA/HUAWEI (PIX) (TV)

Top Huawei executive to appear in Vancouver court in U.S. extradition case

The daughter of Huawei's founder, a top executive at the Chinese technology giant, is set to appear in a downtown Vancouver courthouse for a bail hearing. Meng Wanzhou was arrested in Vancouver on Dec.1 and faces extradition to the United States on charges related to U.S. sanctions.

7 Dec, 07:00 ET / 12:00 GMT

CLIMATE-CHANGE/ACCORD (TV)

Poland hosts UN Climate Change Conference (COP-24)

The 2018 UN climate change conference (COP24) will be held from 2 to 14 December in Katowice, Poland

Dec 7

USA-TRUMP/RUSSIA-COHEN

Mueller, N.Y. prosecutors to file sentencing memos for ex-Trump lawyer Cohen

The office of Special Counsel Robert Mueller and prosecutors in the Southern District of New York are expected to submit their recommendations for the sentencing of Michael Cohen, President Donald Trump's former personal lawyer, who has pleaded guilty to campaign finance violations, tax evasion and making false statements to Congress.

Dec 7

OSCE-SUMMIT/ (PIX) (TV)

Foreign Ministers of OSCE states meet in Italy

Foreign ministers from many of the 57-member states of the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE) wrap up two days of talks in Italy.

7 Dec, 04:00 ET / 09:00 GMT

INDIA-COW/ (PIX)

People protest against the Bulandshahr violence over the alleged slaughter of a cow

People to protest against the recent killings during Monday's violent protest over the alleged slaughter of a cow, an animal many Hindus consider sacred, in Bulandshahr, in the northern state of Uttar Pradesh

Dec 7

GERMANY-POLITICS/CDU (PIX) (TV)

CDU members elect Merkel's successor as party leader at Hamburg congress

Members of Angela Merkel's Christian Democrats (CDU) are expected to elect her successor as party leader after the chancellor announced on Oct. 29 that she would no longer run for the post which she held for 18 years.

7 Dec, 04:00 ET / 09:00 GMT

CONFLICTS / WAR / PEACE

MIDEAST-CRISIS/SYRIA-TURKEY

Turkey, U.S. hold talks over northern Syria dispute

U.S. Syria envoy Jim Jeffrey meets Turkish officials to discuss a dispute over Washington's support in northern Syria for Kurdish YPG fighters, viewed by Ankara as terrorists threatening its southern border.

Dec 7

ISRAEL-PALESTINIANS/PROTESTS (TV, PIX)

Palestinians continue protests along border with Israel

Palestinians continue protests along the border with Israel demanding an end to Israeli blockade and the right of return to lands from which they fled or were forced to flee during Israel's founding in 1948

Dec 7

CRIME / LAW / JUSTICE

PEOPLE-CARDIB/ (PIX) (TV)

Cardi B hearing for assault charges in strip club incident

Rapper Cardi B, real name Belcalis Almanzar, appears in court in connection to an incident at a New York City strip club. Cardi B is charged with two counts of reckless endangerment and one count of third degree assault for the alleged attack on two bartenders at the club.

7 Dec, 09:30 ET / 14:30 GMT

TENNESSEE-EXECUTION/

David Miller, who has said he wants to be executed by the electric chair, is scheduled to be executed

David Miller is scheduled to be executed in Tennessee at 7 p.m. CT on Dec. 6 and has said he wants to be executed by the electric chair.

6 Dec, 20:00 ET / 01:00 GMT

BUSINESS / ECONOMICS

USA-FED/POWELL

Federal Reserve Chairman Powell gives brief welcome remarks

Federal Reserve Chairman Jerome Powell gives brief welcome remarks before the Housing Assistance Council Rural Housing Conference, in Washington.

6 Dec, 18:45 ET / 23:45 GMT

USA-FED/WILLIAMS

Fed's Williams on rate hikes and a possible economic slowdown next year

Federal Reserve Bank of New York President John Williams, among the most influential U.S. central bankers, will discuss how much longer the Fed should raise interest rates and what might change things as the economy faces a possible slowdown next year. He participates in moderated discussion organized by the London School of Economics and Political Science, in New York.

6 Dec, 18:30 ET / 23:30 GMT

JAPAN-COMPANIES/ (PIX)

Reuters Corporate Survey

A monthly poll of about 500 large and midsize Japanese corporations, conducted for Reuters by Nikkei Research.

7 Dec, 18:00 ET / 23:00 GMT

AJ BELL-IPO/

Investment platform AJ Bell trades on London Stock Exchange

Investment platform AJ Bell, which has 46 billion pounds in assets under administration, trades on the London Stock Exchange on Friday after an initial public offering which valued it at more than 600 million pounds.

7 Dec, 03:00 ET / 08:00 GMT

NIGERIA-BUDGET/ (PIX)

Nigeria's Buhari holds special cabinet meeting over 2019 budget

Nigeria's President Muhammadu Buhari is to hold a special cabinet meeting on Friday to consider the 2019 budget after which it is expected to be sent to lawmakers in the National Assembly.

Dec 7

MEXICO-ECONOMY/INFLATION

Mexico-Inflation Final

7 Dec, 09:00 ET / 14:00 GMT

DANSKE BANK-MONEYLAUNDERING/

Danske Bank to hold extraordinary general meeting to elect new chairman

A.P. Moller Holding, which controls about 21 percent of the share capital in Danske Bank, has ousted its chairman Ole Andersen after a money laundering scandal and has nominated Karsten Dybvad, who currently heads the Confederation of Danish Industry, to replace him.

7 Dec, 09:00 ET / 14:00 GMT

USA-TRADE/CHINA-ALUMINUM

U.S. mulls locking in duties on Chinese aluminum sheet imports

The U.S. International Trade Commission meets to determine whether American producers are being harmed by imports of common alloy aluminum sheet from China. An affirmative finding would lock in duties on the product for five years.

Dec 7

USA-FED/BULLARD

St. Louis Fed President Bullard talks on monetary policy

Ahead of the Fed's meeting on Dec. 18 Bullard updates his views on policy in light of recent market turbulence.

7 Dec, 01:00 ET / 06:00 GMT

FRANCE-GRAINS/EXPORTS

French grain export data for October

Breakdown of grain exports from monthly French customs data. October figures will confirm early-season export trends for France, the EU's biggest grain producer, in the 2018/19 campaign that started in July.

Dec 7

GLOBAL-ECONOMY/WEEKAHEAD

Global Economy Weekahead

A weekly look at key economic events for the global economy in the coming seven days.

Dec 7

VEDANTA-SMELTER/ (PIX)

Indian court to decide on judicial panel's recommendation to re-open Vedanta's smelter

The National Green Tribunal, India's main environmental court, will decide on the recommendations of a judicial panel which last month said that were insufficient grounds to permanently close Vedanta Ltd's copper smelter. The decision of the state government to shut the plant amounted to judicial overreach, the panel said. The court is likely to follow the panel's recommendation, and if it did so, it could lead to the re-opening of the smelter.

Dec 7

ARTS / CULTURE / ENTERTAINMENT

AWARDS-GRAMMYS/NOMINATIONS (PIX) (TV)

Nominations announced for the Grammy Awards

Nominations are announced for the Grammy Awards, the highest honors in music. The ceremony will be held Feb 10 in Los Angeles

7 Dec, 08:30 ET / 13:30 GMT

SPORTS

BRITAIN-TENNIS/DOGS (PIX) (TV)

'Ball dogs' fetch in Champions Tennis competition

'Ball dogs' take to the Champions Tennis court to show off their fetching skills.

Dec 7

(This story has not been edited by Devdiscourse staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)


add banner

LEAVE COMMENT