Development News Edition
Give Feedback

REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 6 a.m. GMT/2 p.m. SGT


Reuters Last Updated at 07-12-2018 11:29:10 IST
U.S. President Donald Trump said without evidence on Thursday Arizona “is bracing for a massive surge” of immigrants along a portion of the U.S. southern border that does not have a protective fence, reiterating his call for Democrats to back funding for his proposed border wall.

USA-CHINA-HUAWEI-TECH/

White House, Trudeau seek to distance themselves from Huawei move

WASHINGTON/OTTAWA (Reuters) - President Donald Trump did not know about plans to arrest a top executive at Chinese telecoms giant Huawei in Canada, two U.S. officials said on Thursday, in an apparent attempt to stop the incident from impeding crucial trade talks with Beijing.

U.S.

VIRGINIA-PROTESTS/

Virginia murder trial of white nationalist goes to jury

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. (Reuters) - The murder case against the man who drove his car into a crowd protesting a white nationalist rally in Charlottesville, Virginia, was submitted to a jury on Thursday, capping a two-week trial in which the defendant declined to take the witness stand.

CNN-EVACUATION-NEW-YORK/

NY police give all clear after CNN bomb threat

CNN’s broadcast offices in New York City were evacuated by police on Thursday night for more than an hour after a caller said there were five bombs hidden in the Time Warner Center Building, disrupting the broadcaster’s schedule, police said.

BUSINESS

NISSAN-GHOSN/

Carlos Ghosn, Nissan Motor to be indicted Monday: Nikkei

TOKYO (Reuters) - Tokyo prosecutors plan to indict former Nissan Motor Co Ltd Chairman Carlos Ghosn on Monday for financial misconduct, the Nikkei business daily reported, ratcheting up their case against the auto tycoon.

NOBLE GROUP-DEBT/

Noble Group's $3.5 bln restructuring at risk as authorities block new listing

SINGAPORE,(Reuters) - Noble Group's $3.5 billion debt rescue plan was thrown into doubt on Thursday when Singapore authorities said they would block the re-listing of shares in what was once Asia's top commodity trader.

ENTERTAINMENT

AWARDS-GOLDENGLOBES-NOMINATIONS/

Politics, race, music dominate diverse Golden Globe film nominations

LOS ANGELES (Reuters) - Movies about race, politics and music dominated nominations for the Golden Globe awards on Thursday, setting the stage for a lively Hollywood awards season leading up to the Oscars in February.

AUCTION-STARWARS-SKETCHBOOKS/

'Star Wars' costumes sketchbooks seen fetching large sums at auction

LONDON (Reuters) - A sketchbook revealing early costume designs for Darth Vader, Luke Skywalker and other “Star Wars” characters is expected to sell for more than 100,000 pounds ($130,000) at auction in London next week.

SPORTS

SOCCER-ENGLAND-MUN-FUL/PREVIEW

Struggling Mourinho has a friend in Ranieri

Manchester United manager Jose Mourinho is struggling to win over his critics at Old Trafford but in new Fulham boss Claudio Ranieri he at least has one big fan.

CRICKET-TEST-AUS-IND/

Ashwin turns the screws as Australia grind to 117-4

ADELAIDE (Reuters) - India spinner Ravichandran Ashwin ratcheted up the pressure on Australia with two wickets to leave the home side 117 for four at tea on day two of the series-opening test on Friday.

UPCOMING

POLITICS / INTERNATIONAL AFFAIRS

USA-TRUMP/RUSSIA-COMEY (PIX) (TV)

Comey scheduled to appear before U.S. House panels for deposition

Former FBI Director James Comey scheduled to give private deposition to House Judiciary and Oversight committees in probe of his handling of investigation of Hillary Clinton's email.

7 Dec 10:00 ET / 15:00 GMT

USA-CHINA/HUAWEI (PIX) (TV)

Top Huawei executive to appear in Vancouver court in U.S. extradition case

The daughter of Huawei's founder, a top executive at the Chinese technology giant, is set to appear in a downtown Vancouver courthouse for a bail hearing. Meng Wanzhou was arrested in Vancouver on Dec.1 and faces extradition to the United States on charges related to U.S. sanctions.

7 Dec 04:00 ET / 09:00 GMT

BRITAIN-EU/CORBYN (PIX)

Britain's Corbyn speaks at European Socialist congress

British opposition leader Jeremy Corbyn to address the annual meeting of the Party of European Socialists ahead of Parliament's vote on British Prime Minister Theresa May's Brexit deal on Dec. 11

7 Dec 12:30 ET / 17:30 GMT

OSCE-SUMMIT/ (PIX) (TV)

Foreign Ministers of OSCE states meet in Italy

Foreign ministers from many of the 57 member states of the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE) wrap up two days of talks in Italy.

7 Dec 04:00 ET / 09:00 GMT

GERMANY-POLITICS/CDU (PIX) (TV)

CDU members elect Merkel's successor as party leader at Hamburg congress

Members of Angela Merkel's Christian Democrats (CDU) are expected to elect her successor as party leader after the chancellor announced on Oct. 29 that she would no longer run for the post which she held for 18 years.

7 Dec 04:00 ET / 09:00 GMT

CRIME / LAW / JUSTICE

PEOPLE-CARDIB/ (PIX) (TV)

Cardi B hearing for assault charges in strip club incident

Rapper Cardi B, real name Belcalis Almanzar, appears in court in connection to an incident at a New York City strip club. Cardi B is charged with two counts of reckless endangerment and one count of third degree assault for the alleged attack on two bartenders at the club.

7 Dec 09:30 ET / 14:30 GMT

BUSINESS / ECONOMICS

USA-FED/BRAINARD

Federal Reserve Board Governor Brainard speaks at Peterson Institute

Federal Reserve Board Governor Lael Brainard speaks on "Financial Stability" before a luncheon hosted by the Peterson Institute for International Economics, in Washington.

7 Dec 12:15 ET / 17:15 GMT

AJ BELL-IPO/

Investment platform AJ Bell trades on London Stock Exchange

Investment platform AJ Bell, which has 46 billion pounds in assets under administration, trades on the London Stock Exchange on Friday after an initial public offering which valued it at more than 600 million pounds.

7 Dec 03:00 ET / 08:00 GMT

MEXICO-ECONOMY/INFLATION

Mexico-Inflation Final

7 Dec 09:00 ET / 14:00 GMT

DANSKE BANK-MONEYLAUNDERING/

Danske Bank to hold extraordinary general meeting to elect new chairman

A.P. Moller Holding, which controls about 21 percent of the share capital in Danske Bank, has ousted its chairman Ole Andersen after a money laundering scandal and has nominated Karsten Dybvad, who currently heads the Confederation of Danish Industry, to replace him.

7 Dec 09:00 ET / 14:00 GMT

USA-FED/BULLARD

St. Louis Fed President Bullard talks on monetary policy

Ahead of the Fed's meeting on Dec. 18 Bullard updates his views on policy in light of recent market turbulence.

7 Dec 01:00 ET / 06:00 GMT

GE-POWER/ (PIX)

EXCLUSIVE-GE's push to fix power turbine problem goes global

GE's flagship turbines are being shut down for repairs and testing more frequently than those made by Siemens AG and Mitsubishi Hitachi Power Systems, according to new data from utilities, other documents reviewed by Reuters and more than 20 interviews with plant operators and industry experts.

7 Dec 01:00 ET / 06:00 GMT

ARTS / CULTURE / ENTERTAINMENT

AWARDS-GRAMMYS/NOMINATIONS (PIX) (TV)

Nominations announced for the Grammy Awards

Nominations are announced for the Grammy Awards, the highest honors in music. The ceremony will be held Feb 10 in Los Angeles

7 Dec 08:30 ET / 13:30 GMT

(This story has not been edited by Devdiscourse staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)


add banner

LEAVE COMMENT