Devdiscourse
Development News Edition
Give Feedback
write for Us

REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 6 a.m. GMT/2 p.m. SGT


Reuters
Updated: 14-12-2018 11:32 IST
The U.S. Senate delivered a rare double rebuke to President Donald Trump on Saudi Arabia on Thursday, voting to end U.S. military support for the war in Yemen and blame the Saudi crown prince for the murder of journalist Jamal Khashoggi.

FRANCE-SECURITY/

Main suspect in Strasbourg attack killed in gun battle with police: officials

STRASBOURG/PARIS (Reuters) - The suspected gunman who killed three people at a Christmas market in the French city of Strasbourg was shot dead on Thursday in a brief gun battle with police after being on the run for 48 hours, police sources said.

U.S.

USA-BOMB-THREATS/

Bitcoin bomb threats sweep U.S., Canada, but lack credibility

WASHINGTON (Reuters) - A rash of bomb threats were emailed on Thursday to hundreds of businesses, public offices and schools across the United States and Canada demanding payment in cryptocurrency, but none of the threats appeared credible, law enforcement officials said.

USA-TRUMP-HEALTHCARE/

U.S. appeals court narrows order on Trump birth control rules

SAN FRANCISCO (Reuters) - A federal appeals court on Thursday narrowed an order that had blocked President Donald Trump’s administration from enforcing new rules that undermine an Obamacare requirement for employers to provide insurance that covers women’s birth control.

BUSINESS

USA-ECONOMY-POLL/

U.S. recession risks jump, Fed rate hike expectations slump: Reuters poll

BENGALURU (Reuters) - The risk of a U.S. recession in the next two years has risen to 40 percent, according to a Reuters poll of economists who also found a significant shift in expectations toward fewer Federal Reserve interest rate rises next year.

USA-ECONOMY-BUDGET/

U.S. government posts $205 billion deficit in November

WASHINGTON (Reuters) - The U.S. federal government ran a $205 billion deficit in November, according to data released on Thursday by the Treasury Department.

ENTERTAINMENT

PEOPLE-KEITH-RICHARDS/

Rolling Stones' Keith Richards (almost) quits drinking

LOS ANGELES (Reuters) - Keith Richards, the hard-partying lead guitarist of the Rolling Stones, has quit drinking - almost - saying he “just got fed up with it.”

MUSIC-HALLOFFAME/

Janet Jackson gets Rock Hall of Fame place on Brit-heavy list

LOS ANGELES (Reuters) - Janet Jackson finally won her place in the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame on Thursday when the pop singer was named as one of seven music acts to be getting a place in music history.

SPORTS

INSFOOTBALL-NFL-NOTEBOOK/

NFL notebook: Wentz reportedly fractured vertebra

Philadelphia Eagles quarterback Carson Wentz has a fractured vertebra in his back that might keep him out of Sunday’s game, according to multiple reports.

BASEBALL-MLB-SEA-CLE-ENCARNACION-SANT/

Encarnacion traded to Mariners for Santana in three-team deal

The Cleveland Indians on Thursday traded slugger Edwin Encarnacion to the Seattle Mariners for Carlos Santana as part of a three-team deal that also includes the Tampa Bay Rays, the Indians confirmed.

UPCOMING

POLITICS / INTERNATIONAL AFFAIRS

CHINA-ANNIVERSARY/REFORM-WORKERS (PIX) (TV)

INSIGHT - The price of progress in China: ‘We traded our lives for development’

China has shifted the way it measures development from growth-at-all-costs to a view that takes into consideration things like pollution and social stability. But as it marks another milestone in “Reform and Opening," the spectre of the old model remains in the 6 million who have died or suffer from silicosis after working on construction sites without proper safety equipment.

14 Dec 01:00 ET / 06:00 GMT

KOSOVO-ARMY/ (PIX) (TV)

Kosovo parliament votes on the formation of national army

Kosovo parliament votes on whether to form national army despite objections from Serbia and concerns expressed by NATO's Secretary General Jens Stoltenberg who said the move was "ill-timed."

14 Dec 03:00 ET / 08:00 GMT

USA-ELECTION/CALIFORNIA

California could have seismic impact on 2020 Democratic race

California is determined to force 2020 Democratic presidential hopefuls to make some hard choices.

14 Dec 06:00 ET / 11:00 GMT

BUSINESS / ECONOMICS

INDIA-ECONOMY/INFLATION (PIX)

WPI inflation data for November

India will release monthly WPI inflation data on Dec 14, around 12.00 noon. (India Local Times)

14 Dec 01:30 ET / 06:30 GMT

USA-CRUDE/EXPORTS-CARLYLE GROUP

Carlyle Group names project manager for U.S. crude export terminal

Lone Star Ports will lead development and operate a Carlyle Group-backed crude export terminal in Corpus Christi, Texas, that can fully load supertankers, according to a statement on Thursday by the project leaders.

14 Dec 10:00 ET / 15:00 GMT

RELIGION

UKRAINE-CHURCH/ (PIX) (TV)

In split with Russia, Ukrainian Orthodox priests set to establish new Church

Last week, four officers from Ukraine's security services and police raided a cathedral in the town of Korosten, suspecting its clergy of spreading hate speech. The move has raised hackles just as Ukraine is on the cusp of setting up a new independent church.

14 Dec 02:00 ET / 07:00 GMT

CONFLICTS / WAR / PEACE

MIDEAST-CRISIS/SYRIA-TURKEY

Turkey's Erdogan to make speeches at OIC events, may comment on Syria

Turkish President Tayyip Erdogan is set to speak at Organization of Islamic Cooperation (OIC) events in Istanbul and may elaborate on his comment on Wednesday that Turkey would launch a military offensive in a few days against the YPG militia east of the Euphrates river in northeast Syria.

14 Dec 02:30 ET / 07:30 GMT

YEMEN-SECURITY/UN

U.N. Security Council to be briefed by U.N. Yemen envoy on latest developments following peace talks in Sweden

U.N. Security Council to be briefed by U.N. Yemen envoy Martin Griffiths on latest developments following peace talks in Sweden and U.N. aid chief Mark Lowcock.

14 Dec 10:00 ET / 15:00 GMT

ARTS / CULTURE / ENTERTAINMENT

FILM-THEFAVOURITE/COSTUMES (TV)

Costumes from 'The Favourite' displayed at Kensington Palace

An exhibition featuring costumes designed by Academy Award and BAFTA winner Sandy Powell for the movie 'The Favourite' opens to the public at Kensington Palace.

14 Dec 04:00 ET / 09:00 GMT

(This story has not been edited by Devdiscourse staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)


POST A COMMENT