Devdiscourse
Development News Edition
Give Feedback
write for Us

REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 6 a.m. GMT/2 p.m. SGT


Reuters
Updated: 19-12-2018 11:34 IST
The United States is committing billions of dollars toward development in Central America and Mexico as part of a plan to strengthen economies in the region and curb illegal immigration, the U.S. and Mexican governments said on Tuesday.

BRITAIN-EU-DEVOLVED/

UK PM May urges devolved nations to back her Brexit deal

LONDON (Reuters) - British Prime Minister Theresa May will urge the devolved nations of Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland to “listen to business” at a meeting on Wednesday and back her Brexit deal, which envisages continuing close ties with the EU.

U.S.

USA-CONGRESS-PRISONS/

Senate easily approves criminal justice legislation

WASHINGTON (Reuters) - The U.S. Senate on Tuesday overwhelmingly passed legislation long in the making and backed by President Donald Trump to reduce sentences for certain prison inmates.

MUSK-TUNNEL/

Elon Musk's Boring Company set to unveil its first Los Angeles-area tunnel

LOS ANGELES (Reuters) - The Boring Company, Elon Musk’s underground transit venture, planned an unveiling of its first tunnel on Tuesday, two years after the billionaire entrepreneur complained about Los Angeles traffic and vowed to “just start digging” as a remedy.

BUSINESS

ASIA-BUSINESSSENTIMENT/

Asian business confidence wallows near three-year low on trade worries: Thomson Reuters/INSEAD

SINGAPORE (Reuters) - A very cautious optimism remains among Asian companies in the fourth quarter as they wait to see whether there will be any breakthrough in a trade dispute between the United States and China, a Thomson Reuters/INSEAD survey showed.

USA-TRADE-CHINA-SOYBEANS/

China embarks on second round of soy buying post Trump-Xi truce

CHICAGO (Reuters) - Chinese importers returned to the U.S. soy market on Tuesday for their second round of purchases since the two countries agreed to a truce in their trade war, four traders with knowledge of the deals and the U.S. Soybean Export Council said.

ENTERTAINMENT

PEOPLE-PENNY-MARSHALL/

Penny Marshall, 'Big' director and TV's 'Laverne,' dead at 75

WASHINGTON (Reuters) - Penny Marshall, who played an endearingly graceless character with a thick Bronx accent in U.S. television’s “Laverne & Shirley” before becoming a pioneering film director with hits including “Big” and “A League of Their Own,” has died at 75, her publicist said on Tuesday.

FILM-MARWEN/

Steve Carell tells tale of hope from trauma in 'Welcome to Marwen'

LONDON (Reuters) - Actor Steve Carell takes on the real-life story of a man recovering from a brutal attack in his latest Hollywood offering “Welcome to Marwen”, as he uses art as a form of therapy.

SPORTS

BASKETBALL-NBA-JEREBKO/

NBA: Warrior Jerebko aims to rock the Jazz once more

STOCKHOLM (Reuters) - Jonas Jerebko’s move to NBA title favorites the Golden State Warriors is paying off handsomely for the Swedish power forward who suffered the indignity of being cut by the Utah Jazz.

FOOTBALL-NFL-ARI-JOHNSON/

Cardinals release CBs Johnson, Rollins

The Arizona Cardinals released cornerbacks Dontae Johnson and Quinten Rollins and linebacker Jonathan Anderson, the team announced Tuesday.

UPCOMING

ARTS / CULTURE / ENTERTAINMENT

PARIS-LIGHTS/ENDANGERED SPECIES (PIX) (TV)

Paris' iconic Jardin des Plantes comes alive with endangered species light festival

Paris's iconic Jardin des Plantes offers magical night walks to draw attention to the need to preserve endangered species

19 Dec 04:30 ET / 09:30 GMT

MUSIC-PAULMCCARTNEY/EMMASTONE (PIX) (TV)

Paul McCartney and Emma Stone release music video

Paul McCartney stars alongside Emma Stone in new pop video 'Who Cares'.

19 Dec 06:00 ET / 11:00 GMT

BRITAIN-EU/BALLAD (TV)

EU boy band to Britain: the love isn't over, "come back to us"

With Brexit rapidly approaching, a pro-European boy band launches its debut single, a ballad to the British people pleading "come back to us" because the love is not over.

19 Dec 11:00 ET / 16:00 GMT

CRIME / LAW / JUSTICE

DANSKE BANK-MONEYLAUNDERING/

Authorities' handling of Danske Bank money laundering case in focus at parliament committee meeting

Three Danish ministers will be quizzed by other politicians about how the government will react to criticism from a committee in the European Parliament of the Danish authorities' handling of the Danske Bank money laundering case. Also questions about the impact of the case on Denmark's image.

19 Dec 05:00 ET / 10:00 GMT

POLITICS / INTERNATIONAL AFFAIRS

EU-POLAND

Government to approve assumptions for the 2019 foreign policy

19 Dec 05:00 ET / 10:00 GMT

MIGRANTS-UN/

U.N. General Assembly due to adopt global migration pact

19 Dec 10:00 ET / 15:00 GMT

FRANCE-EU/

French Finance Minister Le Maire holds news conference after meetings with EU Commission

French Finance Minister Bruno Le Maire holds a news conference in Brussels after meetings with EU economic commissioners Pierre Moscovici and Valdis Dombrovskis and competition commissioner Margrethe Vestager

19 Dec 10:30 ET / 15:30 GMT

(PIX) (TV) (GRAPHIC)

FRANCE - BTF non-competitive bids

19 Dec 05:00 ET / 10:00 GMT

CONFLICTS / WAR / PEACE

NIGERIA-SECURITY/ (PIX) (TV) (GRAPHIC)

Nomads and farmers in fight for Nigeria's heartland

A massive expansion of farming in Nigeria over four decades has cut access to grazing land for nomadic herders, fuelling a long-running turf war that has cost thousands of lives, a Reuters analysis of land use data shows.

19 Dec 05:30 ET / 10:30 GMT

BUSINESS / ECONOMICS

ITALY-BUDGET/CONTE

Italian prime minister addresses parliament over EU budget row

Italian Prime Minister Giuseppe Conte is due to address the upper house of parliament about the government's 2019 budget, amid reports that Rome has finally secured a compromise deal with Brussels allowing for the implementation of the package.

19 Dec 06:00 ET / 11:00 GMT

GLOBAL-RETAIL/OUTLOOK

Shaky global consumer spending casts shadow over strong U.S. holiday season

Global growth fears have started ratting investors as concerns over a worldwide slowdown in consumer confidence overshadows robust retail spending and a strong holiday shopping season in the U.S.

19 Dec 06:00 ET / 11:00 GMT

ITALY-EU/BUDGET

EU Commission discusses next steps over Italy budget at weekly meeting

The European Commission discusses at its weekly meeting the next steps of a dispute with Rome over Italy's 2019 budget

19 Dec 06:00 ET / 11:00 GMT

UBER-BRITAIN/

High Court decision on Uber UK worker rights case

The High Court will give its verdict on whether Uber British drivers should be classified as self-employed or workers. The case follows an appeal by Uber against an earlier decision which said two drivers were workers, entitling them to rights such as the minimum wage. Whoever loses is likely to appeal the decision to the Supreme Court.

19 Dec 10:30 ET / 15:30 GMT

OIL-OPEC/SHALE (GRAPHIC)

GRAPHIC-Growth of U.S. output during 'shale era' to offset OPEC cuts

Surging U.S. crude production will offset OPEC’s output cuts aimed at rebalancing the market as soon as the end of next year - undercutting the group's efforts as shale producers ramp up output regardless of the price environment.

19 Dec 11:00 ET / 16:00 GMT

SCIENCE / TECHNOLOGY

SPACE-SPACEX/LAUNCH (PIX) (TV)

SpaceX launches U.S. military spy satellite as its first national security mission

Elon Musk's SpaceX is poised on Wednesday to launch a new spy satellite for the U.S. military, in the space transportation firm's first national security mission for the United States.

19 Dec 09:07 ET / 14:07 GMT

(This story has not been edited by Devdiscourse staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)


POST A COMMENT