Reacting to a New York Times report that on Tuesday said the social networking platform allowed large technology companies and popular apps access to its users' information, Facebook said "none of these partnerships or features gave companies access to information without people's permission, nor did they violate our 2012 settlement with the FTC (Federal Trade Commission)".
In a blog post, Konstantinos Papamiltiadis, Director of Developer Platforms and Programmes, said: "You would have had to sign in with your Facebook account to use the integration offered by Apple, Amazon or another integration partner".
"Yes. But people had to explicitly sign in to Facebook first to use a partner's messaging feature.
"Take Spotify for example. After signing in to your Facebook account in Spotify's desktop app, you could then send and receive messages without ever leaving the app.
With instant personalisation, people could link their Facebook account with other services like Rotten Tomatoes or Yelp to see public information their friends shared.
"Instant personalisation only involved public information, and we have no evidence that data was used or misused after the programme was shut down.
"Still, we recognise that we've needed tighter management over how partners and developers can access information using our APIs. We're already in the process of reviewing all our APIs and the partners who can access them," explained the company.
"Our integration partners had to get authorisation from people. You would have had to sign in with your Facebook account to use the integration offered by Apple, Amazon or another integration partner," said the social networking platform.
(This story has not been edited by Devdiscourse staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)