Left Menu
Development News Edition

REUTERS SPORTS SCHEDULE AT 7:30 p.m. GMT/2:30 p.m. ET


Here are the top sports stories and upcoming coverage plans for Reuters text service as of 7:30 p.m. GMT/2:30 p.m. ET. For a full schedule of news and events, go to our editorial calendar on Reuters Connect https://www.reutersconnect.com/planning or on Media Express http://mediaexpress.reuters.com/planning-tools/calendar.

TOP STORIES

SPORTS

TENNIS-SHENZHEN/

Sharapova suffers injury blow ahead of Australian Open

Former world number one Maria Sharapova’s Australian Open preparations suffered a blow after a thigh injury forced her to retire from the Shenzhen Open quarter-final clash against Aryna Sabalenka on Friday.

ICEHOCKEY-NHL-VAN-PETTERSSON/

Canucks' Pettersson unlikely to play Saturday

Vancouver Canucks rookie center Elias Pettersson will travel with the team for a Saturday game against the Toronto Maple Leafs, even though he is unlikely to play after suffering an apparent leg injury on Thursday night.

BASEBALL-MLB-TB-STADIUM/

Rays announce plan to reduce seating

The Tampa Bay Rays are eliminating approximately 10,000 upper deck seats at Tropicana Field next season, making it by far the lowest-seating capacity of any Major League Baseball stadium.

UPCOMING

CRICKET

CRICKET-TEST-AUS-IND/ (PIX) (TV)

Cricket - Australia v India, fourth test, Sydney

India take control of the fourth and final test against Australia after racking up 622-7, but Aussie captain Tim Paine can still see the funny side, answering a journalist's mobile phone in the post-play press conference.

5 Jan, 18:30 ET / 23:30 GMT

CRICKET-TEST-ZAF-PAK/ (PIX)

Cricket - South Africa v Pakistan - second test

South Africa will be looking to extend an already substantial 205-run lead as they resume their first innings on 382-6 after bowling Pakistan out for 177.

5 Jan, 03:30 ET / 08:30 GMT

SOCCER

SOCCER-ENGLAND-TRR-TOT/REPORT

Soccer - England - FA Cup Third Round - Tranmere Rovers v Tottenham Hotspur

Tranmere face Spurs in the FA Cup 3rd round

4 Jan, 14:45 ET / 19:45 GMT

SOCCER-ENGLAND-CUP/

Soccer-Round up of the day's FA Cup action

Wrap up of the day's FA Cup action

5 Jan, 09:00 ET / 14:00 GMT

SOCCER-SPAIN-ALV-VAL/REPORT

Soccer - Spain - La Liga - Alaves v Valencia

Alaves, who are still unbeaten at home, host troubled Valencia in La Liga.

5 Jan, 10:15 ET / 15:15 GMT

TENNIS

TENNIS-DOHA/ (PIX)

Tennis - ATP 250 - Qatar Open

Doha hosts the Qatar Open - an ATP World Tour 250 tournament.

5 Jan

TENNIS-BRISBANE/ (PIX) (TV)

Tennis - ATP 250 - Brisbane International

Action from the Brisbane International semi-finals.

5 Jan, 20:00 ET / 01:00 GMT

TENNIS-HOPMAN/ (TV)

Tennis - Hopman Cup

The final of the Hopman Cup.

5 Jan, 03:00 ET / 08:00 GMT

TENNIS-BRISBANE/ (PIX)

Tennis - WTA Premier - Brisbane International

Action from the Brisbane International semi-finals.

5 Jan, 20:00 ET / 01:00 GMT

TENNIS-ATP-ROUNDUP

ATP roundup- Field Level Media

Results from men’s professional tennis action Friday.

4 Jan, 22:00 ET/ 5 Jan 03:00 GMT

TENNIS-WTA-ROUNDUP

WTA roundup- Field Level Media

Results from women’s professional tennis action Friday

4 Jan, 22:00 ET/ 03:00 GMT

GOLF

GOLF-SENTRY/

Golf - PGA Tour: Sentry Tournament of Champions third round

Dustin Johnson is defending champion at Kapalua on the Hawaian island of Maui. The event is restricted only to 2018 winners on the PGA Tour.

5 Jan

GOLF-PGA-TOC

Tway overcomes illness to lead Tournament of Champions- Field Level Media

Kevin Tway shot a 7-under-par round of 66 on Thursday to build a one-shot lead after the first round of the Tournament of Champions in Maui, Hawaii.

Jan 4

NATIONAL BASKETBALL ASSOCIATION

BASKETBALL-NBA-NOTEBOOK

NBA notebook- Field Level Media

News and notes from around the NBA

4 Jan, 20:00 ET/ 5 Jan 01:00 GMT

BASKETBALL-NBA-ROUNDUP

NBA roundup-Field Level Media

Summary recaps of Friday’s NBA games,

Jan 4, 22:00 ET/ 03:00 GMT

NATIONAL FOOTBALL LEAGUE

FOOTBALL-NFL-NOTEBOOK

NFL notebook- Field Level Media

News and notes from around the NFL

Jan 4, 19:30 ET/ 5 Jan 00:30 GMT

NATIONAL HOCKEY LEAGUE

ICEHOCKEY-NHL-NOTEBOOK

NHL notebook- Field Level Media

News and notes from around the NHL

4 Jan, 20:00 ET/ 5 Jan 01:00 GMT

(This story has not been edited by Devdiscourse staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

Download The Devdiscourse News App for Latest News.


TRENDING

OPINION/BLOG/INTERVIEW

Future of Food: Technology fostering the road to global food security

Technological innovation can help address most of the pressing issues facing the world today including food security by enhancing productivity, improving financial services, managing resources, addressing environmental concerns, etc....

Conspiracy theories on COVID 19: Legislators, Scientists, and Journalists all joined the Caravan

Conspiracy theories are not new for virus epidemics. There have been conspiracy theories on HIV-AIDS, Polio Vaccines, Ebola Virus, and several other diseases as well. However, what makes the 2019 Novel Coronavirus different from others is ...

Now it’s a war, Uganda deploys army to combat locust swarms

Its for the first time after 1986, the locust swarms have attacked Uganda twice in a season. With the increasing number of countries of Africa under attack by locust swarms, the problem seems to have taken a regional paradigm. Its very diff...

Top 10 Fake News, Myths and Realities on 2019 Novel Coronavirus COVID 19

With nearly 1500 deaths by January 14 and around 65,000 infections in China, the Novel Coronavirus 2019 has become one of the worst health epidemics of the 21st Century. However, 8,573 people have been cured but the rumor mongers are a...

Videos

Latest News

Burrow 'very excited' about chance to go No. 1

INDIANAPOLIS -- LSU quarterback Joe Burrow hopes to be on to Cincinnati. The presumptive No. 1 overall pick in the 2020 NFL Draft, Burrow is aiming for the trifecta as Heisman Trophy winner, national champion and first pick in the draft in ...

Cycling-Blow to British Cycling as sponsor HSBC pulls out

British Cycling is beginning the search for a new sponsor after confirming on Tuesday that HSBC is pulling out only four years into an eight-year, multimillion pound deal. A source familiar with the matter told Reuters earlier on Tuesday th...

Indo-UK joint military exercise concludes

The 13-day-long Indo-UK joint military exercise -- Ajeya Warrior -- Concluded on Tuesday in Salisbury Plains of the United kingdom, a defence spokesman said here on Tuesday. The 5th edition of the joint military exercise had commenced at th...

3 borders adjoining northeast Delhi sealed, liquor shops closed in Ghaziabad

Amid violence over the amended citizenship law, the district administration here has sealed three borders adjoining northeast Delhi and shut down bars and pubs in Ghaziabad, officials said on Tuesday. District Magistrate Ajay Shankar Pandey...

Give Feedback