International Development News
Development News Edition
Give Feedback

Norris Trophy in Victor Hedman's hands, beats, Drew Doughty, PK Subban

The Winnipeg Jets' Connor Hellebuyck and the Lightning's Andrei Vasilevskiy were the other finalists.

Updated: 21-06-2018 07:54 IST
Norris Trophy in Victor Hedman's hands, beats, Drew Doughty, PK Subban

The Winnipeg Jets' Connor Hellebuyck and the Lightning's Andrei Vasilevskiy were the other finalists. (Image Credit: Twitter)

Victor Hedman claimed the Norris Trophy, given annually to the league's top defenseman, at the NHL awards ceremony Wednesday night in Las Vegas, becoming the first winner of the honor in Tampa Bay Lightning history.

The selection comes a year after Hedman was a Norris finalist and made his first career All-Star appearance. The 27-year-old finished this season with 63 points (17 goals, 46 assists), fifth among NHL defensemen, and a career-best plus-32 rating.

Hedman beat out finalists Drew Doughty of the Los Angeles Kings and PK Subban of the Nashville Predators for the honor.

Claiming the Calder Trophy, awarded to the NHL's top rookie, was New York Islanders center Mathew Barzal, who finished 15th in the league with 85 points (22 goals, 63 assists).

The team's first-round pick in 2015, Barzal appeared in two games during the 2016-17 campaign before his official rookie season this past year. The 21-year-old beat out finalists Brock Boeser of the Vancouver Canucks and Clayton Keller of the Arizona Coyotes.

Edmonton Oilers center Connor McDavid claimed his second consecutive Ted Lindsay Award, given to the most outstanding player as voted on by his peers, beating out the Colorado Avalanche's Nathan MacKinnon and the New Jersey Devils' Taylor Hall. At age 21, McDavid is the youngest ever to win the award twice.

The 2016-17 MVP also claimed the Art Ross Trophy this year by leading the NHL in points (108 -- 41 goals, 67 assists) for the second consecutive season.

The Predators' Pekka Rinne earned his first Vezina Trophy as the league's top goaltender after finishing as a finalist on three previous occasions. He produced a league-high eight shutouts this season while going 42-13-4 with a 2.31 goals-against average and a .927 save percentage.

The Winnipeg Jets' Connor Hellebuyck and the Lightning's Andrei Vasilevskiy were the other finalists.

In one of the least surprising results, the Vegas Golden Knights' Gerard Gallant took the Jack Adams Award as the NHL's coach of the year. He led the Knights to 109 points, fifth best in the league, in their first-ever regular season before a run to the Stanley Cup Final, where they lost to the Washington Capitals.

Gallant, who was runner-up for the award in 2015-16 while with the Florida Panthers, claimed 102 of a possible 108 first-place votes, with the Avalanche's Jared Bednar and the Boston Bruins' Bruce Cassidy joining him as finalists.

Also garnering recognition for his job with the expansion Golden Knights was George McPhee, who was named the general manager of the year after assembling Vegas' deep roster through the expansion draft and several trades.

Among other award winners:

-The Kings' Anze Kopitar earned his second Selke Trophy in the last three seasons as the best defensive forward. Before receiving the honor in 2015-16, Kopitar had been a finalist in consecutive years. He finished this season with a plus-21 rating.

-Golden Knights forward William "Wild Bill" Karlsson won the Lady Byng Trophy as the "player adjudged to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability." He beat out finalists Aleksander Barkov of the Panthers and Ryan O'Reilly of the Sabres.

--Knights defenseman Deryk Engelland won the Mark Messier Leadership Award over fellow finalists Wayne Simmonds of the Philadelphia Flyers and Blake Wheeler of the Jets.

--Devils forward Brian Boyle won the Bill Masterton Trophy for perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication. He overcame a training camp diagnosis of a rare bone marrow cancer and his son's painful treatments for a jaw malformation to play 69 games, scoring 23 points (10 goals, 13 assists). The Panthers' Roberto Luongo and the Coyotes' Jordan Staal were also finalists.

--Canucks forwards Daniel and Henrik Sedin received the King Clancy Trophy for on- and off-ice leadership, along with humanitarian efforts. The identical twin brothers announced their retirement after 17 NHL seasons playing together in Vancouver earlier this year.

--Subban was announced as the cover athlete for EA SPORTS' "NHL 19" video game. Wayne Gretzky will also appear on the cover of the special Legends and Ultimate editions of the game

(This story has not been edited by Devdiscourse staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

COUNTRY : United States