International Development News
Development News Edition

REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 10 a.m. GMT/6 a.m. ET


REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 10 a.m. GMT/6 a.m. ET
Image Credit: Pixabay

Royal Dutch Shell still sees abundant opportunity to make money from oil and gas in coming decades even as investors and governments increase pressure on energy companies over climate change, its chief executive said.

SOUTHKOREA-HYUNDAI-MOTOR/ Hyundai Motor Group to invest $35 billion in future automotive tech

SEOUL - Hyundai Motor Group said on Tuesday that it plans to invest 41 trillion won ($34.65 billion) in mobility technology and strategic investments by 2025, as South Korea's top automaker accelerates its attempts to catch up in the self-driving car race. ENTERTAINMENT

FASHION-TOKYO/ Kimono runway show lights up Tokyo fashion week

TOKYO - Rock met kimonos as Tokyo kicked off its fashion week with a dazzling runway show that put a modern twist on the traditional Japanese garment. SPORTS

SOCCER-EURO-UKR-POR/RONALDO 'I don't look for records, they look for me': Ronaldo after 700th goal

Cristiano Ronaldo has lost count of the number of records he has broken, Portugal forward said after scoring the 700th goal of his career during a 2-1 defeat to Ukraine on Monday. RUGBY-UNION-WORLDCUP/TACKLE

No change to high tackle hard line despite rash of red - World Rugby TOKYO, Oct 15 - World Rugby chief Brett Gosper said there would be no change to the hard line on high tackles at the Rugby World Cup and that the number of red cards would decrease once players changed their behaviour.

UPCOMING CONFLICTS / WAR / PEACE

BOSNIA-WAR/PLAY (PIX) Bosnians born out of wartime rape use art to get visible

A theatre play staged in Sarajevo gives voice to Bosnians who were born out of rape during wartime. These children, now adults, are trying to become visible through art,using film, photo exhibition and a play to talk about their status in society. 15 Oct 06:00 ET / 10:00 GMT

POLITICS / INTERNATIONAL AFFAIRS USA-TRUMP/WHISTLEBLOWER-BATTLEGROUND (PIX)

America divided: Neighbors turn enemies over Trump in swing-vote Michigan suburbs At first glance, Cavell Street in Livonia, Michigan, looks tranquil enough - until the subject of the Democratic-led impeachment probe of President Donald Trump comes up.

15 Oct 06:00 ET / 10:00 GMT LATVIA-BELGIUM/

Prime Minister of Belgium Charles Michel to visit Latvia Prime Minister of Belgium Charles Michel visits Latvia and meets with the Latvian Prime Minister Krisjanis Karins to discuss bilateral questions and the current international affairs, EU and NATO matters.

15 Oct 07:15 ET / 11:15 GMT HONGKONG-PROTESTS/CARRIE LAM (PIX) (TV)

Hong Kong leader set to deliver policy address Hong Kong's embattled leader Carrie Lam is set to give her third policy address at the Legislative Council, Immediately after her speech, Secretary for Security John Lee Ka-chiu will make an announcement to officially withdraw the extradition bill, which has sparked nearly four mouths of sometimes violent protests in the Chinese-ruled city.

16 Oct 23:00 ET / 03:00 GMT USA-ITALY/ (PIX) (TV)

Trump hosts Italian President Mattarella at White House U.S. President Donald Trump hosts Italian President Sergio Mattarella at White House..

Oct 16 USA-ELECTION/DEBATE

After the Ohio debate, candidates return to the trail Candidates return to campaigning on Oct. 16 after their fourth debate of the 2020 presidential cycle.

Oct 16 BUSINESS / ECONOMICS

HIKVISION-PENSIONS/ US pension funds took positions in blacklisted Chinese surveillance company

Some of the biggest public pensions funds in the United States have invested in one of the world's largest purveyors of video surveillance systems that the U.S. government claims are used in widescale repression of the Muslim population of western China. 15 Oct 06:00 ET / 10:00 GMT

SERBIA-PROTESTS/TAXIS (TV) Taxi drivers block traffic in Belgrade in protest against rival ride-sharing serviceg service

Taxi drivers plan to block traffic in the center of the Serbian capital Belgrade to protest the impact of ride-sharing service CarGo on their business. Protest is expected to bring Belgrade to a virtual standstill. 15 Oct 08:00 ET / 12:00 GMT

UNITEDHEALTH-RESULTS/ UnitedHealth Group reports third-quarter results

UnitedHealth Group is set to report third-quarter earnings on Tuesday, when investors will watch for signs of growth across its businesses, as political uncertainty continues to weigh on health insurer stocks. The company is expected to discuss its forecast for the year and provide updates on strategy going forward. 15 Oct 08:30 ET / 12:30 GMT

JOHNSON&JOHNSON-RESULTS/ Johnson & Johnson to post third quarter results

Johnson & Johnson is expected to post a drop in third quarter profit due to increasing competition for its drugs such as rheumatoid arthritis therapy Remicade. Investors will look out for updates on the adoption of its new depression treatment Spravato and the status of various lawsuits for products including its talc-related offerings and opioids. 15 Oct 08:30 ET / 12:30 GMT

USA-FED/BOSTIC Atlanta Federal Reserve Bank President Bostic speaks on ecosystem community development

Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta President Rafael Bostic participates in moderated discussion, "'Lean on Me,' the Ecosystem of Community Development in the Southeast", before the Purpose Built Communities Conference, in Atlanta, Ga. 15 Oct 09:00 ET / 13:00 GMT

RUSSIA-OFZ/AUCTION Russia's FinMin announces OFZ bond auctions

Russia's Finance Ministry announces OFZ bond auctions for Wednesday 15 Oct 12:00 ET / 16:00 GMT

USA-FED/GEORGE Kansas City Federal Reserve Bank President George speaks at payments symposium

Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City President Esther George speaks on the U.S. payments system before a payments symposium hosted by the Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago, in Chicago, Ill. 15 Oct 12:45 ET / 16:45 GMT

ALPHABET-GOOGLE/HARDWARE (TV) Google expected to show off new phone

Google hosts its annual hardware showcase and is expected to show off a new version of its phone, Pixel 4. 15 Oct 13:00 ET / 17:00 GMT

USA-FED/DALY San Francisco Federal Reserve Bank President Daly speaks in Los Angeles

Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco President Mary Daly speaks before the Los Angeles World Affairs Council and Town Hall, in Los Angeles, Calif. 15 Oct 15:30 ET / 19:30 GMT

VILMORIN-SEEDS/ French seed maker Vilmorin press conference after FY results

Vilmorin is one of the world's largest suppliers of seeds for field crops and vegetables. Press conference follows full-year results statement the previous day. Focus on agricultural market trends and impact of trade tensions. Oct 16

SCIENCE / TECHNOLOGY SPACE-EXPLORATION/SPACESUITS (TV)

NASA showcases moon spacesuits NASA invites media to DC headquarters to unveil the newly designed spacesuits astronauts will wear on the moon in 2024.

15 Oct 14:00 ET / 18:00 GMT SPACE-EXPLORATION/HABITATS (PIX) (TV)

NASA eyeing Inflatable space habitats for Moon, Mars and beyond When astronauts orbit the moon, or live on its surface in the decade ahead, they will be doing so inside a multi-floor inflatable habitat. At least two companies are competing for NASA contracts to build them. A Reuters multimedia team visits the plant of one of them, Bigelow in Las Vegas, for a peek at what the new space habitats for the Moon, Mars and beyond are looking like.

15 Oct 14:00 ET / 18:00 GMT SPORTS

SOCCER-EURO-SWI-IRL/REPORT (PIX) Soccer - Euro 2020 Qualifier - Switzerland v Ireland

Switzerland play Ireland in Group D of the Euro 2020 qualifiers. 15 Oct 14:45 ET / 18:45 GMT

ARTS / CULTURE / ENTERTAINMENT FILM-MALEFICENT MISTRESS OF EVIL (TV)

"It was exciting to play those scenes together": Angelina Jolie, Michelle Pfeiffer and Elle Fanning on filming Maleficent: Mistress of Evil Hollywood actresses Angelina Jolie, Michelle Pfeiffer and Elle Fanning talk about making the film 'Maleficent: Mistress of Evil' together.

15 Oct 18:00 ET / 22:00 GMT JAPAN-EMPEROR/ENTHRONEMENT (PIX) (TV)

FACTBOX-Regalia and numbers of Japanese emperor's enthronement New Japanese Emperor Naruhito is set to be enthroned next week in a centuries-old ceremony attended by some 2,500 people, including heads of state and other dignitaries from nearly 200 countries. This Factbox story lays out some facts about the grand ceremony, and is accompanied by a TV edit on the enthronment ceremonies of previous Emperors Akihito and Hirohito.

Oct 16 JAPAN-EMPEROR/PROFILE (PIX) (TV)

Profile of new Japan Emperor Naruhito ahead of his enthronement Profile of new Japan Emperor Naruhito ahead of his enthronement on Oct. 22.

Oct 16 BRITAIN-ROYALS/PAKISTAN (PIX) (TV)

Britain's Prince William and wife Kate visit Pakistan Britain's Prince William and wife Kate visit Pakistan from October 14-18 in a trip that will take them to Islamabad, Lahore and parts of the country's north, and will focus on climate change, access to education and security.

Oct 16

Also Read: Hyundai Motor Group to invest $35 billion in future automotive tech

(This story has not been edited by Devdiscourse staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)


TRENDING

OPINION/BLOG/INTERVIEW

No lessons learnt, Delhi again facing haze and hazardous Air pollution

While the parliamentarians in the Rajya Sabha Upper House were engaged in allegations and counter allegations on Thursday, the pollution was rising outside which soon took the form of a haze....

How to turn the aging population productive, ADB shows the path

Mature and older workers are not necessarily unproductive, and they may perform continuously well in certain types of work, but their productivity in others may naturally decline. In addition, the scarcity of young-to-middle-aged workers co...

How music can help expectant mothers during pregnancy

Music provides pleasant ambience for all but its more important for expectant mothers as besides ensuring pleasant environment for them it also directly and indirectly influences the unborn babies. There are various scientific findings to c...

EdTech: A technical approach to flexible and cost-effective education

Its hight time for the world to go for innovative approaches like e-learning over traditional learning methods that need physical infrastructure, long-term planning, and huge investment. ...

Videos

Latest News

UPDATE 1-Soccer-Scotland v Israel, Slovakia v Ireland in Euro 2020 playoff semis

Scotland will face Israel in the Euro 2020 playoff semi-finals at Hampden Park, while Ireland visits Slovakia following a draw on Friday at UEFA headquarters in Switzerland.Steve Clarkes Scotland were assured a home match because they toppe...

UPDATE 1-Bitcoin plummets to a six-month low on China crackdown

Bitcoin slumped to a six-month low on Friday after Chinas central bank launched a fresh crackdown on cryptocurrencies, warning of the risks entailed in issuing or trading them. Bitcoin, the worlds biggest cryptocurrency, fell 9 to 6,929, it...

West Bengal conducted least no. of activities during nutrition month in Sept: Smriti Irani

West Bengal conducted the least number of activities under a central government scheme to fight malnutrition during the nutrition month in September this year, Union Women and Child Development Minister Smriti Irani said on Friday.Of the to...

Scoreboard: India Vs Bangladesh Day/Night Test

Scoreboard at tea on the opening day of the DayNight Test between India and Bangladesh here on Friday.Bangladesh 1st Innings Shadman Islam c Saha b Umesh 29Imrul Kayes lbw b Ishant 4 Mominul Haque Rohit b Umesh 0Mohammad Mithun b Umesh 0 Mu...

Give Feedback