Devdiscourse
Development News Edition
Give Feedback
write for Us

REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 6 a.m. GMT/1 a.m. ET


Reuters
Updated: 05-02-2019 11:30 IST
REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 6 a.m. GMT/1 a.m. ET

North Korea is working to ensure its nuclear and ballistic missile capabilities cannot be destroyed by military strikes, U.N. monitors said ahead of a meeting between U.S. and North Korean officials to prepare a second denuclearization summit.

VENEZUELA-POLITICS/ EU nations back Venezuela's Guaido as Maduro faces rising pressure

MADRID/OTTAWA (Reuters) - Major European nations joined the United States on Monday in recognizing opposition leader Juan Guaido as Venezuela’s legitimate head of state, while members of a separate regional bloc kept up the pressure on socialist President Nicolas Maduro. U.S.

VIRGINIA-POLITICS/ Virginia governor meets with cabinet amid outcry over racist photo

(Reuters) - Virginia Governor Ralph Northam met with his Cabinet on Monday amid a chorus of calls from fellow Democrats to resign over last week’s revelation of a racist photo on his 1984 medical school yearbook page. USA-MEXICO-EL-CHAPO/

'El Chapo' jury ends first day of deliberations without verdict (Reuters) - Jurors in the U.S. trial of Joaquin “El Chapo” Guzman, accused of running one of the world’s most infamous drug cartels, ended their first day of deliberations in Brooklyn federal court on Monday without reaching a verdict.

BUSINESS GM-LAYOFFS/

GM cutting 4,000 workers in latest round of restructuring WASHINGTON (Reuters) - General Motors Co on Monday said it was starting to hand pink slips to about 4,000 salaried workers in the latest round of a restructuring announced in late November that will ultimately shrink its white-collar workforce in North America by 15 percent out of 54,000.

AUSTRALIA-ECONOMY/ Australia central bank keeps the faith as shoppers go missing, global economy slows

SYDNEY (Reuters) - Australia’s central bank stuck to its neutral stance on Tuesday but acknowledged downside risks to growth have increased both globally and at home as local data showed shoppers kept their wallets tightly shut during Christmas. ENTERTAINMENT

PEOPLE-21-SAVAGE/ Rapper 21 Savage being held unfairly, attorneys claim

LOS ANGELES (Reuters) - Attorneys for rapper 21 Savage, who was taken into custody in Atlanta on immigration charges over the weekend, said on Monday that he had been arrested based on incorrect information about his criminal record and should be released while awaiting court proceedings. AWARDS-OSCARS-NOMINEES-LUNCHEON/

Diversity feted as Oscar nominees gather for class photo, and lunch BEVERLY HILLS, Calif. (Reuters) - Pop singer Lady Gaga, Mexican director Alfonso Cuaron and African-American filmmaker Spike Lee were among scores of Oscar nominees who gathered for a group photo on Monday ahead of the Academy Awards ceremony in three weeks time, when only a handful will go home as winners.

SPORTS FOOTBALL-NFL-NEP-FILMSTUDY-SUPERBOWLL/

Film Study: How the Patriots finished the Rams The New England Patriots cracked the Los Angeles Rams’ defense in Super Bowl LIII by running the exact same play three times in a row.

ALPINE-WORLD/ Maybe I'll get lucky, says Vonn as final races loom

ARE, Sweden (Reuters) - U.S. ski great Lindsey Vonn prepared for the final speed races of her glittering career at the Alpine world championships on Monday, hoping to do her best and ‘get lucky’ in the end. UPCOMING

POLITICS / INTERNATIONAL AFFAIRS USA-TRUMP/ (PIX) (TV)

Overnight preview for Trump State of the Union address, which begins at 9 p.m. EST U.S. President Donald Trump delivers State of the Union address to joint session of Congress. Overnight story moves at 6 a.m. EST; speech scheduled to begin at 9 p.m. EST.

5 Feb 11:00 ET, 16:00 GMT USA-TRUMP/VIETNAM

Wife of American detained in Vietnam attends Trump speech to US Congress Helen Nguyen, the wife of a U.S. citizen who has been detained in his native Vietnam since last summer, will attend President Donald Trump's State of the Union speech to the U.S. Congress on Tuesday. Nguyen, a hospital nurse, is attending as a guest of a Congresswoman from California.

5 Feb 22:00 ET, 03:00 GMT EU-JUNCKER/ (PIX)

European Commission President Juncker delivers a keynote speech at the opening of the EU Industry Days 2019. European Commission President Jean-Claude Juncker delivers a keynote speech at the opening of the EU Industry Days 2019.

5 Feb 08:30 ET, 13:30 GMT VENEZUELA-POLITICS/ (PIX) (TV)

Venezuela's Guaido to speak with business leaders Venezuelan opposition leader and congressionally-designated president Juan Guaido will meet with business leaders to discuss economic development plans under a transition government.

5 Feb 20:00 ET, 05:00 GMT CRIME / LAW / JUSTICE

USA-MEXICO/EL CHAPO (PIX) (TV) Brooklyn jury deliberates on El Chapo's fate

Jurors in the U.S. trial of accused Mexican drug lord Joaquin "El Chapo" Guzman continue deliberations in his case for trafficking tons of cocaine, heroin, marijuana and methamphetamine into the United States over more than two decades. 5 Feb 14:30 ET, 19:30 GMT

BUSINESS / ECONOMICS BRITAIN-ECONOMY/AUTOS

UK new car registrations released, completing W. Europe data Britain's car industry body publishes monthly new sales figures. Demand has been hit by tougher emissions rules, a crackdown on diesel and uncertainty caused by Brexit with registrations forecast to fall in 2019, according to the Society of Motor Manufacturers and Traders.

5 Feb 09:00 ET, 14:00 GMT USA-DEBT/LEVERAGED (PIX) (GRAPHIC)

ANALYSIS-Era of loose money leaves trail of U.S. corporate debt junkies Many U.S. companies which gorged on cheap debt with forgiving terms over the last decade now find themselves shackled by it, spending much of their earnings paying off lenders rather than investing in their business or staff. The number of companies struggling with their debt obligations is hovering near record highs.

5 Feb 06:00 ET, 11:00 GMT WESTJET AIRLINES-RESULTS/ (PIX)

Canada's WestJet Airlines reports Q4 earnings Canada's WestJet Airlines is expected to report higher revenues for the last quarter of 2018, but it continues to face cost pressures and a competition board investigation over pricing by its new budget carrier Swoop.

5 Feb 15:00 ET, 20:00 GMT WALT DISNEY-RESULTS/

Walt Disney posts first quarter earnings Disney is expected to post a fall in its first quarter revenue on Tuesday, due to the lack of blockbuster movie releases in the quarter. Investors would be looking out for more details in its streaming service Disney+, set to launch later this year and any commentary regarding the divestiture of its regional sports channels needed to to win the U.S. Justice Department's approval for its purchase of Fox's film and TV assets.

5 Feb 21:00 ET, 02:00 GMT ARTS / CULTURE / ENTERTAINMENT

AWARDS-GRAMMYS/PREVIEW (PIX) (TV) Cardi B to lead girl power charge at Grammy Awards

Rappers Kendrick Lamar and Drake may lead the nominations, but Sunday's Grammy Awards looks set to be a showcase for girl power. Outspoken rapper Cardi B, whose music and personal life has dominated pop culture for the past two years, leads the charge on music's biggest night with a live performance and five Grammy nominations, including for album and record of the year. 5 Feb 11:00 ET, 16:00 GMT

SPORTS FOOTBALL-NFL-SUPERBOWL/PATRIOTS (PIX) (TV)

Football - NFL - Boston braces for a million-strong crowd at Patriots' victory parade More than 1 million people are expected to pack into the streets of Boston on Tuesday to celebrate the New England Patriots' record-tying sixth Super Bowl win.

5 Feb 16:00 ET, 21:00 GMT RELIGION

POPE-EMIRATES/ (PIX) (TV) Pope to visit United Arab Emirates

Pope Francis visits the UAE’s capital Abu Dhabi, the first trip by the head of the Catholic Church to the Arabian Peninsula. The Emirati crown prince’s invitation follows a series of steps – including by his close ally and Saudi counterpart Mohamed bin Salman – to show more openness towards Christianity and promote a more tolerant image of Islam. 5 Feb 05:00 ET, 10:00 GMT


POST A COMMENT