Devdiscourse
Development News Edition
Give Feedback
write for Us

REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 10 p.m. GMT/6 a.m. SGT


Reuters
Updated: 14-02-2019 03:29 IST
REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 10 p.m. GMT/6 a.m. SGT

Venezuela’s opposition-controlled congress named new temporary boards of directors to state-oil firm PDVSA on Wednesday, in an effort to wrest the OPEC nation’s oil revenue from President Nicolas Maduro.

IRAN-GUARDS-ATTACKS/ Suicide bomber kills 27 members of Iran's elite Revolutionary Guards

GENEVA/LONDON (Reuters) - A suicide bomber killed 27 members of Iran’s elite Revolutionary Guards on Wednesday, state media said, in a southeastern region where security forces are facing a rise in attacks by militants from the country’s Sunni Muslim minority. U.S.

USA-SHUTDOWN/ Wary of shutdown, Trump inches toward support for funding deal

WASHINGTON (Reuters) - U.S. President Donald Trump on Wednesday edged toward backing a deal in Congress on funding for a barrier on the Mexican border, but left open the possibility that disputes over the wall could still cause a partial government shutdown by the weekend. USA-EDUCATION-DENVER/

Talks to end three-day Denver teachers strike resume after progress reported DENVER (Reuters) - Negotiators for striking Denver teachers and the city school district returned to the bargaining table on Wednesday after a productive session the previous day, as the walkout affecting 92,000 students entered a third day.

BUSINESS APPLE-LEVOFF-INSIDERTRADING/

U.S. charges former top Apple lawyer with insider trading The former top corporate lawyer at Apple Inc was criminally charged by the U.S. Department of Justice on Wednesday with insider trading ahead of six of the iPhone maker’s quarterly earnings announcements.

ALPHABET-INVESTMENT/ Google to spend over $13 billion on U.S. data centers, offices

Alphabet Inc’s Google said on Wednesday it would spend more than $13 billion on data centers and offices in the United States this year. ENTERTAINMENT

FILMFESTIVAL-BERLIN/ Netflix row overshadows premiere of film about Spanish lesbians

BERLIN, Feb 13 (Reuters) - A row over whether films produced for streaming platform Netflix should be shown at the Berlin Film Festival has overshadowed the premiere of "Elisa & Marcela", Isabel Coixet's tale of two Spanish lesbians. VALENTINES-DAY/

'Tinder for cows' matches livestock in the mood for love PETERSFIELD, England, Feb 13 (Reuters) - A Tinder-inspired app is helping farmers match up potential partners for their cattle.

SPORTS SOCCER-ITALY-INT/

Inter's Icardi stripped of captaincy, pulls out of Rapid clash MILAN, Feb 13 (Reuters) - Inter Milan's leading scorer Mauro Icardi does not to want to play in their Europa League match against Rapid Vienna on Thursday after being stripped of the club captaincy, coach Luciano Spalletti said on Wednesday.

RUGBY-UNION-NATIONS-WAL/ Williams released from Wales Six Nations squad

Wales have released centre Scott Williams from their squad for the remainder of the Six Nations as he battles a back injury, while fullback Leigh Halfpenny will play for his club Scarlets this weekend after three months out. UPCOMING

POLITICS / INTERNATIONAL AFFAIRS MYANMAR-POLITICS/ (ANALYSIS, PIX) (PIX)

ANALYSIS-In Myanmar, new parties challenge besieged Suu Kyi's grip on power New political groups are emerging to contest Myanmar's next election in 2020, aiming to challenge the hegemony of national civilian leader Aung San Suu Kyi after she has been weakened by escalating ethnic conflicts and slowing economic growth.

14 Feb SAFRICA-POLITICS/RAMAPHOSA

South African president responds to debate on state of nation South African president Cyril Ramaphosa responds to parliamentary debate on his state of the nation address, with Eskom restructuring likely to be high on agenda.

14 Feb 07:00 ET / 12:00 GMT USA-ELECTION/MONEY

Democrats want big money out of 2020 White House race, but how far will they go? Democratic U.S. presidential contenders are expected to push one another to show their commitment to getting big money out of politics. But some strategists worry that the candidates could go too far and hamper the party's chances in the November 2020 general election by giving a financial edge to the Republicans.

14 Feb 06:00 ET / 11:00 GMT PHILIPPINES-MEDIA/

Philippine journalist faces libel case The award-winning head of a Philippine news website Rappler, known for its tough scrutiny of President Rodrigo Duterte has been arrested on libel charges, adding to several ongoing legal cases against it that the government insists are not attempts to stifle the media. The arrest was widely condemned.

14 Feb SPAIN-POLITICS/CATALONIA (PIX) (TV)

Former Catalan vice president questioned on charges of rebellion Former Catalan vice president Oriol Junqueras, charged with rebellion and misuse of public funds in connection with Catalonia's 2017 independence bid, testifies in Madrid's Supreme Court.

14 Feb 04:00 ET / 09:00 GMT BRITAIN-EU/BORDER (PIX) (TV)

"Border buster" shows why Brexit frontier checks in N.Ireland would matter By one of the scores of small border crossings on the island of Ireland, a yellow digger stands as a monument to the lengths communities went to to keep roads open during Northern Ireland's violent "Troubles".

14 Feb 23:00 ET / 04:00 GMT ISRAEL-PALESTINIANS/JERUSALEM (PIX)

Palestinians quietly police Jerusalem's east in defiance of Israel Israeli police may be the law in East Jerusalem, but when Palestinians there need a crime solved they often turn to their own, undeclared security men, whose mission is quietly defying Israel's 51-year rule by asserting control while keeping order.

14 Feb ISRAEL-ELECTION/NETANYAHU (PIX) (TV)

King Bibi or bye-bye Bibi? Israel's all-about-Netanyahu election Israel's April election is all about Benjamin Netanyahu, from his shaking-hands-with-Donald Trump billboards to his claims of a witchhunt in corruption probes threatening his decade of political dominance.

14 Feb NORWAY-EU/SNOWCRAB (PIX)

Norway Supreme Court to deliver verdict in snow crab case with implication for oil Norway's Supreme Court to deliver verdict in case on whether EU ships can fish for snow crab off Arctic islands north of Norway without permission from Oslo, a case that could decide who has the right to explore for oil in the region.

14 Feb 03:00 ET / 08:00 GMT USA-NUCLEAR/NATO (PIX) (TV)

NATO defence ministers meet, likely to discuss INF treaty As NATO defence ministers meet at the alliance HQ in Brussels, the US will come up against its deadline to withdraw from the INF arms treaty, which Washington says Moscow is violating

14 Feb BRITAIN-EU/ (PIX) (TV)

British parliament to debate and vote on Brexit deal progress Prime Minister Theresa May has asked lawmakers to hold their nerve over Brexit and give her more time to renegotiate her Brexit deal. Parliament will hold a debate on Thursday on whether to reaffirm its support for her ongoing efforts.

14 Feb CONFLICTS / WAR / PEACE

LIBYA-SECURITY/DERNA (PIX) (TV) Residents in Libya jihadist spot make new start as battle end nears With artillery booming in the background, residents in the eastern Libyan city of Derna enjoy cafe or cake waiting for a battle a few blocks away to end. Eastern Libyan forces say they are close to taking the last quarter of resistance from jihadists in this port city, wrapping up a battle which the U.N. says has led to "significant" civilian losses.

14 Feb MIDEAST-CRISIS/SUMMIT-STATEMENTS (PIX) (TV)

U.S's Pence and Polish PM give statements at Warsaw meeting U.S. Vice President Mike Pence and Polish Prime Minister Mateusz Morawiecki give statements during a working lunch at a global summit co-hosted by the U.S. focused on the Middle East and Iran.

14 Feb 06:00 ET / 11:00 GMT MIDEAST-CRISIS/SUMMIT-OPENING (PIX) (TV)

Plenary sessions opens at Warsaw meeting Opening plenary session gets underway at a global summit co-hosted by the U.S. focused on the Middle East and Iran.

14 Feb 03:00 ET / 08:00 GMT MIDEAST-CRISIS/SUMMIT (PIX) (TV)

U.S. co-hosts Iran-focused global summit in Poland The U.S. co-hosts a global summit focused on the Middle East and Iran. U.S. Secretary of State Mike Pompeo said the meeting would focus on Middle East stability and security and Iran's role in the region.

14 Feb MIDEAST-CRISIS/SUMMIT-PHOTO (PIX) (TV)

Delegates pose for photo at Warsaw meeting Delegates pose for a family photo at a global meeting co-hosted by the U.S. focused on the Middle East and Iran.

14 Feb 05:30 ET / 10:30 GMT MIDEAST-CRISIS/SUMMIT-NEWSCONFERENCE (PIX) (TV)

U.S.'s Pompeo and Polish FM hold news conference at Warsaw meeting U.S. Secretary of State Mike Pompeo and Polish Foreign Minister Jacek Czaputowicz hold a news conference at a global summit co-hosted by the U.s. focused on the Middle East and Iran.

14 Feb 10:30 ET / 15:30 GMT MIDEAST-CRISIS/SUMMIT-ARRIVALS (PIX) (TV)

Delegates arrive at Warsaw meeting Delegates arrive at a global summit in Warsaw co-hosted by the U.S. and focused on the Middle East and Iran

14 Feb 02:00 ET / 07:00 GMT CRIME / LAW / JUSTICE

USA-MEXICO/EL CHAPO-REACTION 'This hurts': In El Chapo's home turf, some lament drug lord's conviction

The conviction of Mexico's legendary crime boss Joaquin "El Chapo" Guzman traveled quickly to his rugged home state on Tuesday where locals said they felt pain for a man some described as a fallen folk hero and community benefactor. 14 Feb

PORTUGAL-RIGHTS/COURT Disability charity takes 'court to court' over accessibility breaches

A disability charity is taking judicial action against the Ministry of Justice after it found that a court in Leiria, a city in Portugal's central region, does not to meet accessibility laws. 14 Feb 09:00 ET / 14:00 GMT

FLORIDA-SHOOTING/ANNIVERSARY (PIX) (TV) After year of action, silence to mark Florida school shooting

One year after a Valentine's Day massacre inside a Florida school, students and families leading a nationwide push for gun safety will pause on Thursday for the anniversary of the deadliest U.S. high school shooting. 14 Feb

BUSINESS / ECONOMICS INVESTMENT-FUNDS/

13F Hedge Fund Filings The world's most powerful money managers and hedge-fund investors ranging from Seth Klarman's Baupost Group and Warren Buffett's Berkshire Hathaway to Bill Ackman's Pershing Square Capital Management and David Einhorn’s Greenlight Capital say which U.S. stocks they held at the end of the fourth quarter via 13F SEC filings, shedding light on how they positioned their portfolios before January's dovish Federal Reserve policy-setting meeting, a slowdown in growth in China/U.S. and the volatile global financial markets.

14 Feb NEWZEALAND-ECONOMY/RBNZ

Signing of new RBNZ Monetary Policy Committee Remit and Charter Finance Minister Grant Robertson and Reserve Bank Governor Adrian Orr speak after signing the new Reserve Bank Monetary Policy Committee Remit and Charter

14 Feb INDIA-ECONOMY/TRADE

India trade data for January India is expected to release monthly trade figures on Feb 14 or Feb 15 for which no time or day is fixed.

14 Feb COLOMBIA-FRACKING/

Colombia expert commission on fracking publishes recommendations An expert commission convened last year by Colombia's president to examine whether fracking should be allowed in the Andean country will hold a press conference on Thursday to present its conclusions - which are likely to influence government policy on the technique.

14 Feb EU-CHINA/INVESTMENTS

EU lawmakers vote on foreign investment screening, with eyes on China EU lawmakers vote on a far-reaching system to coordinate scrutiny of foreign investments into Europe, notably from China

14 Feb 06:00 ET / 11:00 GMT USA-TRADE/CHINA-MINISTRY (TV)

China's Commerce Ministry holds news conference China's Commerce Ministry holds a regular news conference as a new round of trade talks with the United States is underway in Beijing.

14 Feb 02:00 ET / 07:00 GMT USA-CNBC/BRAINARD

Federal Reserve Board Governor Lael Brainard appears on CNBC Federal Reserve Gov. Lael Brainard will be on CNBC.

14 Feb 10:00 ET / 15:00 GMT USA-FED/POWELL (PIX) (GRAPHIC)

In rural Mississippi, still waiting on recovery Here’s what has happened in Leflore County, Mississippi, the 23rd poorest county in the country, since the end of the recession in 2009.

14 Feb 01:00 ET / 06:00 GMT WALMART-LABOR/OUTSOURCE (PIX)

FOCUS - Why Walmart farms out same-day grocery deliveries to low-cost freelance drivers An inside look at how Walmart is relying on so-called "gig" workers to deliver groceries to help it compete with Amazon. These workers come at a lower cost for Walmart than full-time employees. But they can lack loyalty when there are better paying deliveries out there, jeopardizing Walmart's latest attempt to win more online customers.

14 Feb 01:00 ET / 06:00 GMT IRELAND-BONDS/

Ireland looks to raise up to 1.25 billion euros in bond auction Ireland to raise between 1 billion and 1.25 billion euros in a dual bond auction

14 Feb 05:00 ET / 10:00 GMT INDIA-ECONOMY/INFLATION (PIX)

India releases January WPI inflation data India will release WPI inflation data for January on Thursday, Feb 14 around 12.00 noon (India local time)

14 Feb 01:30 ET / 06:30 GMT ARTS / CULTURE / ENTERTAINMENT

FILMFESTIVAL-BERLIN/SO LONG MY SON (PIX) (TV) Chinese film "So Long, My Son" premieres at Berlinale

"So Long, My Son", by Chinese director Wang Xiaoshuai, screens in competition at the 69th Berlin Film Festival. 14 Feb 06:15 ET / 11:15 GMT

ODDLY ENOUGH VALENTINES-DAY/CROATIA-BROKENHEARTS (PIX) (TV)

Sick of Valentine's? Museum adds woes of war to litany of lost love Fed up of red roses, choking on chocolates? Then drop the Valentine's Day delirium for a dose of reality at Zagreb's Museum of Broken Relationships - expanded this year with relationships rent apart by war, and all set to tour in Brexit-riven Britain.

14 Feb 05:00 ET / 10:00 GMT


POST A COMMENT