Devdiscourse
Development News Edition
Give Feedback
VisionRI - Urban Development

REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 2200 GMT/0600 SGT


Reuters
Updated: 19-02-2019 03:33 IST
REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 2200 GMT/0600 SGT

Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau’s principal secretary Gerald Butts resigned on Monday amid allegations Trudeau’s office had pressured the former justice minister to help construction firm SNC-Lavalin avoid criminal prosecution.

HAITI-PROTESTS-AMERICANS Americans arrested in Haiti with weapons: media

PORT-AU-PRINCE (Reuters) - Haitian police arrested a group of foreign nationals including Americans armed with semi-automatic weapons, Haitian newspapers reported on Monday, adding to uncertainty in the poor Caribbean country after more than a week of anti-government protests. U.S.

USA-ELECTION-NORTH-CAROLINA N.C. congressional contest marred by voter fraud scheme: official

RALEIGH, N.C. (Reuters) - An investigation into a disputed 2018 congressional election in North Carolina has uncovered a “coordinated, unlawful and substantially resourced absentee ballot scheme” to influence the vote’s outcome, a state election board official said on Monday. USA-FBI-MCCABE

Trump's 'relentless attack' on FBI prompted memoir by former official: NPR Former top FBI official Andrew McCabe decried the “relentless attack” he said U.S. President Donald Trump has launched against the agency, according to released excerpts of an interview with NPR’s Morning Edition, to be aired early Monday.

BUSINESS USA-TRADE-AUTOS

Auto industry lines up against possible U.S. tariffs WASHINGTON (Reuters) - The U.S. auto industry urged President Donald Trump’s administration on Monday not to saddle imported cars and auto parts with steep tariffs, after the U.S. Commerce Department sent a confidential report to the White House late on Sunday with its recommendations for how to proceed.

BRITAIN-HUAWEI-TECH Britain does not support total Huawei network ban: sources

British security officials do not support a full ban of Huawei from national telecoms networks despite U.S. allegations the Chinese firm and its products could be used by Beijing for spying, people with knowledge of the matter said. ENTERTAINMENT

AWARDS-OSCARS-WOMEN Women in Hollywood see some gains after Oscars equality plea

LOS ANGELES (Reuters) - A year after best actress winner Frances McDormand used the Oscars stage to advocate for more women in front of and behind the camera, Hollywood is celebrating some progress - but remains far from reaching parity with men. THEATRE-9TO5-DOLLY-PARTON

Sexism still an issue, says Parton, as '9 to 5 the Musical' opens LONDON (Reuters) - Nearly 40 years after playing a secretary who takes revenge on her sexist boss in “9 to 5”, Dolly Parton again beat the drum for gender equality at the West End premiere of a musical version of her hit 1980 movie.

SPORTS TENNIS-SERENA-RANKINGS

Serena climbs back to Top 10 in WTA rankings Serena Williams has made her way back to the Top 10 in the WTA rankings for the first time since the birth of her daughter in September 2017.

BOXING-HEAVYWEIGHT-FURY Boxing: Britain's Fury signs bumper broadcast deal with ESPN

British heavyweight Tyson Fury has signed a broadcast deal under which his fights will be shown exclusively on ESPN platforms in the United States. UPCOMING

POLITICS / INTERNATIONAL AFFAIRS BRITAIN-EU/GOVE

Environment minister Michael Gove addresses farming union conference Environment minister Michael Gove addresses NFU farming union conference

19 Feb USA-ELECTION/NORTH CAROLINA

North Carolina elections board holds hearing in disputed congressional contest A newly appointed State Board of Elections in North Carolina will hold a public evidentiary hearing starting on Feb. 18 as part of its investigation into possible election fraud in the disputed Ninth Congressional District contest.

19 Feb 00:00 ET / 05:00 GMT EU-USA/PELOSI (TV)

US House Speaker Pelosi holds news conference in Brussels Speaker of the U.S. House of Representatives Nancy Pelosi holds a news conference with other members of U.S. Congress in Brussels after the NATO Parliamentary Assembly.

19 Feb 04:00 ET / 09:00 GMT NIGERIA-ELECTION/VOTERS (PIX)

Fears rise of low voter turnout in Nigeria after election delay The week-long delay in holding Nigeria's presidential election could reduce voter turnout, politicians and civil society groups have warned, because many people who returned home to cast their ballots last weekend cannot afford to make the trip again. The vote is scheduled for Feb. 23.

19 Feb BRITAIN-EU/CORBYN (PIX)

UK Labour Party leader Jeremy Corbyn addresses manufacturers' conference UK Labour Party leader Jeremy Corbyn addresses EEF manufacturers' conference

19 Feb 08:30 ET / 13:30 GMT ASIA-SAUDI/INDIA (PIX) (TV)

Saudi crown prince visits India Saudi Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman starts two day visit to India. He is expected announce investments in energy and infrastructure during a visit to India to strengthen ties at a time when his image abroad has been tarnished over the murder of a Saudi journalist. Saudi Aramco CEO Amin Nasser, SABIC President Yousef Al-Bouniyan, and Reliance Industries Chief executive PMS Prasad will be present at an event organized by industry chairman CII on Feb 20. Mohammad Bin Salman’s detailed itinerary on bilateral meetings with Indian ministers is yet to be known.

19 Feb GERMANY-POLITICS/MERKEL (TV)

Germany's Merkel gives keynote speech at 'Digitising Europe' conference German Chancellor Angela Merkel is due to give a keynote speech at the 'Digitising Europe' conference in Berlin. Other speakers at the event include EU Commissioner Guenther Oettinger, Vodafone CEO Nick Read and Airbus CEO Tom Enders.

19 Feb 04:15 ET / 09:15 GMT SENEGAL-ELECTION/FUTURE-CITY (PIX) (TV)

Senegal's president campaigns on futuristic city project In the semi-arid scrublands outside Dakar, new state-of-the-art public buildings are being erected alongside concrete slums and dirt roads. The futuristic Diamniadio project is part of a $21 billion programme President Macky Sall launched in his first term to fast-track Senegal’s development. But much energy has been focused on big ticket showpieces that are getting a mixed reception from voters.

19 Feb 03:00 ET / 08:00 GMT ITALY-POLITICS/

Italy's parliament votes on request to investigate Salvini for kidnapping An Italian Senate committee will hold a vote that is straining the ruling coalition on whether to allow Sicilian prosecutors to investigate Deputy Prime Minister Matteo Salvini, who is also leader of ruling League party, for abuse of office and kidnapping.

19 Feb 07:30 ET / 12:30 GMT AUSTRIA-POLITICS/

Austrian far-right interior minister speaks about immigration plans Austria's far-right Interior Minister Herbert Kickl holds a news conference on immigration.

19 Feb 05:00 ET / 10:00 GMT CONFLICTS / WAR / PEACE

YEMEN-SECURITY/UN U.N. Security Council briefed on Yemen

U.N. Yemen envoy Martin Griffiths due to brief the U.N. Security Council 19 Feb 10:00 ET / 15:00 GMT

CRIME / LAW / JUSTICE TANZANIA-POACHING/ (PIX)

Tanzania court to sentence Chinese businesswoman for ivory smuggling A Tanzanian court is expected to sentence Yang Feng Glan, a prominent Chinese businesswoman dubbed the "Ivory Queen" who was charged in 2015 with financing a criminal network responsible for smuggling tusks from more than 350 elephants.

19 Feb BUSINESS / ECONOMICS

KERRYGROUP-RESULTS/ Kerry Group FY results

19 Feb 02:00 ET / 07:00 GMT HSBC-RESULTS/ (PIX)

HSBC to announce financial results for 2018 HSBC to announce full-year results for 2018, with investors focused on possible dividend increases and whether China's slowdown is curbing growth at the Asia-focused lender.

19 Feb 23:00 ET / 04:00 GMT TRADE-WTO/

WTO publishes quarterly indicator WTO releases its quarterly World Trade Outlook Indicator, a leading indicator of global goods trade volume based on a suite of seven indices. Last quarter, the indicator showed a reading of 98.6, the lowest since October 2016, as trade volumes lost momentum.

19 Feb 05:00 ET / 10:00 GMT BRITAIN-EU/SUPERMARKETS (PIX)

Britain's supermarkets battle for stocks as Brexit chaos looms Britons could face shortages of fresh food, price rises and less variety if the country leaves the European Union next month without agreeing trade terms, industry officials say.

19 Feb 01:00 ET / 06:00 GMT WALMART-RESULTS/ (PIX)

Q4 2019 Walmart Inc Earnings Release The world's largest retailer is expected to report holiday-quarter comparable sales growth that could be its best in three years as investments in its business drive more traffic through its doors. Gross margins are likely to contract due to higher transportation costs, tariffs and as it continues to pour money into its online business. Investors will be keen to hear what management has to stay about the strength of the consumer and its Flipkart business, and whether the government shutdown or the polar vortex had any impact on its performance in the three month period ended January. 19 Feb 07:00 ET / 12:00 GMT

USA-TRADE/EU EU Parliament's trade committee votes on whether to back U.S. negotiating mandates

The international trade committee of the European Parliament votes in non-binding resolution on whether to support starting trade talks with the United States, with some opposition to do so given U.S. tariffs on metal imports and the threat to extend them to cars 19 Feb 04:00 ET / 09:00 GMT

USA-FED/MESTER Cleveland Federal Reserve Bank President Mester speaks on economy

Federal Reserve Bank of Cleveland President Loretta Mester speaks on the economic outlook and monetary policy before the 2019 Economic Forecast hosted by the University of Delaware Center for Economic Education and Entrepreneurship and Lyons Companies, in Newark, Del. 19 Feb 08:50 ET / 13:50 GMT

CANADA-CRUDE/RAILWAYS Alberta province premier to update on crude by rail negotiations

Premier Rachel Notley will provide an update on the status of crude by rail negotiations as the province of Alberta steps up efforts to move stranded Canadian crude oil to the refineries in the United States 19 Feb 01:30 ET / 06:30 GMT

SCIENCE / TECHNOLOGY ISRAEL-ENVIRONMENT/PLASTIC (PIX) (TV)

Meet the sea squirt, quietly surveying plastic waste in the ocean A pesky sea creature with a penchant for clinging to ships and invading foreign beaches could become a helpful tool in measuring plastic pollution in the world's oceans.

19 Feb ARTS / CULTURE / ENTERTAINMENT

WESTAFRICA-STOCKCUBES/ (PIX) (TV) Simmering stock cube battle shows evolving West African tastes

Mamy Gueye conjures up her version of thiebou diola - a marinated fish and rice dish - at a roadside eatery in Senegal's capital Dakar. Her way of cooking, using traditional methods with a mix of shop-bought flavourings, including Nestle's Maggi stock cubes, is a demonstration of how cooking and shopping habits are evolving in West Africa. 19 Feb

AWARDS-OSCARS/BOX OFFICE (PIX) (GRAPHIC) Which Oscars best picture contender enjoyed the biggest bounce at the box office.

Story and graphic looking at the films that benefitted most at the box office between Oscar nominations in January and the Academy Awards ceremony 19 Feb

ART-ABRAMOVIC/SERPENTINE (PIX) (TV) Marina Abramovic goes digital at London's Serpentine Galleries

The performance artist presents 'The Life in Mixed Reality', a wearable augmented reality experience. 19 Feb 06:00 ET / 11:00 GMT

RELIGION POPE-ABUSE/SPAIN (PIX) (TV)

WIDER IMAGE - Two placards outside Montserrat Monastery as abuse exposed in Spain Outside Catalonia's imposing mountain-side Montserrat Monastery stand two men with placards demanding that the local abbot be defrocked for covering up sexual abuse as they pressure the Catholic Church to come clean on these transgressions by its clergy, which the Vatican will discuss at a special summit on Feb. 21-24.

19 Feb


POST A COMMENT