Left Menu
Development News Edition

Lone Pondy LS seat goes to polls Thursday

Lone Pondy LS seat goes to polls Thursday

All arrangements are in place for polling Thursday to the lone Lok Sabha seat in Puducherry and bypoll to the Thattanchavady Assembly segment, which saw intense campaigning by the main rivals, the ruling Congress and the AINRC. There are 18 contestants for the Lok Sabha poll and eight candidates for the Thattanchavady by-election.

The main battle would be between the ruling Congress, which has put up former Speaker V Vaithilingam and the opposition AINRC's K Narayanasamy. R Radhakrishnan of AINRC had won the seat in 2014, defeating Congress nominee V Narayanasamy, who is the chief minister now.

Bypoll to the Thattanchavady assembly segment is being held to fill the vacancy caused by disqualification of the opposition AINRC legislator Ashok Anand following conviction in a disproportionate assets case in October last year. The nearly one-month long campaign in the union territory saw leaders of various political parties, including from neighbouring Tamil Nadu, canvass votes in support of their respective front's candidates.

Local leaders and others attached to the DMK-led Secular Progressive Alliance (SPA) had attacked not only the BJP-led NDA, AINRC and AIADMK, but also Lt Governor Kiran Bedi "for putting obstacles in implementation of welfare schemes." Deputy District Election Officer S Sakthivelu told reporters here prohibitory orders under section 144 Cr P.C. had been promulgated and it would remain in force till 6 a.m.

on April 19. He said during polling only candidates and authorised agents would be permitted to visit the booths and no one else would be permitted.

Special arrangements for differently-abled and visually impaired voters have been made at the booths. Ninety-six per cent of the 9.73 lakh voters spread across the union territory have been issued voters slips, though they were not mandatory for the electorate to exercise franchise, the official said adding electoral photo identity cards were a must for voting.

The Election Commission permits any of the eleven other documents including PAN card, passport, bank passbook, identity cards issued to the workers engaged under MGNREGA scheme as proof for identification of voters. Polling starts at 7 a.m and will end at 6 p.m..

(This story has not been edited by Devdiscourse staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

Download The Devdiscourse News App for Latest News.



Conspiracy theories on COVID 19: Legislators, Scientists, and Journalists all joined the Caravan

Conspiracy theories are not new for virus epidemics. There have been conspiracy theories on HIV-AIDS, Polio Vaccines, Ebola Virus, and several other diseases as well. However, what makes the 2019 Novel Coronavirus different from others is ...

Top 10 Fake News, Myths and Realities on 2019 Novel Coronavirus COVID 19

With nearly 1500 deaths by January 14 and around 65,000 infections in China, the Novel Coronavirus 2019 has become one of the worst health epidemics of the 21st Century. However, 8,573 people have been cured but the rumor mongers are a...

Handling fake news Infodemic in time of Coronavirus epidemic

Social media has provided a platform where everybody can disseminate his her views without any supervision. Its excellent if the message is genuine but misinformation is equally disastrous. Health is such a topic where every Tom and Harry c...

Sentiment Analysis on Budget 2020: Long shot for solution to economic worries?

Industries and individuals alike had high expectations from the government to take tangible steps but the budget 2020 seems to have failed expectations....


Latest News

UPDATE 1-Fed policymakers cautiously optimistic on U.S. economy despite new risks, minutes show

Federal Reserve policymakers were cautiously optimistic about their ability to hold interest rates steady this year, minutes of the central banks last policy meeting showed, even as they acknowledged new risks caused by the coronavirus outb...

Cowboys WR Cooper says no truth to shooting report

Dallas Cowboys wide receiver Amari Cooper confirmed on Instagram on Wednesday afternoon that he was fine, despite an earlier social media report that he had been shot in an area parking garage. The Twitter account that reported the alleged ...

US STOCKS-Indexes climb on China stimulus hopes, hold ground after Fed minutes

U.S. stocks rose on Wednesday as optimism that China would take more measures to prop up its economy eased concerns about the economic impact of the coronavirus epidemic.Stocks held gains following the release of minutes from U.S. Federal R...

Stanton: 80 HRs in 2017 if pitches known

Giancarlo Stanton thought about the prospect of knowing what pitches were coming via illegal sign stealing and realized how he could have used it to his advantage. If I knew what was coming in 17, I probably would have hit 80-plus home runs...

Give Feedback