International Development News
Development News Edition
Give Feedback

REUTERS SPORTS SCHEDULE AT 3 p.m. GMT/11 a.m. ET


Reuters
Updated: 15-08-2019 20:36 IST
REUTERS SPORTS SCHEDULE AT 3 p.m. GMT/11 a.m. ET

Image Credit: Pixabay

Here are the top sports stories and upcoming coverage plans for Reuters text service as of 3 p.m. GMT/11 a.m. ET. For a full schedule of news and events, go to our editorial calendar on Reuters Connect https://www.reutersconnect.com/planning. TOP STORIES

SOCCER-USA/ Talks break down, U.S. women's soccer team turn to court

The female players who sued the United States Soccer Federation (USSF) for equal pay reported that talks broke down on Wednesday and said they were now turning their attention to the courts where they are "eagerly look forward to a jury trial". OLYMPICS-2020-HEAT/

Triathlon changes add to Tokyo 2020's heat headache TOKYO - The International Triathlon Union's decision to reduce the distance of the run segment in Thursday's women's Olympics qualifying event because of heat concerns is the latest setback for Tokyo 2020 organisers battling extreme temperatures.

TENNIS-CINCINNATI-WOMEN/ Barty beats Sharapova, Halep survives scare in Cincinnati

Top seeded Ash Barty overcame a slow start to defeat Maria Sharapova 6-4 6-1, while Simona Halep battled past Ekaterina Alexandrova 3-6 7-5 6-4 in the second round of the Cincinnati Masters on Wednesday. UPCOMING

TENNIS TENNIS-CINCINNATI/ (TV)

Tennis - ATP 1000 - Cincinnati Masters Action from the round of 16 at the Cincinnati Masters - an ATP World Tour Masters 1000 event.

15 Aug 11:00 ET / 15:00 GMT TENNIS-CINCINNATI/

Tennis - WTA Premier 5 - Cincinnati Masters Action from the round of 16 at the Cincinnati Masters - a WTA Premier 5 tournament.

15 Aug 11:00 ET / 15:00 GMT GOLF

GOLF-BMW/ (TV) Golf - PGA Tour - BMW Championship second round

Coverage of second round of BMW Championship at Medinah Country Club as players vie to qualify for the season-ending Tour Championship. 16 Aug 10:00 ET / 14:00 GMT

OLYMPICS OLYMPICS-2020/TRIATHLON

Triathlon - Men's Elite Triathlon takes centre stage day after heat fears shorten women's race The day after the women's event was shortened because of concerns over the extreme heat, it is the men's turn to head to Tokyo's Odaiba Marine Park venue and compete in the elite triathlon Olympics qualification event that also serves as a Tokyo 2020 test event.

16 Aug 03:30 ET / 07:30 GMT OLYMPICS-2020/TRANSPORTATION

Olympics-Games organisers give briefing on upcoming Tokyo 2020 transport tests Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games organisers give briefing on upcoming Tokyo 2020 transport tests.

16 Aug 21:30 ET / 01:30 GMT CRICKET

CRICKET-ASHES/ (PIX) Cricket - Ashes 2019 - Second Test - England v Australia

England play Australia in the second test at Lord's. 16 Aug 06:00 ET / 10:00 GMT

RUGBY RUGBY-UNION-WORLDCUP-ZAF-ARG/

Rugby Union - South Africa captain's news conference ahead of Argentina test South Africa will hold a news conference with their captain ahead of the one-off test against Argentina on Saturday.

16 Aug 07:30 ET / 11:30 GMT RUGBY-UNION-BLEDISLOE-NZL-AUS/ (TV)

Rugby Union - Bledisloe Cup - New Zealand v Australia - news conferences & training New Zealand and Australia prepare for the second match of their annual Bledisloe Cup series in Auckland.

16 Aug MIXED MARTIAL ARTS

MMA-UFC-UFC217/PREVIEW "Vanished" Diaz returns after three-year UFC absence

After a stunning submission win and a narrow decision defeat in two epic 2016 fights against Conor McGregor, Nate Diaz was one of the biggest names in the sport but the Californian, who returns to the octagon at UFC 241 in Anaheim on Saturday after a three-year absence, says that instead of pushing him, the fight promotion "vanished" him. 16 Aug

Also Read: Indian players request AITA to ask for neutral venue

(This story has not been edited by Devdiscourse staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)