International Development News
Development News Edition
Give Feedback

Leading Asian Junior Squash Players Make Their Mark at the 'HCL 11th Indian Junior Open'

PTI New Delhi
Updated: 02-09-2019 10:18 IST
Leading Asian Junior Squash Players Make Their Mark at the 'HCL 11th Indian Junior Open'

Image Credit: PR Newswire

HCL, a leading global conglomerate, today announced the successful completion of the HCL 11th Indian Junior Open. The six-day tournament that started on 26th August was hosted at the Jaypee Greens Sports Complex in Greater Noida. A total of 369 players from 11 countries including the United States, England, and Hong Kong participated in the Championship. The winners of the tournament were felicitated by Shahzar Rizvi, a top Professional Indian Shooter and a Gold medallist at the 2018 ISSF World Cup and in the 2017 Commonwealth Shooting Championships.

This event was a six-star tournament under the Squash Rackets Federation of India (SRFI) calendar and a Platinum event under the Asian Squash Federation circuit. The top players from this tournament will receive ranking points, which will add to their junior Asian rankings in the relevant age group. The 11th HCL Indian Junior Open was organized under the HCL Squash Podium Program - a joint initiative by HCL and SRFI that aims to transform the Squash ecosystem in India.

Speaking about the tournament, Sundar Mahalingam, Chief Strategy Officer, HCL Corporation and Shiv Nadar Foundation said, "I would like to congratulate the winners on their extraordinary performance and all the other players for putting forward a competitive game. HCL's philosophy of touching lives is reflected in the initiatives it undertakes to promote sports in the country. Through sports, we want to create platforms that help young players excel but more importantly, we want to raise the level of enthusiasm surrounding lesser known sports like Squash. I would like to wish all the players best of luck for their upcoming tournaments."

The Championship was played in a knock-out format across all categories. Here are the details of the winners and runners up.







Winner - Boys

Yash Fadte

Ishant Shah (Malaysia)

Krishna Mishra

Karan Yadav

Agastya Bansal

Runner up - Boys

Neel Joshi

Kanhav Nanavati

Vivaan Shah

Aditya Chandani

Aryaveer Dewan

Winner - Girls

Sanya Vats

Vharshamihra Dinesh (Malaysia)

Kaavya Bansal

Ananhat Singh

Akanksha Gupta

Runner up - Girls

Yoshna Singh

Ananya Dabke

Pooja Arthi

Unnathi Tripathi

Sehar Nayar

(This story has not been edited by Devdiscourse staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)