Devdiscourse
Development News Edition
Give Feedback
write for Us

REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 6 a.m. GMT/2 p.m. SGT


Reuters
Updated: 11-01-2019 11:34 IST
REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 6 a.m. GMT/2 p.m. SGT

Venezuelan President Nicolas Maduro started a second term on Thursday, defying critics in the United States and Latin America who called him an illegitimate usurper of a nation where economic chaos has wrought a humanitarian crisis.

BRITAIN-EU-JAPAN/

After meeting UK's May, Japan's Abe says world does not want no-deal Brexit

LONDON (Reuters) - Japan’s Shinzo Abe said on Thursday that the world did not want to see a disorderly Brexit and that he fully supported British Prime Minister Theresa May’s withdrawal deal from the European Union now facing defeat in parliament.

U.S.

USA-SHUTDOWN/

Trump threatens to use emergency power to build wall, end shutdown

MCALLEN, Texas/WASHINGTON (Reuters) - Flanked by border agents who are going without paychecks during a government shutdown, U.S. President Donald Trump threatened on Thursday to use emergency powers to bypass Congress to pay for a wall on the U.S.-Mexico border.

USA-SHUTDOWN-PARKS/

Donations keep Death Valley National Park partly open during shutdown

DEATH VALLEY, Calif. (Reuters) - California’s Death Valley National Park, famed for its record-breaking heat, is keeping its visitor center and some restrooms open during the partial U.S. government shutdown with donations from a non-profit group and two hotels, a spokeswoman said on Thursday.

BUSINESS

CHINA-ECONOMY-TARGETS-EXCLUSIVE/

Exclusive: China to set lower GDP growth target of 6-6.5 percent in 2019 - sources

BEIJING (Reuters) - China plans to set a lower economic growth target of 6-6.5 percent in 2019 compared with last year’s target of “around” 6.5 percent, policy sources told Reuters, as Beijing gears up to cope with higher U.S. tariffs and weakening domestic demand.

GM-ELECTRIC-EXCLUSIVE/

Exclusive: GM's Cadillac will introduce EV in fight against Tesla - sources

WASHINGTON (Reuters) - Cadillac is expected to become General Motors Co’s lead electric vehicle brand as the largest U.S. automaker gears up to introduce a new model under that luxury marquee to challenge Tesla Inc, two people briefed on the matter said Thursday.

ENTERTAINMENT

PEOPLE-MICHAEL-JACKSON/

Jackson estate slams as 'pathetic' abuse claims in new documentary

LOS ANGELES (Reuters) - Michael Jackson’s estate on Thursday condemned on Thursday an upcoming documentary about alleged child sexual abuse by the late singer as another “outrageous and pathetic attempt” to cash in on his fame.

PEOPLE-RKELLY-LADY-GAGA/

Lady Gaga says won't work again with singer R.Kelly

LOS ANGELES (Reuters) - Lady Gaga has vowed to remove a duet she recorded with R&B singer R.Kelly from streaming services and never collaborate with him again.

SPORTS

TENNIS-AUSOPEN/

Pained Murray says Australian Open could be his swansong

MELBOURNE (Reuters) - Andy Murray may retire after the Australian Open, with the severe pain from his troublesome right hip having become almost unbearable for him to play on, the former world number one said on Friday.

GOLF-SONYOPEN/

Golf: Putnam uses red hot putter to shoot 62 as Spieth cards 73

Andrew Putnam rode a co-operative putter to a four-stroke clubhouse lead as Jordan Spieth struggled in the opening round of the Sony Open in Hawaii on Thursday.

UPCOMING

POLITICS / INTERNATIONAL AFFAIRS

USA-SHUTDOWN/

As U.S. shutdown nears record length, Trump weighs declaring emergency

President Donald Trump, facing the prospect of the longest U.S. government shutdown in history within days, was considering declaring a national emergency that likely would escalate a policy dispute with Democrats over his proposed U.S.-Mexico border wall into a court test of presidential power.

11 Jan 01:00 ET / 06:00 GMT

MYANMAR-JOURNALISTS/ (PIX) (TV)

Myanmar court expected to rule on Reuters reporters' appeal

The High Court in Myanmar's largest city, Yangon, is expected to rule on an appeal submitted by lawyers for Reuters reporters Wa Lone, 32, and Kyaw Soe Oo, 28.

11 Jan 01:30 ET / 06:30 GMT

GREECE-GERMANY/MERKEL (PIX) (TV)

Germany's Merkel meets Greek President Pavlopoulos in Athens

Germany's Chancellor Angela Merkel meets with the Greek President Prokopis Pavlopoulos and the conservative opposition leader, Kyriakos Mitsotakis.

11 Jan 02:45 ET / 07:45 GMT

TURKEY-POLITICS/ERDOGAN

Turkish President Tayyip Erdogan makes speech at AKP meeting

Turkish President Tayyip Erdogan makes a speech at a meeting of provincial officials from his AK Party (0800 GMT) where he may comment on March local elections, Syria or relations with the United States. He will then attend a meeting in the Black Sea province of Trabzon to present AK Party local election candidates (1300 GMT).

11 Jan 03:00 ET / 08:00 GMT

GERMANY-POLITICS/

German conservative Merz and EU leaders speak at policy summit

German conservative Friedrich Merz, who narrowly lost the race to succeed Angela Merkel as leader of the Christian Democrats will participate in a panel discussion in Bavaria. European Union Commission President Jean-Claude Juncker and Commissioner Guenther Oettinger will also attend the event.

11 Jan 03:30 ET / 08:30 GMT

GREECE-GERMANY/MERKEL SCHOOL (PIX) (TV)

Germany's Merkel visits German school in Athens

Germany's Chancellor Angela Merkel meets with students at the German School of Athens as part of a two day visit to the Greek capital.

11 Jan 04:15 ET / 09:15 GMT

AUSTRIA-POLITICS/ (PIX)

News conference after two-day Austrian cabinet meeting

Austrian Chancellor Sebastian Kurz and Vice Chancellor Heinz-Christian Strache hold a news conference at the end of a two-day cabinet meeting on the outskirts of Vienna.

11 Jan 05:00 ET / 10:00 GMT

MACEDONIA-NAME/PARLIAMENT (PIX) (TV)

Macedonian parliament votes to change country's name

Macedonia's parliament is expected to pass an amendment to the constitution changing the country's name to Republic of North Macedonia as agreed with Greece last year to end a decades-long name dispute. Opposition lawmakers are boycotting the vote and will protest with supporters outside as the vote takes place.

11 Jan 07:00 ET / 12:00 GMT

SPAIN-POLITICS/BUDGET

Spain government to present 2019 draft budget proposal

Spain's Socialist government will present its 2019 draft budget proposal after the weekly cabinet meeting. Pedro Sanchez said, though failure by parliament to pass the draft could prompt a snap election. The government is expected to revise economic forecasts as part of the budget announcement.

11 Jan 07:30 ET / 12:30 GMT

CONGO-ELECTION/UN (PIX) (GRAPHIC)

U.N. Security Council briefed on Democratic Republic of Congo

The U.N. Security Council to be briefed on Democratic Republic of Congo. The country held a national election on Dec. 30.

11 Jan 09:15 ET / 14:15 GMT

BUSINESS / ECONOMICS

GOLDMAN SACHS-CASH MANAGEMENT/ (PIX) (GRAPHIC)

Goldman Sachs paves way to compete for corporate cash

Goldman Sachs is planning to pay clients to help speed its efforts to grow a boring but valuable new business line: corporate cash management.

11 Jan 01:00 ET / 06:00 GMT

USA-SHUTDOWN/AGRICULTURE (PIX)

U.S. shutdown sends traders, farmers scrambling for agriculture data

When the U.S. Department of Agriculture announced a slew of critical crop reports would not be released on Friday due to the partial government shutdown, the phones at Gro Intelligence, which provides crop and weather forecasts, blew up.

11 Jan 08:00 ET / 13:00 GMT

AUTOSHOW-DETROIT/GM (PIX)

GM tries to leave factory shutdown controversy behind with a new SUV

General Motors will try to move past the controversy over its job cuts and factory shutdowns, starting with an investor meeting on Jan 11 and continuing Jan 13 with the unveiling of a new, Made in the USA Cadillac SUV.

11 Jan 09:00 ET / 14:00 GMT

CONFLICTS / WAR / PEACE

BRAZIL-ARMY/ (PIX)

Brazil's Bolsonaro swears in new Army commander

Brazil's President Jair Bolsonaro expected to speak at ceremony swearing in the new commander of the Brazilian Army.

11 Jan 09:00 ET / 14:00 GMT

CRIME / LAW / JUSTICE

FLORIDA-SHOOTING/

Florida Governor Ron DeSantis to discuss government accountability, following speculation of future of sheriff Florida Governor Ron DeSantis, a Republican, will speak about "holding government officials accountable" at the headquarters of the Broward County Sheriff. DeSantis is expected to announce the suspension of Sheriff Scott Israel over his handling of the Parkland mass shooting.

11 Jan 15:00 ET / 20:00 GMT


POST A COMMENT