Devdiscourse
Development News Edition
Give Feedback
write for Us

REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 10 a.m. GMT/5 a.m. ET


Reuters
Updated: 15-01-2019 15:42 IST
REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 10 a.m. GMT/5 a.m. ET

British Prime Minister Theresa May faced the prospect of defeat in a historic vote in parliament on her Brexit deal on Tuesday, leaving the country in limbo about its membership in the world’s biggest trading bloc, which has shaped its economy for decades.

CHINA-CANADA/

China blasts Trudeau's remarks on Canadian's death sentence

BEIJING (Reuters) - China blasted Canada for “irresponsible” remarks on Tuesday after Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau accused the country of “arbitrarily” sentencing a Canadian to death for drug smuggling, aggravating already icy relations.

U.S.

USA-PROTESTS-SILENTSAM/

Confederate monument's pedestal ordered removed at university in North Carolina

(Reuters) - The pedestal for a Confederate monument called Silent Sam that has been a flashpoint for demonstrations at a North Carolina university will be removed, the school’s president said on Monday, nearly five months after protesters toppled the statue.

USA-EDUCATION-LOS-ANGELES/

Los Angeles mayor backs striking teachers as stoppage enters second day

LOS ANGELES (Reuters) - The mayor of Los Angeles expressed support for the city’s striking teachers late on Monday, as 30,000 staff readied for a second day of a stoppage called to press demands for better pay, smaller classes and more staff.

BUSINESS

PG-E-US-BANKRUPTCY-POLITICS/

No clear path for California as massive PG&E utility nears bankruptcy

SACRAMENTO, Calif. (Reuters) - PG&E Corp’s announcement that it will file for bankruptcy, citing massive potential liability from deadly wildfires, puts California politicians in quandary, whether to offer a bailout or risk allowing the state’s largest private utility to fail.

AUTOSHOW-DETROIT-FORD-VOLKSWAGEN/

Volkswagen, Ford to announce automotive alliance

DETROIT (Reuters) - Volkswagen AG (VOWG_p.DE) and Ford Motor Co (F.N) are expected to unveil an alliance on Tuesday that combines forces on commercial vehicles and is likely to expand into joint development of electric and self-driving technology, moves meant to save the automakers billions of dollars.

ENTERTAINMENT

AWARDS-OSCARS/

U.S. actors accuse Oscar body of intimidation over awards presenters

LOS ANGELES (Reuters) - The largest actors union in the United States on Monday accused the organizers of the Oscars of trying to intimidate celebrities not to present at rival award shows.

SPORTS

OLYMPICS-2020-TAKEDA/

Japan's Olympic Committee head denies impropriety in 2020 bid procedures

TOKYO (Reuters) - The head of Japan’s Olympic Committee confirmed that he had been questioned by French authorities in December on Tuesday but repeated his denial there was anything improper about Tokyo’s bid for the 2020 Games and vowed to prove his innocence.

SOCCER-ITALY-RACISM/

Italian match officials to follow FIFA guidelines over racism

MILAN (Reuters) - Italian match officials and delegates will be told to follow international guidelines in dealing with racist chanting and insults from the crowd, the head of the country’s soccer federation (FIGC) said on Tuesday.

UPCOMING

POLITICS / INTERNATIONAL AFFAIRS

USA-TRUMP/BARR (TV)

U.S. Senate panel holds confirmation hearing for attorney general nominee

U.S. Senate Judiciary Committee conducts confirmation hearings for attorney general nominee William Barr, who is under fire from Democrats for his criticism of special counsel's Russia probe.

15 Jan 14:30 ET, 19:30 GMT

FRANCE-PROTESTS/MACRON-DEBATE (PIX) (TV)

Macron launches France's National Debate in a small town in Normandy

French President Emmanuel Macron launches the "Great National Debate" designed to find ways to calm down social anger in the country. The launch takes place in a small town of Normandy region where a "yellow vests" protest is expected.

15 Jan 14:00 ET, 19:00 GMT

BRITAIN-EU/GERMANY SCHOLZ (TV)

German finance minister speaks on "necessity of European integration"

German Finance Minister Olaf Scholz holds a speech entitled "The Necessity of European Integration for Politics and the Economy" on the day the British parliament is expected to vote on Prime Minister Theresa May's Brexit deal.

15 Jan 12:45 ET, 17:45 GMT

BRITAIN-EU/PORTUGAL

Foreign minister speaks to parliament committee on European affairs

Foreign Minister Augusto Santos Silva appears before parliament committee on European affairs where he is likely to face questions about Portugal's preparedness for Brexit.

15 Jan 10:00 ET, 15:00 GMT

THAILAND-SAUDI/CANADA (PIX)

Saudi refugee speaks to media in Toronto

A Public Statement will be made by Rahaf Mohammed on Tuesday, January 15, 2019, 10:00 am at the COSTI Corvetti Education Centre located at 760 College Street in Toronto.

15 Jan 15:00 ET, 20:00 GMT

VENEZUELA-POLITICS/ (PIX) (TV)

Venezuela's opposition-run congress to discuss amnesty, Maduro legitimacy

Venezuela's opposition-led Congress on Tuesday will hold a session in which it could approve a law offering amnesty for military officials who turn against President Nicolas Maduro and may also formally declare his second term illegitimate.

15 Jan 14:00 ET, 19:00 GMT

AUSTRALIA-PACIFIC/ (TV)

Australian Prime Minister begins visit of Fiji, Vanuatu to offset China influence

Australian Prime Minister Scott Morrison begins his visit of Fiji and Vanuatu as part of a push to offset China's growing influence in the South Pacific.

16 Jan

INDONESIA-BRITAIN/SLAP (TV)

Indonesia court to sentence British woman for slapping Bali immigration official

An Indonesian court is due to decide whether to jail a British woman, who slapped an immigration official on the holiday island of Bali after she was asked to pay a fine for overstaying her visa.

16 Jan

USA-EPA/WHEELER

Democrats to grill Trump's new EPA pick over past lobbying

Democratic lawmakers will grill President Donald Trump's new pick to run the Environmental Protection Agency, Andrew Wheeler, about his past as a coal industry lobbyist during his confirmation hearing Wednesday but have little hope of blocking him in the Republican-controlled Senate.

16 Jan

USA-TRUMP/BARR (TV)

U.S. Senate panel holds confirmation hearing for attorney general nominee

U.S. Senate Judiciary Committee conducts confirmation hearings for attorney general nominee William Barr, who is under fire from Democrats for his criticism of special counsel's Russia probe.

16 Jan

GREECE-GOVERNMENT/PARLIAMENT-VOTE (PIX) (TV)

Greek parliament to hold confidence vote Wednesday

Greek parliament will hold a confidence vote on Wednesday. Prime Minister Alexis Tsipras called the confidence vote following the resignation of his right-wing coalition partner over a deal to end a decades-long dispute between Athens and Skopje over Macedonia's name.

16 Jan

CZECH-ANNIVERSARY/PALACH (TV)

Czechs mark 50 years since self-immolation of student in anti-Soviet protest

Czechs commemorate Jan Palach, a student who set himself on fire in protest of the Soviet suppression of the 1968 Prague Spring. The anniversary of Palach's death (known as 'Palach Week') was closely watched by the authorities in communist Czechoslovakia, who violently suppressed any commemoration of him until the fall of communism in 1989.

16 Jan

CONFLICTS / WAR / PEACE

WARCRIMES-IVORYCOAST/ (PIX) (TV)

War crimes court delivers decision on ex-Ivorian leader demands for acquittal

International Criminal Court judges deliver their decision on a request from the defense of ex Ivorian leader Laurent Gbagbo for his immediate acquittal and release.

15 Jan 10:00 ET, 15:00 GMT

CRIME / LAW / JUSTICE

CRYPTO-CURRENCIES/CRIME

Interview with London’s Metropolitan Police Service on cryptocurrencies

Interview with London’s Metropolitan Police Service on its efforts to tackle cryptocurrency-related crime. Looking for comments on prevalence of use for money laundering, and the Met’s coordination with international law enforcement agencies.

15 Jan 11:00 ET, 16:00 GMT

BUSINESS / ECONOMICS

UNITEDHEALTH-RESULTS/ (PIX)

UnitedHealth Group reports fourth-quarter earnings

UnitedHealth Group will report fourth-quarter results on Tuesday, when the company is expected to outline its plan to tackle competition from rivals that have recently closed multibillion dollar acquisitions. Investors will also watch for sales from the largest U.S. health insurer's Optum unit and more details on its forecast for the year.

15 Jan 13:30 ET, 18:30 GMT

USA-FED/KASHKARI

Minneapolis Federal Reserve Bank President Kashkari speaks on regional economy

Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis President Neel Kashkari speaks on the regional economy before the Rochester Economic Summit, in Rochester, Minn.

15 Jan 16:30 ET, 21:30 GMT

WELLS FARGO-RESULTS/

Wells Fargo reports fourth quarter earnings

Wells Fargo & Co. reports fourth quarter earnings. Investors will be looking for an update on when the bank expects the Federal Reserve to lift the asset cap.

15 Jan 13:00 ET, 18:00 GMT

USA-FED/GEORGE

Kansas City Federal Reserve Bank President George speaks on economy

Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City President Esther George speaks on the economic and monetary policy outlook before The Central Exchange, in Kansas City, Mo.

15 Jan 18:15 ET, 23:15 GMT

USA-FED/KAPLAN

Dallas Federal Reserve Bank President Kaplan participates in moderated Q&A

Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas President Robert Kaplan participates in moderated question-and-answer session before the Plano Chamber of Commerce Annual Meeting, in Plano, Texas.

15 Jan 18:00 ET, 23:00 GMT

DAVOS-MEETING/TRUMP (PIX)

With Trump not going to Davos, who will lead the U.S. delegation?

With U.S. President Donald Trump skipping the World Economic Forum in Davos, Switzerland, this year, the White House is expected to announce who will lead the American delegation.

15 Jan 13:00 ET, 18:00 GMT

AUTOSHOW-DETROIT/FORD (PIX)

Ford tries to reboot at the Detroit auto show

Ford CEO Jim Hackett and other executives will try to reboot the automaker's stalled stock price in meetings with investors and analysts Jan. 16 on the sidelines of the Detroit Show. The company is expected to show a redesigned Ford Explorer SUV and the latest variant of its Mustang muscle car.

16 Jan

SCIENCE / TECHNOLOGY

AUSTRALIA-WEATHER/ (TV)

Australia swelters through extreme heatwave

Temperatures across Australia forecast to soar, stoking the threat of bushfires and pressuring the country’s rural commodity industry.

16 Jan

ARTS / CULTURE / ENTERTAINMENT

FASHION-PARIS/RAF SIMONS (PIX)

Raf Simons show in Men's Fashion Week in Paris

Raf Simons show in Men's Fashion Week in Paris

16 Jan


POST A COMMENT