Devdiscourse
Development News Edition
Give Feedback
VisionRI - Urban Development

REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 6 a.m GMT/1 a.m ET


Reuters
Updated: 19-02-2019 11:30 IST
REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 6 a.m GMT/1 a.m ET

Seven Labour lawmakers quit on Monday over leader Jeremy Corbyn’s approach to Brexit and a row over anti-Semitism, saying Britain’s main opposition party had been “hijacked by the machine politics of the hard left”. U.S.

USA-TRUMP/CHALLENGE U.S. states sue Trump administration in showdown over border wall funds

A coalition of 16 U.S. states led by California sued President Donald Trump and top members of his administration on Monday to block his decision to declare a national emergency to obtain funds for building a wall along the U.S.-Mexico border. USA-TRUMP-RUSSIA-ROSENSTEIN/

Deputy Attorney General Rosenstein to step down in March: official WASHINGTON (Reuters) - Rod Rosenstein, the U.S. deputy attorney general who appointed a special counsel to investigate possible ties between Russia and President Donald Trump’s campaign, is expected to step down by mid March, a Justice Department official said on Monday.

BUSINESS HSBC-RESULTS/

HSBC's 2018 profit misses estimates; China weakness poses growth risks HSBC Holdings Plc posted on Tuesday a 15.9 percent rise in 2018 profit, supported by business growth in its core markets of Asia and Britain, but market weakness in the fourth quarter resulted in the bank missing street estimates.

USA-TRADE-AUTOS/ Auto industry lines up against possible U.S. tariffs

WASHINGTON (Reuters) - The U.S. auto industry urged President Donald Trump’s administration on Monday not to saddle imported cars and auto parts with steep tariffs, after the U.S. Commerce Department sent a confidential report to the White House late on Sunday with its recommendations for how to proceed. ENTERTAINMENT

AWARDS-OSCARS-WOMEN/ Women in Hollywood see some gains after Oscars equality plea

LOS ANGELES (Reuters) - A year after best actress winner Frances McDormand used the Oscars stage to advocate for more women in front of and behind the camera, Hollywood is celebrating some progress - but remains far from reaching parity with men. AWARDS-OSCARS-QUEEN/

Queen to rock Oscars with live performance LOS ANGELES (Reuters) - British rock band Queen will perform live at Sunday’s Oscars ceremony, organizers said on Monday, following the blockbuster success of best picture nominee “Bohemian Rhapsody.”

SPORTS SOCCER-CHAMPIONS-S04-MCI/

Man City must win Champions League to be among elite: Gundogan Manchester City must win the Champions League to be considered one of Europe's elite clubs, midfielder Ilkay Gundogan has said.

LAUREUS-AWARDS/ Tennis player Djokovic, gymnast Biles win top Laureus awards

MONACO(Reuters) - World number one tennis player Novak Djokovic crowned a winning return to the courts after surgery with the Laureus sportsman of the year award on Monday, while American gymnast Simone Biles won the sportswoman of the year prize. UPCOMING

POLITICS / INTERNATIONAL AFFAIRS EU-USA/PELOSI (TV)

US House Speaker Pelosi holds news conference in Brussels Speaker of the U.S. House of Representatives Nancy Pelosi holds a news conference with other members of U.S. Congress in Brussels after the NATO Parliamentary Assembly.

19 Feb 04:00 ET / 09:00 GMT BRITAIN-EU/CORBYN (PIX)

UK Labour Party leader Jeremy Corbyn addresses manufacturers' conference UK Labour Party leader Jeremy Corbyn addresses EEF manufacturers' conference

19 Feb 08:30 ET / 13:30 GMT GERMANY-POLITICS/MERKEL (TV)

Germany's Merkel gives keynote speech at 'Digitising Europe' conference German Chancellor Angela Merkel is due to give a keynote speech at the 'Digitising Europe' conference in Berlin. Other speakers at the event include EU Commissioner Guenther Oettinger, Vodafone CEO Nick Read and Airbus CEO Tom Enders.

19 Feb 04:15 ET / 09:15 GMT SENEGAL-ELECTION/FUTURE-CITY (PIX) (TV)

Senegal's president campaigns on futuristic city project In the semi-arid scrublands outside Dakar, new state-of-the-art public buildings are being erected alongside concrete slums and dirt roads.

19 Feb 03:00 ET / 08:00 GMT ITALY-POLITICS/

Italy's parliament votes on request to investigate Salvini for kidnapping An Italian Senate committee will hold a vote that is straining the ruling coalition on whether to allow Sicilian prosecutors to investigate Deputy Prime Minister Matteo Salvini, who is also leader of ruling League party, for abuse of office and kidnapping.

19 Feb 07:30 ET / 12:30 GMT AUSTRIA-POLITICS/

Austrian far-right interior minister speaks about immigration plans Austria's far-right Interior Minister Herbert Kickl holds a news conference on immigration.

19 Feb 05:00 ET / 10:00 GMT VENEZUELA-POLITICS/CITGO-BOARD (PIX)

Venezuelan opposition board poised to take control of U.S. refiner Citgo A board of directors appointed by Venezuela's opposition congress is poised to arrive at Citgo Petroleum's headquarters on Tuesday and assume control of the U.S. refiner, a major victory for self-declared Venezuelan president Juan Guaido's efforts to wrest control of the South American country's foreign assets.

19 Feb 12:00 ET / 17:00 GMT CONFLICTS / WAR / PEACE

YEMEN-SECURITY/UN U.N. Security Council briefed on Yemen

U.N. Yemen envoy Martin Griffiths due to brief the U.N. Security Council 19 Feb 10:00 ET / 15:00 GMT

BUSINESS / ECONOMICS KERRYGROUP-RESULTS/

Kerry Group FY results 19 Feb 02:00 ET / 07:00 GMT

TRADE-WTO/ WTO publishes quarterly indicator

WTO releases its quarterly World Trade Outlook Indicator, a leading indicator of global goods trade volume based on a suite of seven indices. Last quarter, the indicator showed a reading of 98.6, the lowest since October 2016, as trade volumes lost momentum. 19 Feb 05:00 ET / 10:00 GMT

BRITAIN-EU/SUPERMARKETS (PIX) Britain's supermarkets battle for stocks as Brexit chaos looms

Britons could face shortages of fresh food, price rises and less variety if the country leaves the European Union next month without agreeing trade terms, industry officials say. 19 Feb 01:00 ET / 06:00 GMT

WALMART-RESULTS/ (PIX) Q4 2019 Walmart Inc Earnings Release

The world's largest retailer is expected to report holiday-quarter comparable sales growth that could be its best in three years as investments in its business drive more traffic through its doors. 19 Feb 07:00 ET / 12:00 GMT

USA-TRADE/EU EU Parliament's trade committee votes on whether to back U.S. negotiating mandates

The international trade committee of the European Parliament votes in non-binding resolution on whether to support starting trade talks with the United States, with some opposition to do so given U.S. tariffs on metal imports and the threat to extend them to cars 19 Feb 04:00 ET / 09:00 GMT

USA-FED/MESTER Cleveland Federal Reserve Bank President Mester speaks on economy

Federal Reserve Bank of Cleveland President Loretta Mester speaks on the economic outlook and monetary policy before the 2019 Economic Forecast hosted by the University of Delaware Center for Economic Education and Entrepreneurship and Lyons Companies, in Newark, Del. 19 Feb 08:50 ET / 13:50 GMT

CANADA-CRUDE/RAILWAYS Alberta province premier to update on crude by rail negotiations

Premier Rachel Notley will provide an update on the status of crude by rail negotiations as the province of Alberta steps up efforts to move stranded Canadian crude oil to the refineries in the United States 19 Feb 01:30 ET / 06:30 GMT

ARTS / CULTURE / ENTERTAINMENT AWARDS-OSCARS/CAMPAIGNS (PIX)

Want to win an Oscar? Spend millions on the film campaign trail Making an unforgettable movie is not the only requirement to win the prestigious best picture Oscar. Add millions of dollars for TV and digital ads, plus actors' travel, hair and makeup for events to promote their work on the busy film campaign trail.

19 Feb 07:00 ET / 12:00 GMT ART-ABRAMOVIC/SERPENTINE (PIX) (TV)

Marina Abramovic goes digital at London's Serpentine Galleries The performance artist presents 'The Life in Mixed Reality', a wearable augmented reality experience.

19 Feb 06:00 ET / 11:00 GMT


POST A COMMENT