International Development News
Development News Edition
Give Feedback
Cricket World Cup 2019

REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 6 a.m.GMT/ 2 a.m.ET


Reuters
Updated: 14-06-2019 11:25 IST
REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 6 a.m.GMT/ 2 a.m.ET

The United States blamed Iran for attacks on two oil tankers in the Gulf of Oman on Thursday that drove up oil prices LCOc1 and raised concerns about a new U.S.-Iranian confrontation, but Tehran bluntly denied the allegation.

HONGKONG-EXTRADITION/ Banks re-open as Hong Kong returns to normal ahead of weekend protest

HONG KONG (Reuters) - Police kept a close watch over central Hong Kong as the Asian financial hub returned to normalcy on Friday, with banks re-opening branches closed during violent protests against a proposed extradition bill with mainland China. U.S.

POLICE-SHOOTING-TENNESSEE/ Police say black man killed in Memphis was sought in shooting

MEMPHIS, Tenn. (Reuters) - A young black man slain by federal agents as they tried to arrest him in Memphis, touching off violent protests, was wanted in the shooting of a man in Mississippi earlier this month, law enforcement officials said on Thursday. USA-TRUMP-POLITICS-MEDDLING/

Democrats: Trump comments give green light to foreign election meddling WASHINGTON (Reuters) - Democratic lawmakers accused President Donald Trump on Thursday of giving Russia the green light to interfere in the 2020 U.S. presidential race, while a top Republican ally said Trump was wrong to say he would accept political dirt from foreign sources.

BUSINESS RUSSIA-ROSNEFT-SECHIN-FLIGHTS-EXCLUSI/

Exclusive - Business and pleasure: how Russian oil giant Rosneft uses its corporate jets (Reuters) - Jets used for corporate travel by Russian state-owned oil major Rosneft flew at least 13 times to Mallorca, Ibiza, Sardinia and the Maldives when CEO Igor Sechin or people from his social circle were in the same vacation spots.

CHINA-TRADE/STEEL China hikes anti-dumping duties on some U.S., EU steel tubes and pipes

BEIJING (Reuters) - China said on Friday it was raising anti-dumping duties on certain alloy-steel seamless tubes and pipes used at utilities and imported from the United States and the European Union. ENTERTAINMENT

PEOPLE-CUBAGOODING-JR/ Cuba Gooding Jr. charged with groping woman in Manhattan bar

NEW YORK (Reuters) - Actor Cuba Gooding Jr. was charged on Thursday with groping a woman at a Manhattan bar last weekend, New York City police said. PEOPLE-LEONARD-COHEN/

Leonard Cohen's love letters to Marianne fetch $876,000 at auction LOS ANGELES (Reuters) - A collection of more than 50 love letters written by Canadian singer-songwriter Leonard Cohen to the woman who inspired “So Long, Marianne” has sold for $876,000, with many going for more than five times their pre-sale estimates, Christie’s auction house said on Thursday.

SPORTS BASKETBALL-NBA-GSW-TOR/

Dino-mite! Raptors win Canada's first NBA championship OAKLAND, Calif. (Reuters) - The Toronto Raptors delivered Canada its first NBA title with a 114-110 victory over the two-time defending champion Golden State Warriors on Thursday that set off a country-wide celebration.

GOLF-USOPEN/ Rose rides hot putter to U.S. Open lead

PEBBLE BEACH, California (Reuters) - Justin Rose rode a red-hot putter to an opening round of six-under-par 65 and a one-shot lead at the U.S Open on Thursday while Tiger Woods and two-time defending champion Brooks Koepka turned in scrappy efforts to stay in contention. UPCOMING

POLITICS / INTERNATIONAL AFFAIRS NORWAY-GERMANY/

German foreign minister meets Norwegian counterpart in Oslo German Foreign Minister Heiko Maas is in Oslo for the launch of a Norwegian white paper on multilateral cooperation under pressure. Will meet his Norwegian counterpart Ine Eriksen Soereide. 14 Jun 07:00 ET / 11:00 GMT

USA-ELECTION/WARREN Elizabeth Warren launches new policy proposal Democratic presidential Candidate Elizabeth Warren to release new policy proposal.

14 Jun 09:30 ET / 13:30 GMT VENEZUELA-MIGRATION/ (PIX) (TV)

SPECIAL REPORT: They fled Venezuela’s crisis by boat - then vanished Reuters reconstructs the disappearance of six members of one Venezuelan family who were shipwrecked while attempting to flee to Trinidad, underscoring the ever-more perilous lengths Venezuelans are taking to escape a nation in freefall.

14 Jun 07:00 ET / 11:00 GMT SWISS-WOMEN/ (PIX) (TV)

Swiss women strike for rights, equality, nearly 30 yrs after first historic strike Women go on strike to fight for their rights, equal pay, and against discrimination, nearly thirty years after a first historic strike in 1991. First action will take place at midnight in Lausanne, with a fire on one of the main city square, followed by breakfast on bridge at 0600GMT, picnic at 0900GMT.

14 Jun 09:00 ET / 13:00 GMT USA-HUAWEI/EXPLAINER

EXPLAINER-Can Huawei get a $1 billion patent deal with Verizon? Huawei is demanding Verizon Communications Inc pay $1 billion for the rights to patented technology, signaling a potential shift in the embattled Chinese company's strategy for the U.S. market. This piece explains why the patent dispute is not unusual and how it could be resolved.

14 Jun 07:00 ET / 11:00 GMT CONFLICTS / WAR / PEACE

TURKEY-SECURITY/USA President Erdogan departs Turkey on trip to Tajikistan and could comment on U.S. row

President Tayyip Erdogan departs Turkey on a trip to Tajikistan and may comment at the airport on a row with the United States about Ankara's purchase of Russian S-400 missile defence systems despite U.S. warnings that it will lead to Ankara's exclusion from the F-35 fighter jet programme. 14 Jun 08:00 ET / 12:00 GMT

BUSINESS / ECONOMICS USA-FARM/HEMP (PIX) (TV)

Forget soybeans: U.S. farmers rush to plant hemp as trade war drags on With commodity grain prices painfully low due to the U.S.-China trade war, U.S. farmers are experimenting with a crop that promises huge profits: industrialized hemp.

14 Jun 06:00 ET / 10:00 GMT EU-TRADE/ (PIX) (TV)

EU trade commissioner speaks to Reuters European Trade Commissioner Cecilia Malmstrom speaks to Reuters ahead of event (and possible UN resolution) on "torture-free trade".

14 Jun 05:45 ET / 09:45 GMT QATAR-EMIRATES/WORLDCOURT

World Court rules on UAE request for measures against Qatar The International Court of Justice (ICJ), the highest United Nations court for disputes between states, rules on a summary request by the United Arab Emirates for provisional measures against Qatar in a case of alleged racial discrimination filed in June 2018.

14 Jun 09:00 ET / 13:00 GMT SPORTS

GOLF-USOPEN/ (PIX) (TV) Golf - U.S. Open second round

Coverage of the second round of the major championship at Pebble Beach. 14 Jun 09:45 ET / 13:45 GMT

ODDLY ENOUGH BELGIUM-BEER/MONKS (PIX) (TV)

Belgian trappist brewers unveil new way to sell their award-winning beers Belgian trappist monks, makers of a beer once dubbed the best in the world, announce new way of selling their brew to overhaul current system that is both cumbersome and open to profiteers

14 Jun 04:00 ET / 08:00 GMT RELIGION

POLAND-CHURCH/ABUSE (PIX) (TV) Vatican’s senior abuse investigator visits Poland, bishops give newser

Maltese Archbishop Charles Scicluna, the Vatican’s senior abuse investigator, visits Poland at the invitation of the Polish bishops to hold a study day on the protection of young people and children. His visit comes amid public outcry over a documentary on clerical abuse. The Polish episcopate will give a news conference at the end of his visit. 14 Jun 07:00 ET / 11:00 GMT

(This story has not been edited by Devdiscourse staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)


POST A COMMENT