Left Menu
Development News Edition

REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 6 a.m. GMT/2 p.m. SGT.

Reuters | Updated: 29-08-2019 11:33 IST | Created: 29-08-2019 11:33 IST
REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 6 a.m. GMT/2 p.m. SGT.

China rotated troops in its People’s Liberation Army garrison in Hong Kong on Thursday, days before protesters planned to hold a march calling for full democracy for the Chinese-ruled city after three months of sometimes violent demonstrations.

MIDEAST-IRAN-MALAYSIA/ U.S. should honor nuclear deal if it wants talks: Iran foreign minister

KUALA LUMPUR (Reuters) - Iran’s Foreign Minister Mohammad Javad Zarif said on Thursday the United States must observe the 2015 nuclear deal and stop engaging in “economic terrorism” against the Iranian people if Washington wants to meet for talks. U.S.

STORM-DORIAN/ Trump slams 'corrupt' Puerto Rico as Hurricane Dorian skirts island

President Donald Trump lashed out at Puerto Rico on Wednesday, calling it “one of the most corrupt places on earth” before an approaching hurricane skirted the U.S. territory, stirring up memories of previous devastating storms. USA-IMMIGRATION-MILITARY/

Trump administration tightens citizenship rules for children of U.S. military abroad Some children born to U.S. citizens stationed abroad as government employees or members of the U.S. military will no longer qualify for automatic American citizenship under a policy change unveiled on Wednesday by the Trump administration.

BUSINESS USA-TRADE-CHINA-TARIFFS/

Retailers howl as U.S. trade agency locks in 15% tariffs on September 1 WASHINGTON/DECATUR, Ill. (Reuters) - The Trump administration on Wednesday made official its extra 5% tariff on $300 billion in Chinese imports and set collection dates of Sept. 1 and Dec. 15, prompting hundreds of U.S. retail, footwear, toy and technology companies to warn of price hikes.

CAPITAL-ONE-FIN-CYBER/ U.S. jury indicts suspected Capital One hacker on wire fraud, data theft charges

A federal grand jury has indicted the suspected hacker who obtained personal information of over 100 million people in the Capital One Financial Corp data breach on charges of wire fraud and computer data theft, the U.S. Department of Justice (DOJ) said on Wednesday. ENTERTAINMENT

FILMFESTIVAL-VENICE-THE-TRUTH-PRESSER/ Deneuve, Binoche face off in Kore-eda's family drama 'The Truth'

VENICE, Italy (Reuters) - For his first movie directed outside of his native Japan, filmmaker Hirokazu Kore-eda traveled to Paris to work with two of France’s top leading ladies in “La Verite” (The Truth), a drama fraught with family tensions. SOUTHKOREA-KPOP-SCANDAL/

K-pop guru questioned by police amid gambling, sex scandals SEOUL (Reuters) - The music producer behind some of South Korea’s biggest K-pop stars was questioned by police on Thursday in connection with an investigation into illegal gambling and prostitution that has rocked the music industry.

SPORTS TENNIS-USOPEN-DJOKOVIC/

Djokovic survives injury scare to advance at U.S. Open NEW YORK (Reuters) - Novak Djokovic’s U.S. Open title defense just got a little tougher on Wednesday as a recent shoulder issue flared up and nearly knocked the Serbian out of a second-round match that tested his resolve.

GOLF-EUROPEAN-MCILROY/ McIlroy no fan of compacted majors schedule

Rory McIlroy is not a fan of golf's new compacted major schedule and fears it might make the sport irrelevant to fans for much of the year, the world number two said on Wednesday. UPCOMING

POLITICS / INTERNATIONAL AFFAIRS GERMANY-GREECE/ (PIX) (TV)

Merkel, Greek Prime Minister Kyriakos Mitsotakis speak to reporters Chancellor Angela Merkel welcomes Greece's new Prime Minister Kyriakos Mitsotakis with military honors at Berlin's chancellery before they speak to reporters.

29 Aug 06:00 ET / 10:00 GMT BRAZIL-ENVIRONMENT/POLITICS

Amazon fire crisis hurts Brazil's Bolsonaro abroad, but not at home Brazilian President Jair Bolsonaro might have become an international pariah over the fires burning in the Amazon, but at home few are bothered. The economy is what he’ll be judged on, say politicians and analysts.

29 Aug 13:00 ET / 17:00 GMT GERMANY-MIDEAST/ABBAS (PIX) (TV)

Merkel, Palestinian President Mahmoud Abbas speak to reporters in Berlin German Chancellor Angela Merkel and Palestinian President Mahmoud Abbas speak to reporters ahead of their meeting in Berlin.

29 Aug 04:45 ET / 08:45 GMT IRAQ-MILITIAS/USA (PIX) (TV)

Baghdad's crackdown on Iran-allied militias faces resistance At checkpoints leading into the northern Iraqi city of Mosul, the flags of Brigade 30, a paramilitary force, still fly nearly two months after the Baghdad government ordered all militias to leave.

29 Aug 02:00 ET / 06:00 GMT ITALY-POLITICS/ (PIX) (TV)

Italian president meets Conte, expected to give new govt mandate Italian President Sergio Mattarella has summoned outgoing Prime Minister Giuseppe Conte for a meeting on Thursday at 9.30 a.m. (0730 GMT). The head of state is expected to give Conte a mandate to try to form a new government.

29 Aug 03:30 ET / 07:30 GMT TURKEY-ERDOGAN/

Turkey's Erdogan makes speaks at awards ceremony Turkish President Tayyip Erdogan speaks at an awards ceremony of a radio and television journalists' association and may comment on Syria or relations with Russia or the United States.

29 Aug 13:00 ET / 17:00 GMT CONFLICTS / WAR / PEACE

CHINA-DEFENCE/ Regular monthly Chinese Defence Ministry briefing

Regular monthly briefing by the Chinese Defence Ministry, where topics including the South China Sea and military relations with the United States can come up. 29 Aug 03:00 ET / 07:00 GMT

EU-DEFENCE/ (TV) EU defence ministers meet

EU president Finland hosts defence ministers meeting where they will discuss the impact of climate change on security and defence as well as maritime safety. 29 Aug 06:00 ET / 10:00 GMT

BUSINESS / ECONOMICS MAYBANK-RESULTS/

Malaysia's Maybank to release Q2 results Malaysia's largest bank by assets, Malayan Banking Bhd (Maybank) posts Q2 results.

29 Aug 03:00 ET / 07:00 GMT EASTEUROPE-CLINICS/ (PIX)

Private health firms plan 'conquest' of Eastern Europe In Eastern European states, growing numbers of people are opting for faster access to medical care at private clinics and hospitals. The change is being driven by low public health spending as a share of the economy - which has often led to staff shortages and longer waiting times for tests and surgery - coupled with rising wages.

29 Aug 02:00 ET / 06:00 GMT CHICAGO-BUDGET/

Chicago mayor to detail budget challenges Chicago Mayor Lori Lightfoot, who took office in May, will deliver a state of the city address that will disclose the size of the deficit in her first budget and her plans to fill the gap.

29 Aug 19:00 ET / 23:00 GMT CIMB-RESULTS/

Malaysia's CIMB to release Q2 results Malaysia's second largest bank by assets, CIMB Group Holdings Bhd posts Q2 results.

29 Aug 04:30 ET / 08:30 GMT INSURERS-DISASTERS/ (PIX) (GRAPHIC)

Leave room for the firetruck: Insurers help design mansions to tame disaster losses Bruce Gendelman wanted a mountainside retreat, not a tinderbox, when he bought 12 acres in Aspen, Colorado. But forest fires that have torched huge expanses of nearby land in recent years left him concerned.

29 Aug 14:00 ET / 18:00 GMT GOLDMAN SACHS-CREDIJUSTO/

Goldman Sachs, Point72 and others invest $40 million in Mexico's Credijusto Goldman Sachs Group Inc, Point72 Ventures and others invested $40 million in a Mexico-based online lender called Credijusto.com, the companies said Thursday. Founded in 2015, Credijusto has originated $90 million in loans and equipment leases to small businesses like dry cleaners and mechanics across Mexico, according to statement from the company and investors.

29 Aug 07:00 ET / 11:00 GMT USA-CRUDE/GULF COAST

U.S. sour crude prices slide ahead of 2020 maritime fuel rules -traders U.S. sour crude prices have tumbled to the lowest in a year alongside a drop in high-sulfur fuel oil ahead of new environmental rules set to curb emissions from ocean-going vessels, traders said.

29 Aug 05:00 ET / 09:00 GMT CHINA-PHILIPPINES/ (PIX) (TV)

Philippines' Duterte to meet with Xi in China Philippine President Rodrigo Duterte is due to hold talks with President Xi Jinping, and has promised to raise with him the 2016 Permanent Court of Arbitration ruling that invalidated China's controversial nine-dash line in the South China Sea.

29 Aug 07:00 ET / 11:00 GMT ARTS / CULTURE / ENTERTAINMENT

FILMFESTIVAL-VENICE/ALMODOVAR (PIX) (TV) Pedro Almodovar honoured with Venice career Golden Lion

Spanish director Pedro Almodovar is presented with the Golden Lion for Lifetime Achievement honour at the 76th Venice Film Festival. 29 Aug 08:00 ET / 12:00 GMT

FILMFESTIVAL-VENICE/AD ASTRA (PIX) (TV) Brad Pitt, Liv Tyler premiere 'Ad Astra' in Venice

Actors Brad Pitt and Liv Tyler walk the red carpet with director James Gray for the world premiere of their new movie 'Ad Astra' at the 76th Venice Film Festival. 29 Aug 16:00 ET / 20:00 GMT

FILMFESTIVAL-VENICE/MARRIAGE STORY (TV) 'Marriage Story' premieres in Venice

Actors Scarlett Johansson and Adam Driver walk the red carpet with director Noah Baumbach at the world premiere of their new film "Marriage Story" which is screening in competition at the 76th Venice Film Festival. 29 Aug 12:00 ET / 16:00 GMT

SPORTS TENNIS-USOPEN/ (PIX) (TV)

Tennis - U.S. Open Action from round two of the U.S. Open - the fourth and final grand slam of the year.

29 Aug 11:00 ET / 15:00 GMT


TRENDING

OPINION / BLOG / INTERVIEW

New farm bills in India: Focusing on farms or farmers?

... ...

Kenya’s COVID-19 response: Chaos amid lack of information

Confusing numbers and scanty information on how effective curfews and lockdowns have been in breaking transmission have amplified coordination and planning challenges in Kenyas response to COVID-19. Without accurate data, it is impossible t...

Farkhad Akhmedov: Calculating the price of impunity from the law

In insistences such as the battle over the Luna, Akhmedov has resorted to extreme legal machinations to subvert the High Courts decision and keep his assets from being seized. ...

Guinea’s elections hearken back to the autocracy and violence of its past

... ...

Videos

Latest News

Slovakia's mass coronavirus testing attracts tens of thousands

Slovakias pilot testing in coronavirus hotspots attracted tens of thousands people over the weekend, showing an infection rate of 3.87, government data showed on Sunday. The government plans to widen the scope to the whole country next week...

U.S. announces new Nagorno-Karabakh ceasefire as fighting persists

The United States on Sunday said a new humanitarian ceasefire will take effect on Monday in the conflict between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the enclave of Nagorno-Karabakh, even as fresh fighting erupted between the two sides who blame eac...

Motor racing-Newgarden win not enough to deny Dixon sixth IndyCar title

Josef Newgarden won the St. Petersburg Grand Prix on Sunday but Scott Dixon still claimed a sixth IndyCar drivers crown, leaving the New Zealander just one title shy of legendary AJ Foyts record of seven. It was Newgardens fourth win of the...

Australia's coronavirus hot spot reports zero cases for first time since June

Australias coronavirus hot spot of Victoria on Monday reported zero cases of the new coronavirus for the first time since June, a day after the state delayed the easing of restrictions because of a fresh outbreak in Melbournes northern subu...

Give Feedback