International Development News
Development News Edition
Give Feedback

No candidate has so far filed nomination for Assam's Barpeta constituency

Devdiscourse News Desk Guwahati
Updated: 01-04-2019 19:47 IST
No candidate has so far filed nomination for Assam's Barpeta constituency

Altogether eight nominations have been filed for the third and final phase of polls to four Parliamentary constituencies in Assam till Monday, an election office spokesperson said. BJP candidate Queen Oja and her rival Bobbeeta Sharma of the Congress have filed their nominations for the Gauhati Lok Sabha seat while Independent candidate Selina Sultana for Dhubri constituency and Rajesh Narzary of Voter's Party International (VPI) filed his papers for Kokrajhar constituency on Monday.

AIUDF Chief Badruddin Ajmal, AITC's Nurul Islam Choudhury and Independent Asrof Ali- had earlier filed their papers Dhubri seat. In Barpeta constituency, no candidate has so far filed their nomination. The last date of filing of nomination for the last phase is April 4 next, scrutiny is on April 5 and the last date of withdrawal is April eight. The constituencies going to polls in the last phase scheduled on April 23 are Gauhati, Barpeta, Dhubri and Kokrajhar.

Polling will be held for the first phase on April 11 for the constituencies of Tezpur, Kaliabor, Jorhat, Dibrugarh and Lakhimpur where 41 candidates are in fray while in the second phase, 50 candidates are in fray for the constituencies of Karimganj (SC), Silchar, Autonomous District (ST) and Nowgong.

(With inputs from agencies.)