Left Menu
Development News Edition

Phase 2 polls in UP to decide fate of Raj Babbar, Hema Malini

Phase 2 polls in UP to decide fate of Raj Babbar, Hema Malini

Uttar Pradesh Congress president Raj Babbar and another actor-turned-politician Hema Malini are among the 85 candidates contesting for eight Lok Sabha seats in the second phase of elections in the state on Thursday. Polling will be held in Nagina (SC), Amroha, Bulandshahr (SC), Aligarh, Hathras (SC), Fatehpur Sikri, Mathura and Agra (SC).

Fatehpur Sikri will see a triangular battle between Babbar, BJP's Rajkumar Chahar and BSP's Shreebhagwan Sharma, who is a two-time MLA from Debai assembly constituency of Bulandshahr. While in the temple-town constituency of Mathura, Bollywood "dream girl" of yesteryears, Hema Malini, is seeking re-election after winning the seat in the 2014 general elections.

The other candidates in the fray are Kunwar Narendra Singh of the Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) and Mahesh Pathak of the Congress. In Amroha, sitting BJP MP Kanwar Singh Tanwar will lock horns with Bahujan Samaj Party's Kunwar Danish Al, who recently joined the party after quitting as the general secretary of the Janata Dal-Secular.

The eight Lok Sabha seats were bagged by the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in 2014. This time it faces a tough fight from the SP-BSP-RLD alliance. In this phase, the BSP has fielded candidates for six of the eight constituencies -- Nagina, Amroha, Bulandshahr, Aligarh, Agra and Fatehpur Sikri. The SP and the RLD have fielded one candidate each from Hathras and Mathura respectively.

Apart from Hema Malini and Tanwar, the BJP has retained three other MPs - Yashwant Singh (Nagina), Bhola Singh (Bulandshahr) and Satish Gautam (Aligarh). The Election Commission has set up 16,162 polling booths in 8,751 polling centres for this phase in the state.

In Agra, UP animal husbandry, minor irrigation and fisheries minister S P Singh Baghel (BJP) will take on Preeta Harit of the Congress and Manoj Kumar Soni of the BSP. In Aligarh, the fight is between Gautam (BJP), Ajeet Baliyan (BSP) and Bijendra Singh (Congress) while in Hathras, Rajvir Diler of the BJP will take on Ramji Lal Suman of the Samajwadi Party and Triloki Ram of the Congress.

In Bulandshahr, the contest figures Bhola Singh (BJP), Yogesh Verma (BSP) and Banshi Singh (Congress). The Nagina constituency will see Singh defending his turf against Omvati Devi of the Congress and Girish Chandra of the BSP.

While Singh is a former SP leader, Devi has been with all the four principal parties in the state - SP, BSP, BJP and Congress - at different times of her political career.

(This story has not been edited by Devdiscourse staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

Download The Devdiscourse News App for Latest News.



Future of Food: Technology fostering the road to global food security

Technological innovation can help address most of the pressing issues facing the world today including food security by enhancing productivity, improving financial services, managing resources, addressing environmental concerns, etc....

Conspiracy theories on COVID 19: Legislators, Scientists, and Journalists all joined the Caravan

Conspiracy theories are not new for virus epidemics. There have been conspiracy theories on HIV-AIDS, Polio Vaccines, Ebola Virus, and several other diseases as well. However, what makes the 2019 Novel Coronavirus different from others is ...

Now it’s a war, Uganda deploys army to combat locust swarms

Its for the first time after 1986, the locust swarms have attacked Uganda twice in a season. With the increasing number of countries of Africa under attack by locust swarms, the problem seems to have taken a regional paradigm. Its very diff...

Top 10 Fake News, Myths and Realities on 2019 Novel Coronavirus COVID 19

With nearly 1500 deaths by January 14 and around 65,000 infections in China, the Novel Coronavirus 2019 has become one of the worst health epidemics of the 21st Century. However, 8,573 people have been cured but the rumor mongers are a...


Latest News

UPDATE 4-New start or continuity? Merkel party leadership race kicks off

A long-time opponent of Angela Merkel promised to oversee a new start for her struggling Christian Democrats CDU on Tuesday as he lined up against two rivals in the race to take over Germanys main conservative party.The CDU plans to pick a ...

UPDATE 2-U.S. Supreme Court bars lawsuit over cross-border shooting of Mexican teen

The U.S. Supreme Court on Tuesday barred a lawsuit against a Border Patrol agent for fatally shooting a 15-year-old Mexican boy on Mexican soil from across the border in Texas, refusing to open the door for foreign nationals to pursue civil...

UPDATE 3-First Iraqis catch coronavirus amid fear of Iran epidemic spillover

Iraq shut schools and universities on Tuesday and told citizens to avoid mass gatherings, as it rushed to prevent the spread of the coronavirus from its neighbor Iran, hit by what appears to be the worst outbreak outside of China.An Iraqi f...

Bangladesh to invite Pranab Mukherjee to special parliament session

Bangladesh will invite former president Pranab Mukherjee to address a special Parliament session on March 22 and 23 to mark the Mujib Year, coinciding with its founder Sheikh Mujibur Rahmans birth centenary. Nepalese President Bidhya Devi B...

Give Feedback