International Development News
Development News Edition
Give Feedback

Agriculture Today to confer International Leadership Award 2019 to Suresh Prabu

Suresh Prabhu, MP and former Union Commerce Minister has been selected for the International Leadership Award 2019 of Agriculture Today Magazine. In its 9th edition of Agriculture Awards the magazine has selected 20 personalities for awards.

PR Professionals New Delhi
Updated: 09-07-2019 12:23 IST
Agriculture Today to confer International Leadership Award 2019 to Suresh Prabu

Image Credit: Twitter (@sureshpprabhu)

Agriculture Today Group, a media house focussing on agriculture and related issues, on Tuesday announced the much-awaited list of coveted national awards in agriculture, the 9th Agriculture Leadership Awards with 20 awardees, which includes 8 individuals, 4 State Governments and 8 industry and institutions.

The International Leadership Award 2019 goes to Suresh Prabhu, MP and former Union Commerce Minister and currently Prime Minister Narendra Modi's Sherpa for G20, who is playing a key role in positioning India globally towards advancing its economic interest, closely coordinating with G20 nations that together account for 90 per cent of the global GDP. As a Sherpa of PM Modi, Prabhu is responsible for preparing grounds for the Prime Minister at international summits. As Commerce Minister, Prabhu significantly increased Indian exports and successfully reversed the declining trend in agro exports by signing a number of trade agreements with prominent countries. He is also credited to have crafted India's first ever Agri Exports Policy, which was launched in December 2018. The policy aims to double the Agri Exports from India in the next five years time.

The Farming Leadership Award has been announced for Om Prakash Dhankar, Agriculture Minister of Haryana, who relentlessly worked in advancing the interest of farmers and connecting them with markets. According to the organisers of the organiser, as the chief of BJP Kisan Moracha, he organized farmers and created awareness on the issues concerning them. "As the agriculture Minister, he launched a large number of schemes to transform farmers into farm entrepreneurs, with financial allocations benefitting many farmers," said Agriculture Today in citations for Dhankar. The Technology Leadership Award will be shared by MicroAlgae Solutions India Private Limited, a biotechnology-based company with the mission to develop and commercialise innovative high-quality products derived from microalgae and Dr. M. Moni, Chairman, ICFA Working Group on ICT and former Director General, National Informatics Centre, who commands 35 years of experience in the field of e-Governance and Informatics.

Dr. Renu Swarup, the Secretary, Department of Biotechnology will be presented with Research Leadership Award for her close involvement in programmes and activities related to Bioresource development and utilisation, Energy Sciences and in Women & Science. Dr. Swarup has been selected for the award for her active engagement in the formulation of the Biotechnology Vision in 2001, National Biotechnology Development Strategy in 2007 and Strategy II, 2015-20 as the Member Secretary of the Expert Committee. Dr. Shravan M Haldhar, Scientist at Central Institute for Arid Horticulture, Bikaner, will be honoured with young scientist award for his outstanding contributions to the development of pest management techniques for the horticulture sector. Academic leadership award will be presented to Amity University for academic excellence in agriculture and allied sectors and the Development Leadership will be offered to NASSCOM, a not-for-profit industry association which has been relentlessly offering and aiding the agriculture sector with their IT solutions.

This year the Entrepreneur Leadership award is bagged by R Tamil Selvan, Chairman and founder of Salem RR Biryani, Chennai who is not only a food entrepreneur but also a philanthropist. Industry giant, EID Parry Limited wins this year's Industry Leadership Award for innovation and promotion of best practices in agriculture on all fronts. Ascen HyVeg Limited, the fastest Indian growing company in vegetable seed sector is this year's winner of the Agribusiness Leadership Award for their commendable role in making available quality seeds to the farmers.

Pioneers in innovations and technological up-gradation, Sonalika ITL has been conferred with the Innovation Leadership Award for their ease of innovation and in developing products that are customised according to the customer requirements. FMC APG, leaders in the Agro Chemical Industry in India will be awarded the Corporate Leadership award who have been serving Indian farmers with a broad Agricultural Solutions portfolio, and CSR Leadership Award goes to ITC Limited Agri Business Division for their effortless integration of sustainability as the foundation of the corporate strategy. This year Bihar has been adjudged as the best agriculture state, Gujarat as the Best Animal Husbandry State, Mizoram as the Best Horticulture State and Odisha the Best Fisheries State for their stellar performances in the respective sectors.

Policy Leadership Award will be presented to Dr. Ashok Dalwai, the CEO of National Rainfed Area Authority and who also Chairs the Empowered Body on Doubling of Farmers Income. A policymaker par excellence, focusing on inclusive development, Dr. Dalwai has played a crucial part in envisaging policies that had imparted a profound impact on India's agricultural sector and lives of the farming community.

Agronomist, academician and administrator, Dr. Panjab Singh currently the president of National Academy of Agricultural Sciences will be presented with the Lifetime achievement award for his unparalleled leadership and stellar research prowess spanning over several decades have helped further the agricultural potential of the country.