International Development News
Development News Edition
Give Feedback

REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 6 a.m. GMT/2 a.m. ET


Reuters
Updated: 13-07-2019 11:31 IST
REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 6 a.m. GMT/2 a.m. ET

Gibraltar police said on Friday that all four crew members of the Iranian Grace 1 tanker have been released on bail without charge after it was detained last week on suspicion of breaking European sanctions by taking oil to Syria.

USA-LEBANON-HEZBOLLAH Hezbollah leader says U.S. seeking to talk

BEIRUT (Reuters) - The leader of Hezbollah said on Friday that Washington was seeking to open channels of communication despite ramping up sanctions against the Iran-backed movement’s officials. U.S.

STORM-BARRY New Orleans residents huddle at home, and in bars, ahead of hurricane

NEW ORLEANS (Reuters) - Tropical Storm Barry, poised to make landfall as the first Atlantic hurricane of 2019, churned ever closer to Louisiana’s shore early on Saturday as most New Orleans residents huddled at home, or in bars, bracing for the threat of severe flooding. PEOPLE-JEFFREY-EPSTEIN-FILING

Epstein sought to pay off potential witnesses, U.S. prosecutors say NEW YORK (Reuters) - Jailed American financier Jeffrey Epstein made payments to two potential witnesses seeking to influence them in the child sex trafficking case against him late last year, prosecutors said late on Friday.

BUSINESS FACEBOOK-FTC

U.S. regulators approve $5 billion Facebook settlement over privacy issues: source The U.S. Federal Trade Commission approved a roughly $5 billion settlement with Facebook Inc this week over its investigation into the social media company’s handling of user data, a source familiar with the situation said on Friday.

USA-STOCKS-WEEKAHEAD Wall St. Week Ahead: Union Pacific, other freight co earnings eyed for tariff effects

NEW YORK (Reuters) - Results from two major U.S. railroads next week are likely to attract more scrutiny than usual as investors look for signs of how deeply U.S. President Donald Trump’s multi-front trade war is affecting freight companies and the wider economy. ENTERTAINMENT

PEOPLE-RKELLY Singer R. Kelly charged in sex scheme of kidnapping and payoffs

CHICAGO (Reuters) - Singer R. Kelly, already charged with sexual assault in Illinois, was indicted in federal courts in New York and Chicago on Friday with transporting women and girls across state lines for sex, forcibly keeping them under his control and buying their silence. FILM-LION-KING-REVIEWS

New 'Lion King' movie lands with a critical whimper LOS ANGELES (Reuters) - The much-anticipated new version of animated movie classic “The Lion King” landed with a whimper rather than a roar on Thursday with critics hailing it as visually impressive but tame in terms of character and storytelling.

SPORTS BASEBALL-MLB-ROUNDUP

MLB roundup: Rodriguez, Red Sox shut down Dodgers Eduardo Rodriguez matched his season high with 10 strikeouts over seven strong innings to lead the Boston Red Sox past the visiting Los Angeles Dodgers 8-1 on Friday night.

FOOTBALL-NFL-NOTEBOOK NFL notebook: 18-game sked under discussion

While the concept of a future 18-game NFL season is nothing new, with players objecting to the wear and tear of an added two games, the Wall Street Journal reported a potential compromise Friday. UPCOMING

POLITICS / INTERNATIONAL AFFAIRS BRITAIN-EU/LEADER-DEBATE (PIX) (TV)

Boris Johnson and Jeremy Hunt take part in Conservative Party leadership hustings Boris Johnson and Jeremy Hunt take part in Conservative Party leadership hustings in race to become Prime Minister. This debate will take place in Wyboston. 13 Jul 07:00 ET / 11:00 GMT

BRITAIN-EU/LEADER-DEBATE (PIX) (TV) Boris Johnson and Jeremy Hunt take part in Conservative Party leadership hustings

Boris Johnson and Jeremy Hunt take part in Conservative Party leadership hustings in race to become Prime Minister. This debate will take place in Colchester. 13 Jul 12:00 ET / 16:00 GMT

CRIME / LAW / JUSTICE HONGKONG-EXTRADITION/MARCH (PIX) (TV)

Hong Kong protesters target new districts popular with mainland Chinese Hong Kong protesters are expected to march in Sheung Shui, a border town close to mainland China. The area has previously been the site of confrontations between local political groups and mainland day trippers, who are alleged to engage in illegal trading activities.

13 Jul 03:30 ET / 07:30 GMT

Also Read: REUTERS SPORTS SCHEDULE AT 6.30 p.m. GMT/2.30 p.m. ET

(This story has not been edited by Devdiscourse staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)


POST A COMMENT