Devdiscourse
Development News Edition
Give Feedback
write for Us

REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 0600 GMT/0100 ET


Reuters
Updated: 29-01-2019 11:30 IST
REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 0600 GMT/0100 ET

Here are the top stories and upcoming coverage plans for Reuters text service as of 6 a.m. GMT/1 a.m. ET. For a full schedule of news and events, go to our editorial calendar on Reuters Connect https://www.reutersconnect.com/planning or on Media Express http://mediaexpress.reuters.com/planning-tools/calendar. TOP STORIES

GLOBAL VALE-SA-DISASTER

After Brazil dam disaster, Vale asks for forgiveness, gets fury Offers of penance from Vale SA for one of the deadliest mining disasters in decades fell on deaf ears in Brazil, where authorities and victims’ families seethed at a death toll from a burst dam likely to exceed 300 people.

VENEZUELA-POLITICS-USA-SANCTIONS U.S. sanctions Venezuelan state oil firm, escalating pressure on Maduro

The Trump administration on Monday imposed sweeping sanctions on Venezuelan state-owned oil firm PDVSA, aimed at severely curbing the OPEC member’s crude exports to the United States and at pressuring socialist President Nicolas Maduro to step down. U.S.

USA-WEATHER Illinois governor issues warning ahead of dangerous polar vortex

The governor of Illinois on Monday issued an emergency preparedness plan ahead of a “historic” polar vortex of cold air and wind descending on much of the U.S., warning residents that temperatures were likely to plunge well below zero. TEXAS-SHOOTING

Four police shot and two suspects killed in Houston gunfight: police Four undercover Houston police officers were shot on Monday as they attempted to serve a warrant in a narcotics investigation and two suspects were killed when police returned fire, police said.

BUSINESS USA-CHINA-HUAWEI-TECH

U.S. charges China's Huawei over alleged Iran sanctions violations The United States on Monday announced criminal charges against China’s Huawei Technologies Co Ltd, escalating a fight with the world’s biggest telecommunications equipment maker and coming days before trade talks between Washington and Beijing.

PG-E-US-BANKRUPTCY-RESTRUCTURINGCHIEF Exclusive: PG&E to tap restructuring chief in final bankruptcy preparations - sources

California utility owner PG&E Corp is preparing to name a restructuring chief as it finalizes preparations for a bankruptcy filing expected to come as soon as early Tuesday morning, people familiar with the matter said. ENTERTAINMENT

SNAP-MESSAGES Exclusive: Snapchat weighs what was once unthinkable - permanent snaps

Snap Inc is considering changes to its Snapchat app, known for disappearing photos and videos, that could make users' public posts longer lasting or even permanent, people familiar with the matter said. PEOPLE-JACKSON-DOCUMENTARY

Michael Jackson's family calls new documentary 'public lynching' The family of Michael Jackson on Monday described reaction to a new documentary about alleged child sex abuse by the late singer as a "public lynching" and said he was "100 percent innocent" of such accusations.

SPORTS FOOTBALL-NFL-SUPERBOWL-BRADY

Super Bowl Opening Night turns into the Brady Show Opening Night turned into the Tom Brady show on Monday as the New England Patriots quarterback once again was the headliner at the media mayhem that kicks off Super Bowl week.

FOOTBALL-NFL-SUPERBOWL-GOFF Rams' Goff says never doubted himself despite early struggles

When Los Angeles Rams quarterback Jared Goff entered the league as the first overall draft pick in 2016 he struggled so badly that some thought he would go down in NFL history as an all-time bust. UPCOMING

POLITICS / INTERNATIONAL AFFAIRS EU-ELECTION/FRANCE-FARRIGHT (PIX) (TV)

Interview with the rising star of Marine Le Pen's French far-right party Interview with Jordan Bardella, the 23-year-old heading Marine Le Pen's European election campaign, on the party's ambitions for Europe, its financing, the risk posed by an emerging "yellow vest" political movement and prospects for a tie-up with populist parties from Austria to Italy to Poland.

29 Jan 09:00 ET / 14:00 GMT NORTHKOREA-NUCLEAR/ (TV)

U.N.-sponsored Conference on Disarmament holds plenary U.N.'s Conference on Disarmament holds plenary with 12 member delegations on speakers' list from last week, including North Korea. Russia may respond to accusations by U.S. ambassador last week that Moscow was violating the Intermediate-range Nuclear Forces Treaty with a new missile system.

29 Jan 04:00 ET / 09:00 GMT GERMANY-POLITICS/HOLOCAUST (PIX) (TV)

German Foreign Minister Heiko Maas meets young Germans at the Holocaust Memorial in Berlin German Foreign Minister Heiko Maas meets young Germans at the Holocaust Memorial in Berlin

29 Jan 06:30 ET / 11:30 GMT EU-EIB/

European Investment Bank holds news conference on results and plans The European Investment Bank holds a news conference on its 2018 results and plans for this year

29 Jan 04:30 ET / 09:30 GMT ISRAEL-ELECTION/GANTZ (PIX) (TV)

Netanyahu election rival Gantz launches campaign Former Israeli military chief Benny Gantz, whose polling closest to Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu ahead of the April 9 election, formally launches campaign. Gantz has kept Israelis guessing about his political platform, making this a much-anticipated event.

29 Jan 12:00 ET / 17:00 GMT BELGIUM-NETHERLANDS/BORDER (PIX) (TV)

Belgium-Netherlands border town somehow functions with two of everything An exclave of Belgium in the Netherlands with several chunks of the Netherlands within it, the town of Baarle has two councils, two postal services and different national laws applying in different parts of the town.

29 Jan 08:00 ET / 13:00 GMT USA-TRUMP/RUSSIA (PIX) (TV)

Longtime Trump ally Roger Stone arraigned President Donald Trump's longtime political ally Roger Stone is arraigned in U.S. District Court in Washington on charges brought by Special Counsel Robert Mueller.

29 Jan 11:00 ET / 16:00 GMT UKRAINE-ELECTION/POROSHENKO (PIX) (TV)

Ukraine President Poroshenko to announce he stands in the election in March Ukraine's President Petro Poroshenko may announce that he will stand in the presidential elections set for March 31.

29 Jan 07:00 ET / 12:00 GMT USA-IMMIGRATION/PENTAGON

U.S. House panel holds hearing on military mission to southern border House Armed Services Committee conducts hearing on Defense Department's mission to U.S.-Mexico border.

29 Jan 10:00 ET / 15:00 GMT BRITAIN-EU/HAMMOND

Finance minister Philip Hammond and his ministers answer questions in parliament British finance minister Philip Hammond and his ministers take part in a regular question session in parliament.

29 Jan 06:30 ET / 11:30 GMT BRITAIN-EU/ (PIX) (TV)

British parliament debates PM May's Brexit 'plan B' British parliament debates Prime Minister Theresa May's Brexit 'plan B' and the alternatives put forward by other lawmakers. They will then vote on different amendments on Tuesday evening.

29 Jan 08:00 ET / 13:00 GMT USA-CONGRESS/YARMUTH (PIX)

House Budget Committee Chair Yarmuth visits Reuters Washington House Budget Committee Chairman John Yarmuth (D-KY) visits Reuters Washington.

29 Jan 08:00 ET / 13:00 GMT CONFLICTS / WAR / PEACE

USA-SECURITY/ (PIX) (TV) Intelligence community leaders testify on 'worldwide threats'

FBI Director Christopher Wray, CIA Director Gina Haspel, Director of National Intelligence Daniel Coats, and other leaders of U.S. intelligence community testify before Senate Intelligence Committee on "worldwide threats." 29 Jan 09:30 ET / 14:30 GMT

GERMANY-MILITARY/ (TV) Military commissioner reports continuing personnel, equipment shortfalls in military

The German parliament's ombudsman for the armed services releases his annual report, which is expected to show continued gaps in personnel and military equipment, even as Defence Minister Ursula von der Leyen faces a parliamentary investigation into irregularities in her ministry's use of outside advisers. 29 Jan 06:30 ET / 11:30 GMT

MIDEAST-CRISIS/SYRIA-TURKEY Turkish President Tayyip Erdogan speaks at a meeting of its ruling Ak Party

Turkish President Tayyip Erdogan attends a meeting of his Ak Party in Ankara. Erdogan is expected to comment on northern Syria. 29 Jan 05:30 ET / 10:30 GMT

CRIME / LAW / JUSTICE EU-CANADA/COURT

EU court adviser gives opinion on EU-Canada free trade agreement European Court of Justice advocate general gives recommendation on EU-Canada free trade agreement, following a question by Belgium on whether the deal is compatible with EU rules, such as on fundamental rights

29 Jan 03:30 ET / 08:30 GMT BUSINESS / ECONOMICS

USA-SHUTDOWN/NATIVEAMERICANS (PIX) FEATURE - 'We know how to survive', but shutdown cut deeper for Native Americans

Native Americans were especially vulnerable during the shutdown - they rely mostly on federal contracts for services and jobs in the Bureau of Indian affairs for incomes. 29 Jan 06:00 ET / 11:00 GMT

LG DISPLAY-RESULTS/ (PIX) LG Display Q4 earnings

An Apple Inc supplier LG Display is scheduled to release its fourth-quarter results. 30 Jan 18:00 ET / 23:00 GMT

LOCKHEED-RESULTS/ Lockheed reports fourth-quarter results

Estimated time. Expected before market open (BMO). 29 Jan 08:30 ET / 13:30 GMT

BRITAIN-EU/ECONOMY Top UK finance regulators quizzed on Brexit

Parliament's Treasury committee questions John Glen, Economic Secretary to the Treasury, Andrew Bailey, Chief Executive, Financial Conduct Authority, Sam Woods, Deputy Governor for Prudential Regulation, Bank of England and Chief Executive Officer, Prudential Regulation Authority about the UK's economic relationship with the EU. 29 Jan 04:15 ET / 09:15 GMT

APPLE-RESULTS/ (PIX) Apple reports first-quarter earnings

Apple Inc is expected to post a drop in its first quarter revenue on Tuesday, due to lower demand for its pricey iPhones. 29 Jan 16:00 ET / 21:00 GMT

ALLERGAN-RESULTS/ (PIX) Allergan to report fourth-quarter financial results

Botox-maker Allergan Plc will report its fourth-quarter earnings on Tuesday. Investors will focus on development updates on the company's treatment portfolio as the drugmaker faces looming competition for its blockbuster eye drug Restasis, and on any comments about progress with the potential sale of two business units which it announced last year. 29 Jan 08:30 ET / 13:30 GMT

EBAY-RESULTS/ (PIX) Ebay reports fourth-quarter earnings

EBay Inc is expected to report a rise in fourth-quarter revenue and profit, as it benefits from tweaks to its website and more advertising on its platform. Investors will be on the lookout for commentary following recommendations of changes to its businesses by two major hedge funds last week. 29 Jan 16:00 ET / 21:00 GMT

VERIZON-RESULTS/ (PIX) Verizon reports fourth quarter results

Verizon Communications Inc is expected to post a rise in quarterly revenue as the largest U.S. wireless carrier adds more net new phone subscribers who pay a monthly bill. 29 Jan 07:00 ET / 12:00 GMT

PFIZER-RESULTS/ (PIX) Pfizer Inc posts fourth-quarter earnings

Pfizer Inc will report fourth-quarter earnings on Tuesday when investors will watch for details on company strategy under new Chief Executive Albert Bourla, who took over the helm at the beginning of the year. The company is expected to comment on its forecast for 2019, when it expects a string of regulatory decisions on its experimental drugs, and share buyback plans. 29 Jan 08:30 ET / 13:30 GMT

XEROX-RESULTS/ (PIX) Xerox reports fourth quarter results

Xerox's revenue is expected to fall as it continues to face declines in its core printing and photocopying business. The company is cutting costs under its new management backed by activist investors Carl Icahn and Darwin Deason, which is expected to help profit. 29 Jan 08:00 ET / 13:00 GMT

SAFRICA-ELECTIONS/ (PIX) South African elections agency voter registration update

Electoral Commission holds press conference on the outcome of final registration weekend for 2019 National and Provincial Elections, expected around May and wherein the ruling ANC looks to consolidate its electoral stranglehold in face of state corruption tarnishing reputation. 29 Jan 03:00 ET / 08:00 GMT

ARTS / CULTURE / ENTERTAINMENT FILMFESTIVAL-BERLIN/LINEUP (PIX) (TV)

Full line-up announced for 69th Berlin Film Festival Organisers of the Berlin Film Festival, known as the Berlinale, hold a news conference to unveil the full programme for the event's 69th edition.

29 Jan 05:00 ET / 10:00 GMT


POST A COMMENT