Development News Edition
Give Feedback
VisionRI - Urban Development

Iguodala replaces LeBron as NBPA first VP

Updated: 19-02-2019 09:18 IST
Iguodala replaces LeBron as NBPA first VP

With LeBron James' term over, Golden State Warriors forward Andre Iguodala was elected first vice president of the National Basketball Players Association on Monday. Iguodala has been a vice president on the NBPA executive committee since 2013.

"I am honored to be chosen by my peers to step into this position and take on a larger responsibility within the NBPA," Iguodala said in statement released by the union. "I look forward to continuing my work with (NBPA executive director) Michele (Roberts), Chris Paul and the Executive Committee to accomplish the best possible outcomes for the union and our future members." Paul, a Houston Rockets star, is currently serving a four-year term as the NBPA's president.

Also on Monday, Milwaukee Bucks guard Malcolm Brogdon, Boston Celtics guard Jaylen Brown and Charlotte Hornets center Bismack Biyombo were elected VPs on the executive committee, replacing free agent Carmelo Anthony, Warriors guard Steph Curry and Iguodala. All three's terms expired. All newly elected officials begin serving immediately. "Malcolm, Jaylen and Bismack have all shown a great commitment to the union since they arrived in the league," Paul said in a statement. "I have no doubt they will bring a fresh perspective and passion to the Executive Committee and I am excited to start working with them."

The rest of the NBPA executive committee leadership consists of San Antonio Spurs big man Pau Gasol, Portland Trail Blazers guard CJ McCollum and Los Angeles Clippers guard Garrett Temple (all VPs), as well as Minnesota Timberwolves forward Anthony Tolliver, who is the committee secretary-treasurer. This is not the first time James and Iguodala have made headlines together. In the 2016 NBA Finals, James made one of the greatest defensive plays in recent NBA history, chasing down Iguodala to block a layup attempt late in Game 7 to help preserve the Cavaliers' championship -- the first major professional sports championship won by a Cleveland team in 52 years.

--Field Level Media