Devdiscourse
Development News Edition
Give Feedback
VisionRI - Urban Development

REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 0600 GMT/0200 ET


Reuters
Updated: 16-05-2019 11:31 IST
REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 0600 GMT/0200 ET

Brexit-supporting rebels in British Prime Minister Theresa May’s Conservative Party said on Wednesday they would vote down her European Union divorce deal when she brings it back to parliament next month.

JAPAN-IRAN-ZARIF Iran says exercising restraint despite 'unacceptable' escalation of U.S. sanctions

TOKYO (Reuters) - Iran is committed to its obligations under an international nuclear deal despite the U.S. withdrawal from the landmark agreement, its foreign minister said on Thursday, calling the reimposition of U.S sanctions “unacceptable”. U.S.

USA-ABORTION-ALABAMA Alabama governor signs strictest U.S. abortion ban into law

Alabama’s governor signed a bill on Wednesday to ban nearly all abortions in the state, even in cases of rape and incest, in the latest challenge by conservatives to the landmark U.S. Supreme Court decision establishing a woman’s right to terminate her pregnancy. NEW-YORK-CRASH

Helicopter crashes into Hudson River in New York, injuring two NEW YORK (Reuters) - A helicopter crashed into the Hudson River in New York City on Wednesday shortly after taking off from Manhattan, causing minor injuries to the pilot and a dockworker, police and fire officials said.

BUSINESS USA-TRADE-CHINA

U.S. blacklists China's Huawei as trade dispute clouds global outlook WASHINGTON (Reuters) - The Trump administration hit Chinese telecoms giant Huawei with severe sanctions on Wednesday, adding another incendiary element to the U.S.-China trade dispute just as Treasury Secretary Steven Mnuchin said he would visit China soon for more talks.

INVESTMENT-FUNDS-BERKSHIRE Buffett's Berkshire unveils $861 million Amazon stake

Warren Buffett’s Berkshire Hathaway Inc said it owned $860.6 million of Amazon.com Inc shares at the end of March, after the billionaire admitted to underestimating the online retailer and its Chief Executive Jeff Bezos. ENTERTAINMENT

MUSIC-STONES-JAGGER Moves like Jagger: Stones' frontman posts dance video after health scare

Rolling Stones singer Mick Jagger posted a video of his trademark dance moves on Twitter on Wednesday to show the world he is back in shape following heart valve surgery. FILMFESTIVAL-CANNES-JOHN-CARPENTER

Cult horror director John Carpenter honored at Cannes CANNES, France (Reuters) - Cannes paid tribute to cult horror master John Carpenter on Wednesday with an award for “The Thing” director’s contribution to cinema.

SPORTS GOLF-PGACHAMP-WOODS

Golf: No Tiger sighting at sunny Bethpage Black on Wednesday FARMINGDALE, N.Y. (Reuters) - The PGA Championship finally took on a major feel on Wednesday as the sun shone, the players emerged from seclusion and spectators turned up in droves to watch the world best players put the finishing touches to their preparations.

TENNIS-AUSTRALIA-KYRGIOS Unfiltered Kyrgios rips into Djokovic, Nadal in podcast

MELBOURNE (Reuters) - Australia’s Nick Kyrgios has branded Rafa Nadal a sore loser, the Spaniard’s uncle Toni an “idiot” and said world number one Novak Djokovic has a “sick obsession” with being liked in a podcast certain to ruffle feathers ahead of the French Open. UPCOMING

POLITICS / INTERNATIONAL AFFAIRS USA-TRUMP/MUELLER-READING (PIX) (TV)

Democrats to read Mueller report in U.S. House hearing room Twenty U.S. Democrats plan to read aloud the entire, 448-page redacted Mueller report in the hearing room of the House Rules Committee over 12-14 hours in Thursday and Friday in a marathon stunt highlighting the standoff between Congress and President Donald Trump over its power to investigate him.

16 May 12:00 ET / 16:00 GMT TURKEY-LATVIA/ (PIX)

Turkish Foreign Minister Mevlut Cuvusoglu to visit Latvia Foreign Minister of Turkey Mevlut Cuvusoglu visits Latvia and meets with the Latvian government officials. They are to discuss bilateral cooperation between the two countries, questions of security policy and cooperation with NATO, relations between the European Union and Turkey, and other topics.

16 May 09:15 ET / 13:15 GMT USA-IMMIGRATION/TRUMP (PIX) (TV)

Trump to propose plan to make U.S. immigration more merit-based U.S. President Donald Trump on Thursday will outline immigration plan aimed at hardening border ports of entry and making legal migration system based more on proficiency in English and employment, senior administration officials say.

16 May 14:30 ET / 18:30 GMT CANADA-TRUDEAU/ (TV)

Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau gives news conference in Paris 16 May 09:45 ET / 13:45 GMT

USA-ELECTION/FRAUD (PIX) Ex-Fugees Rapper Pras to Appear in Court in Case Over 2012 campaign funds

"Pras" Michel, a former rapper for the Fugees, will appear in court on Thursday for a status hearing in preparation for a trial, after he and Malaysian businessman Jho Low were charged with funneling illegal foreign donations into former Democratic President Barack Obama's 2012 re-election campaign. 16 May 10:00 ET / 14:00 GMT

GERMANY-POLITICS/ (PIX) (TV) Defeat for SPD in northern bastion may threaten Merkel coalition

Germany's weakened Social Democrats (SPD) look likely to lose the state of Bremen after seven decades next week in an election that could set the clock ticking on their strained national coalition with Chancellor Angela Merkel. 16 May 09:00 ET / 13:00 GMT

CRIME / LAW / JUSTICE USA-CRIME/CULT

Accused sex cult guru Keith Raniere faces trial in New York Accused sex cult guru Keith Raniere faces trial in New York on charges including engaging in sex trafficking and child exploitation as the leader of a secretive organization called Nxivm.

16 May 06:00 ET / 10:00 GMT BUSINESS / ECONOMICS

MEXICO-ECONOMY/RATES Mexico central bank holds monetary policy meeting

Mexico's central bank will hold its monetary policy meeting. We will be on the lookout for comments on the future trajectory of interest rates and risks to inflation and economic growth. 16 May 15:00 ET / 19:00 GMT

CANADA-CENBANK/ (PIX) Bank of Canada governor to speak on financial system review

Bank of Canada Governor Stephen Poloz and deputy governor Carolyn Wilkins will take media question after the release of the central bank's review of the Canadian financial system. 16 May 11:15 ET / 15:15 GMT

EUROZONE-BUDGET/ (PIX) (TV) Euro zone finance ministers meet

Finance ministers of the countries sharing the euro and other European Union countries meet in Brussels to discuss financing of the euro zone's budget 16 May 09:00 ET / 13:00 GMT

USA-FED/BRAINARD (PIX) Federal Reserve Board Governor Lael Brainard speaks on economy before tax association event

Federal Reserve Board Governor Lael Brainard speaks on the "Economic and Monetary Policy Outlook" before the National Tax Association 49th Annual Symposium, in Washington. 16 May 12:15 ET / 16:15 GMT

BAIDU-RESULTS/ (PIX) China's Baidu Inc reports results for first quarter of 2019

Baidu, China's top search engine, will report its first quarter results after US market close on May 16. Analyst call scheduled for 9:15 am Beijing time on May 17. 17 May 16:00 ET / 20:00 GMT

WALMART-RESULTS/ Walmart's first-quarter results

Walmart will post its first quarter earnings on Thursday. Investors will watch out for guidance on the economy and consumer demand as threat from China tariffs and resultant price increases looms large. 16 May 08:30 ET / 12:30 GMT

LLOYDS-AGM/ Lloyds Banking Group Annual General Meeting

Britain's biggest domestic bank Lloyds holds its annual general meeting in Edinburgh and could be the latest business to face a shareholder revolt over executive pay, after senior MPs questioned pension perks afforded to CEO Antonio Horta-Osorio. 16 May 07:00 ET / 11:00 GMT

USA-FED/KASHKARI Fed's Kashkari speaks on economy

Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis President Neel Kashkari has been one of the U.S. central bank's biggest policy doves, but so far has stopped short of advocating for the interest-rate cuts that markets are betting will take place later this year. 16 May 12:05 ET / 16:05 GMT

AIRLINES-PLASTICS/ Airlines should eliminate single-use plastics from cabins in five years: Hi Fly CEO

Airlines should get ahead of regulators in eliminating single-use plastic from commercial flights within the next few years, said the chief executive of Portuguese carrier Hi Fly, ahead of an industry-led forum Thursday on the challenges of replacing plastic plates and utensils at 30,000 feet. 16 May 02:00 ET / 06:00 GMT

ARTS / CULTURE / ENTERTAINMENT FILMFESTIVAL-CANNES/SORRY WE MISSED YOU PREMIERE (PIX)

Ken Loach premieres 'Sorry We Missed You' in Cannes British director Ken Loach screens his latest film 'Sorry We Missed You' in competition at the Cannes Film Festival.

16 May 16:00 ET / 20:00 GMT FILMFESTIVAL-CANNES/ROCKETMAN PREMIERE (PIX) (TV)

'Rocketman' premieres in Cannes "Rocketman", an Elton John biopic tracking the singer’s early days, premieres at the Cannes Film Festival.

16 May 14:00 ET / 18:00 GMT TELEVISION-BIG BANG THEORY/ (PIX)

As 'Big Bang Theory' ends, will Sheldon get his Nobel? Will Sheldon and Amy win a Nobel Prize? Who will make a surprise cameo? And will the elevator finally be fixed? "The Big Bang Theory," the show about four brilliant but socially inept scientists that made geeks and comic book nerds pop culture cool, airs its final two episodes on Thursday, bringing to a conclusion the most-watched comedy on U.S. television.

16 May 07:00 ET / 11:00 GMT FILMFESTIVAL-CANNES/ATLANTICS PREMIERE (PIX) (TV)

Migrant ocean crossing movie "Atlantics" screens in Cannes "Atlantics", a Cannes competition entry about Senegalese construction workers deciding to cross the ocean for a better future and directed by female filmmaker Mati Diop, receives its premiere at the film festival.

16 May 10:00 ET / 14:00 GMT MUSIC-EUROVISION/SEMI FINAL 2 (PIX) (TV)

Eurovision second semi-final 16 May 15:00 ET / 19:00 GMT

SPORTS SOCCER-WORLDCUP/QATAR (PIX) (TV)

Soccer - Qatar opens first new World Cup stadium as tournament's fate looms Qatar on Thursday will inaugurate its first newly built World Cup stadium just weeks before a critical FIFA summit that could push it to share the spotlight with its neighbours despite a protracted row that has complicated FIFA's drive to expand the tournament.

16 May 15:30 ET / 19:30 GMT GOLF-PGACHAMP/ (PIX) (TV)

Golf - PGA Championship first round First round coverage of the major championship from the Bethpage Black course in New York.

16 May 06:45 ET / 10:45 GMT

(This story has not been edited by Devdiscourse staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)


POST A COMMENT