International Development News
Development News Edition
Give Feedback
Cricket World Cup 2019

REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 6 a.m GMT/ 2 a.m ET


Reuters
Updated: 10-06-2019 11:40 IST
REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 6 a.m GMT/ 2 a.m ET

Riot police surrounded Hong Kong's parliament on Monday after authorities said they would go ahead with a proposed extradition law, which would allow suspects to be sent to mainland China, despite protests from an estimated crowd of more than a million.

USA-TRADE-MEXICO-BORDER-DEAL/ No expansion yet of U.S.-Mexico asylum program after Trump deal

TIJUANA, Mexico (Reuters) - U.S.-bound asylum seekers are not yet being sent back to additional Mexican border towns to await processing after a deal on Friday called for the program to be immediately extended to the whole border, three Mexican officials said. The U.S.

USA-ELECTION-IOWA/ Democratic 2020 candidates pitch Iowa party leaders on how to beat Trump

CEDAR RAPIDS, Iowa (Reuters) - Nineteen Democratic presidential candidates delivered rapid-fire sales pitches to Iowa party leaders on Sunday, touting their ability to energize voters, win the White House and deliver on longtime party goals such as universal healthcare. USA-TRADE-MEXICO-BORDER/

On Mexico border, Republican business owners oppose Trump's tariff threat SAN LUIS, Ariz. (Reuters) - A lifelong Republican, Russ Jones supports President Donald Trump and agrees he needs to take action to deal with an immigration crisis on the border with Mexico.

BUSINESS NISSAN-RENAULT-GOVERNANCE/

Renault, Nissan spar over governance reforms as tie-up strains worsen: sources PARIS (Reuters) - Renault has signaled it will block alliance partner Nissan from adopting planned governance reforms unless it gets a seat on new board committees, sources said, a demand one person at the Japanese automaker derided as a potential conflict of interest.

UTC-M-A-RAYTHEON/ United Technologies, Raytheon to create $120 billion aerospace and defense giant

United Technologies Corp agreed on Sunday to combine its aerospace business with U.S. contractor Raytheon Co and create a new company worth about $121 billion, in what would be the sector's biggest ever merger. ENTERTAINMENT

AWARDS-TONY/ 'Hadestown,' Cranston win big at Tonys, 'Ferryman' best play

NEW YORK (Reuters) - "Hadestown," a folk opera about a young couple's dark trek to the underworld, topped Broadway's Tony awards on Sunday winning eight honors, including the top prize best musical. GAMING-E3/XBOX

Microsoft unveils next-gen "Project Scarlett" Xbox console for release in 2020 Microsoft Corp unveiled on Sunday its next-generation Xbox console, known as "Project Scarlett," which is set to hit store shelves during the 2020 holiday season.

SPORTS MOTOR-F1-CANADA/

Sweet Canadian Grand Prix turns sour for Hamilton What should have been a sweet victory at the Canadian Grand Prix for Lewis Hamilton and Mercedes on Sunday, instead left a bitter taste when the crowd turned on the Briton after a controversial penalty gifted him a milestone win.

GOLF-CANADIAN/ McIlroy sets sights on Pebble Beach after winning Canadian Open

Rory McIlroy threatened to shoot 59 but fell just short as he made his Canadian Open debut a great one by clinching a seven-stroke victory in Ontario on Sunday and then said it was only mission half-accomplished. UPCOMING

POLITICS / INTERNATIONAL AFFAIRS USA-CONGRESS/MUELLER (PIX) (TV)

U.S. House Judiciary Committee holds hearing on Mueller report Democrat-controlled U.S. House of Representatives Judiciary Committee conducts hearing on Robert Mueller's report on Russian interference in 2016 presidential election and its connections to Donald Trump's campaign.

10 Jun 14:00 ET / 18:00 GMT GREECE-ELECTION/PM-PRESIDENT (PIX) (TV)

Greek PM to meet President Prokopis Pavlopoulos, discuss snap election Greek Prime Minister Alexis Tsipras to meet President Prokopis Pavlopoulos to discuss snap elections. Tsipras, whose term ends in October, will propose an early vote on July 7 He called the early vote after his leftist Syriza party suffered a heavy defeat to the opposition conservative New Democracy party in the European Parliament election.

10 Jun 11:30 ET / 15:30 GMT BRITAIN-EU/LEADER (TV)

Announcements of candidates nominated for Conservative leadership contest The Conservative Party's 1922 committee will announce the candidates who have be nominated for the contest to replace Prime Minister Theresa May.

10 Jun 12:30 ET / 16:30 GMT CRIME / LAW / JUSTICE

ILLINOIS-CRIME/ (PIX) Opening arguments in trial of Illinois man accused of abducting a Chinese scholar

Opening arguments are tentatively scheduled to begin June 10 in the trial of Brendt Christensen, who faces one count of kidnapping resulting in death and two counts of making a false statement to Federal Bureau of Investigation agents in the abduction of Yingying Zhang, a 26-year-old visiting scholar from southeastern China who officials believe is dead, although no body has been found. 10 Jun 07:00 ET / 11:00 GMT

CALIFORNIA-FAMILYSLAY/ Jury to present trial verdict in sledgehammer killings of California family

A Southern California jury was due to present its verdict on Monday in the murder trial of an ex-convict charged with the 2010 sledghammer killings of a family of four whose remains were found more than two years later buried in the desert. 10 Jun 13:00 ET / 17:00 GMT

BUSINESS / ECONOMICS AUCTION-BEETHOVEN/HAIR (TV)

Lock of Beethoven's hair up for grabs A lock of German composer and pianist Ludwig van Beethoven's (1770-1827) hair will be auctioned off by Sotheby's in London on June 11.

10 Jun 05:00 ET / 09:00 GMT USA-FED/COMMUNICATIONS

Fed policymakers face communications quandary As Federal Reserve policymakers grapple with the challenge of communicating clearly in an increasingly uncertain world, an idea has emerged that could ease the pressure.

10 Jun 10:00 ET / 14:00 GMT IMO-SHIPPING/USA-REFINERS

Marine fuel change to push up diesel prices beginning in October Diesel and other distillate prices should rise by October ahead of a January switchover to low-sulfur marine fuels, said analysts, as refiners begin building inventories of the fuel.

10 Jun 10:00 ET / 14:00 GMT

(This story has not been edited by Devdiscourse staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)


POST A COMMENT