Development News Edition
Give Feedback
write for Us

YSRC announces first list of 9 candidates for LS polls in AP

PTI vja
Updated: 16-03-2019 22:58 IST
YSRC announces first list of 9 candidates for LS polls in AP

The YSR Congress Saturday night announced its first list of nine candidates for the April 11 Lok Sabha elections in Andhra Pradesh. Party president Y S Jaganmohan Reddy is expected to announce the next list of candidates, possibly for all the 175 Assembly seats and the remaining 16 parliamentary constituencies on Sunday.

Only two old faces were found in the list of nine candidates announced late tonight as the YSRC chose fresh nominees for the Lok Sabha election. A former inspector of police Gorantla Madhav, who had a feud with Anantapuramu MP J C Diwakar Reddy while in service, was named as YSRC candidate for the Hindupur Lok Sabha seat.

Y S Avinash Reddy and P V Midhun Reddy, who quit as MPs in June last protesting the denial of Special Category Status to AP, have been renominated from Kadapa and Rajampet respectively. The other candidates are Madhavi (Araku-ST), Anuradha (Amalapuram-SC), Talari Rangaiah (Anantapuramu), Nandigam Suresh (Bapatla-SC), Sanjeev Kumar (Kurnool) and Reddappa (Chittoor-SC).

Meanwhile, the Jana Sena Party announced the candidature of economist Pentapati Pulla Rao for the Eluru Lok Sabha seat. "We have chosen Dr Rao as our candidate impressed by his fight for the cause of tribals and environment protection.

He is a noted economist and his services are required for the country," Jana Sena chief Pawan Kalyan said in a statement. Businessman Gedela Srinivas, whom the Jana Sena nominated as its candidate for the Visakhapatnam Lok Sabha seat, joined the YSR Congress Saturday evening..