Left Menu
Development News Edition

Lok Sabha polls: 7 seats up for grabs in MP on Monday

PTI | Bhopal | Updated: 05-05-2019 12:19 IST | Created: 05-05-2019 12:19 IST
Lok Sabha polls: 7 seats up for grabs in MP on Monday

Union minister Virendra Singh Khatik and BJP MP Prahlad Patel are among the 110 candidates whose fate would be decided in polling to be held across seven seats in Madhya Pradesh on Monday. This will be the second phase of polling in Madhya Pradesh, the first phase having been held on April 29.

Total 15,240 polling booths have been set up across the seven constituencies - Tikamgarh, Damoh, Khajuraho, Satna, Rewa, Hoshangabad and Betul - where 1.19 crore people, including 18,822 service voters, are eligible to exercise their franchise, an election official said. Of the 110 candidates, 14 are in the fray in Tikamgarh, 15 in Damoh, 17 in Khajuraho, 21 in Satna, 23 in Rewa, 11 in Hoshangabad and nine in Betul, an Election Commission official said.

Khatik is the BJP candidate from Tikamgarh while Patel, the former Union minister and sitting MP, is the party's nominee from Damoh. They are pitted against the Congress' Kiran Ahirwar and Pratap Singh Lodhi, respectively. The Election Commission has also ordered repolling on Monday in Sidhi Lok Sabha seat's booth number 185 located at Demha village, following complaints of irregularities during voting held there on April 29, state's additional chief electoral officer Sandeep Yadav said.

The high-decibel campaign for the seven constituencies saw top BJP and Congress leaders campaigning for their respective party candidates. All these seats located in the state's Bundelkhand region are currently held by the BJP.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi addressed a rally at Hoshangabad for BJP candidate and sitting MP Rao Uday Pratap Singh, while Congress president Rahul Gandhi canvassed support for his party's nominee Diwan Shailendra Singh. Gandhi also held rallies in Rewa, Tikamgarh, Damoh and Khajuraho.

BJP president Amit Shah addressed public meetings in Rewa, Tikamgarh and Khajuraho. Lok Sabha elections for 29 seats in MP are being held in four phases. Polling for six seats was held in the first phase on April 29, while eight seats each will go to polls on May 12 and 19.

In 2014, the BJP won 27 seats in the state while the Congress bagged two seats. The Congress later increased its tally to three after wresting Ratlam seat from the BJP in a bypoll.

The Congress, which came to power in the state in December last year after 15 years, hopes to carry forward the winning momentum while the BJP hopes to repeat its 2014 showing..



COVID-19 seems cooking biggest ever global scam

The increasing number of corruption cases on COVID-19 funds from throughout the world and involvement of high profile persons indicate that the countries cant ignore corruption in their pandemic response programs. This has generated the nee...

Health Management Information Systems lack holistic, integrated, and pandemic resilient character

Being a part of the United Nations system, the World Health Organization WHO deserves its share of rebuke for its alleged failure issue COVID-19 health emergency alerts on appropriate time. However, the pandemic has also exposed loopholes i...

Pride in the time of coronavirus: a welcome move online?

This year is different in many ways not least as celebrations are also taking place against the dramatic backdrop of a global health crisis and a resurgence in grassroots activism following the death of George Floyd in Minneapolis. ...

COVID-19: Weighing up the benefits and limitations of edtech platforms

Edtech companies shouldnt focus on merely pushing contents, but to provide an interactive, effective teaching and learning environment. ...


Latest News

Baseball-MLB unveils schedule for 60-game season; Nationals-Yankees first up

The defending World Series champion Washington Nationals will play host to the New York Yankees on July 23 in the first game of the 60-game Major League Baseball season, the league announced on Monday. Later that day, the San Francisco Gian...

MLB announces full regular-season schedule

Major League Baseball on Monday announced the full 60-game schedules for every team this season, with the regular season beginning July 23 and ending Sept. 27. MLB suspended the season during spring training, back on March 12, because of th...

Rugby-Southern hemisphere tests possible later this year - SANZAAR

Southern hemisphere rugby remains optimistic they will be able to play the Rugby Championship later this year and that a full Super Rugby competition will be run next year. SANZAAR, an amalgamation of the South African, Australian, New Zeal...

Australia rushing to implement permit system before coronavirus-sparked border closure

Australian officials were scrambling on Tuesday to implement a travel permit system before closing the heavily trafficked border between its two most populous states as it attempts to contain a coronavirus outbreak in the city of Melbourne....

Give Feedback