France's Bold Experiment: 22 Uncapped Players for Argentina and Uruguay Tour

France has named 22 uncapped players in a 42-man experimental rugby squad for their upcoming tour of Argentina and Uruguay. Excluding players from Top 14 finalists, the squad includes experienced scrumhalf Baptiste Serin. The tour involves tests in Mendoza, Buenos Aires, and Montevideo.

Reuters | Paris | Updated: 24-06-2024 01:21 IST | Created: 24-06-2024 01:21 IST
France's Bold Experiment: 22 Uncapped Players for Argentina and Uruguay Tour
AI Generated Representative Image
  • Country:
  • France

France on Sunday named 22 uncapped players in a largely experimental squad of 42 for their tour of Argentina and Uruguay, but must do without players from the two Top 14 finalists. Five players, however, from beaten semi-finalists Stade Francais, who lost on Saturday at Bordeaux-Begles, have been added plus six from La Rochelle, who lost their semi-final on Friday to Stade Toulousain.

The Top 14 final is being played in Marseille on Friday. France take on Argentina in tests in Mendoza on July 6 and Buenos Aires on July 13, with a trip in between to play Uruguay on July 10 in Montevideo.

Scrumhalf Baptiste Serin, 30, is the most experienced player in the squad with 44 caps. Squad:

Backs: Theo Attissogbé (Pau), Leo Barre (Stade Français), Leo Berdeu (Lyon), Louis Carbonel (Montpellier), Baptiste Couilloud (Lyon), Leon Darricarrere (Clermont), Simeli Daunivucu (La Rochelle), Lucas Dubois (Perpignan), Lester Etien (Stade Francais), Jules Favre (La Rochelle), Antoine Frisch (Munster), Emilien Gailleton (Pau), Antoine Hastoy (La Rochelle). Nathanael Hulleu (Castres), Melvyn Jaminet (Toulon), Baptiste Jauneau, Joris Jurand (both Clermont), Baptiste Serin (Toulon), Arthur Vincent (Montpellier). Forwards: Hugo Auradou (Pau), Pierre-Henri Azagoh (Stade Francais), Gaetan Barlot (Castres), Teddy Baubigny (Toulon), Demba Bemba (Lyon), Giorgi Beria (Clermont), Romain Briatte (Stade Francais), Judicael Cancoriet, George-Henri Colombe (both La Rochelle), Ibrahim Diallo (Racing 92), Jean-Baptiste Gros (Toulon), Mickael Guillard (Lyon), Oscar Jegou (La Rochelle), Jordan Joseph (Racing 92), Thomas Laclayat (Racing 92), Lenni Nouchi (Montpellier), Yann Peysson (Castres), Baptiste Pesenti (Stade Francais), Sebastien Taofifenua (Lyon), Janick Tarrit (Racing 92), Killian Tixeront (Clermont), Posolo Tuilagi (Perpignan), Florent Vanverberghe (Castres).

(This story has not been edited by Devdiscourse staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

Give Feedback