Left Menu
Development News Edition

Two new FIFA award categories for women's football

ANI | Zurich | Updated: 07-05-2019 09:59 IST | Created: 07-05-2019 09:59 IST
Two new FIFA award categories for women's football

Federation Internationale de Football Association (FIFA) announced two new award categories on Monday to promote women's football across the globe. The two new award categories are off Women's goalkeeper of the year and a women's team of the year.

This announcement means and both men and women will be up for receiving accolades in the same categories at the FIFA Best ceremony in Milan on September 23. "FIFA is certain that France will host a groundbreaking edition of the FIFA Women's World Cup this year, so I cannot think of a better moment to introduce these new awards," Zvonimir Boban, FIFA's Deputy Secretary-General said in an official statement.

"It is yet another step in the right direction to raise the profile of women's football," he added. Awards will be given out in 11 categories and the categories are as follows:

The Best FIFA Men's Player The Best FIFA Women's Player

The Best FIFA Men's Coach The Best FIFA Women's Coach

The Best FIFA Men's Goalkeeper The Best FIFA Women's Goalkeeper*

FIFA Pro Men's World 11 FIFA Pro Women's World 11

The FIFA Puskas Award The FIFA Fair Play Award

The FIFA Fan Award The coronation of The Best of the season will be held at Milan's historic Teatro Alla Scala.

The details about the voting procedure for The Best FIFA Football Awards 2019, including key release dates and the rules of allocation for each award will be made available later. (ANI)



Pride in the time of coronavirus: a welcome move online?

This year is different in many ways not least as celebrations are also taking place against the dramatic backdrop of a global health crisis and a resurgence in grassroots activism following the death of George Floyd in Minneapolis. ...

COVID-19: Weighing up the benefits and limitations of edtech platforms

Edtech companies shouldnt focus on merely pushing contents, but to provide an interactive, effective teaching and learning environment. ...

Shipping industry's COVID-19 resilience test could boost digitalization

The push towards digitalization in shipping industry was already happening and has been further accelerated by the pandemic as current practices are not tenable under present circumstances and would definitely not be in the future....

Health is pure science but why objectivity eludes WHO

We certainly need a global body to coordinate responses against health emergencies. However, this sheer need of humanity on this planet should not be milked by the World Organization WHO to overshadow constructive criticism and call for ref...


Latest News

Coronavirus on the rise in 37 U.S. states as Florida reports 10,000 new cases

More than three dozen U.S. states were seeing a rise in COVID-19 cases, according to a Reuters analysis on Thursday, the latest grim sign that the coronavirus pandemic, once thought to be waning, was again spreading rapidly. Florida, among ...

U.S. seeks to seize gasoline in 4 Iran tankers bound for Venezuela

U.S. prosecutors filed a lawsuit to seize the gasoline aboard four tankers that Iran is trying to ship to Venezuela, the latest attempt by the Trump administration to increase economic pressure on the two U.S. foes. The government of Venezu...

It's just political vendetta, says Ahmed Patel on Priyanka Gandhi's eviction notice, ED questioning

Terming the probe against him in connection with Sandesara fraud case as political vendetta, Congress leader Ahmed Patel said that Enforcement Directorate ED officials asked him 128 questions which were based on allegations. Speaking to the...

1,213 new COVID-19 positive cases, 8 deaths reported in Telangana

A total of 1,213 new COVID-19 cases and eight fatalities were reported in Telangana on Thursday. Among 5,356 samples tested, 1,213 resulted in COVID-19 positive on Thursday.So far, the total number of fatalities reported were 275, said the ...

Give Feedback