Left Menu
Development News Edition

REUTERS SPORTS SCHEDULE AT 1500 GMT/1100 ET

Reuters | Updated: 16-05-2019 20:41 IST | Created: 16-05-2019 20:41 IST
REUTERS SPORTS SCHEDULE AT 1500 GMT/1100 ET

Here are the top sports stories and upcoming coverage plans for Reuters text service as of 11 a.m. ET/3 p.m. GMT. For a full schedule of news and events, go to our editorial calendar on Reuters Connect https://www.reutersconnect.com/planning or on Media Express http://mediaexpress.reuters.com/planning-tools/calendar. TOP STORIES

TENNIS-ROME/ Men's big three and Osaka through to last 16 in Rome

ROME - Former world number one Roger Federer marked his return to the Italian Open for the first time since 2016 with a 6-4 6-3 second round win over Joao Sousa on Thursday as top seed Novak Djokovic and holder Rafael Nadal also reached the last 16. GOLF-PGACHAMP/

Tiger Woods seeks second straight major win at PGA Championship FARMINGDALE, N.Y. - Masters champion Tiger Woods launched his quest for a second consecutive major title and a possible return to number one in the world rankings at the opening round of the PGA Championship on Thursday.

SOCCER-GERMANY-BAY-SGE/PREVIEW Soccer-Kovac aware Bayern future rests on two title deciders

BERLIN, - Bayern Munich coach Niko Kovac is aware his future with the German champions rests on Saturday's Bundesliga title-deciding finale and the German Cup final despite being contracted to 2021. UPCOMING

SOCCER SOCCER-BELGIUM/ (PIX)

Soccer - Belgian league title could de decided Racing Genk can win the title in Belgium for the first time since 2011 if they get result at Anderlecht and their only challengers Club Bruges, who are playing at Standard Liege at the same time, stumble.

16 May 16:30 ET / 20:30 GMT SOCCER-WORLDCUP/QATAR (PIX) (TV)

Soccer - Qatar opens first new World Cup stadium as tournament's fate looms Qatar on Thursday will inaugurate its first newly built World Cup stadium just weeks before a critical FIFA summit that could push it to share the spotlight with its neighbours despite a protracted row that has complicated FIFA's drive to expand the tournament.

16 May 15:30 ET / 19:30 GMT SOCCER-CHAMPIONS-LYO-FCB/

Soccer - Interview with Barcelona vice president Jordi Mestre ahead of Women's Champions League final

Barcelona's vice-president Jordi Mestre speaks to Reuters ahead of the Women's Champions League final against Olympique Lyonnais. 16 May 12:30 ET / 16:30 GMT

SOCCER-WORLDCUP-ZAF/ (PIX) Soccer - Women's World Cup - South Africa squad announcement

South Africa name their squad for next month's women's World Cup in France, where they will be making their made appearance at the finals. 17 May 08:30 ET / 12:30 GMT

SOCCER-WORLDCUP-USA-NZL/ Soccer - Women's International Friendly - United States v New Zealand

World champions United States face New Zealand in a friendly in St Louis, Missouri as both sides prepare for the FIFA Women's World Cup in France which starts on June 7. 16 May 20:00 ET / 00:00 GMT

SOCCER-ENGLAND-MCI-WAT/PREVIEW (TV) Soccer - England - FA Cup Final - Manchester City news conference

Manchester City manager Pep Guardiola speaks to the media ahead of the FA Cup final against Watford as his side attempt to become the first team to win the English domestic treble. 17 May 08:30 ET / 12:30 GMT

SOCCER-COPA-BRA/ (PIX) (TV) Soccer - Copa America - Brazil squad announcement

Brazil coach Tite announces his squad ahead of the Copa America. 17 May 10:00 ET / 14:00 GMT

RUGBY RUGBY-UNION-SUPER/

Rugby - Super Rugby Week 14 Super Rugby week 14

17 May 05:30 ET / 09:30 GMT RUGBY-UNION-SUPER/REBELS

Rugby-Melbourne Rebels v Bulls The Melbourne Rebels look to maintain contact with the ACT

Brumbies in the Australian conference of Super Rugby against the Bulls, who are also just a point behind the South African leaders the Sharks. 17 May 07:30 ET / 11:30 GMT

TENNIS TENNIS-ROME/ (PIX)

Tennis - WTA Premier 5 - Italian Open Action from the quarter-finals of the Italian Open - a WTA Premier 5 tournament.

17 May 05:00 ET / 09:00 GMT TENNIS-ROME/ (PIX) (TV)

Tennis - ATP 1000 - Italian Open Action from the quarter-finals of the Italian Open - an ATP World Tour Masters 1000 event in Rome.

17 May 05:00 ET / 09:00 GMT CYCLING

CYCLING-GIRO/ (PIX) (TV) Cycling - Giro d'Italia

Stage seven of the Giro d'Italia is a 185-kilometre ride from Vasto to L'Aquila. 17 May 06:25 ET / 10:25 GMT

CRICKET CRICKET-ODI-ENG-PAK/ (PIX)

Cricket - Fourth One Day International - England v Pakistan England play Pakistan in their fourth one day international in Nottingham.

17 May 08:00 ET / 12:00 GMT GOLF

GOLF-PGACHAMP/ (PIX) (TV) Golf - PGA Championship second round

Second round coverage of the major championship at Bethpage Black in New York. 17 May 06:45 ET / 10:45 GMT

(This story has not been edited by Devdiscourse staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

Download The Devdiscourse News App for Latest News.


TRENDING

OPINION / BLOG / INTERVIEW

Diya Jalao for COVID 19: How Modi put Power Grids and power warriors at risk?

While Prime Minister Narendra Modis staunch supporters are busy in search of hidden science behind the sudden announcement of 9minutes9pm campaign but his ignorance of the actual science has put the nation in another danger. The scientists ...

Energy markets post-COVID 19: Recovery may take time, transition to continue

As oil markets have crashed, the experts believe the oil prices will come down drastically and continue making the energy transition a financial burden for many economies for a couple of years.  However, the market alone was never...

'Diya jalao' for COVID 19: Modi needs to practice his teachings and control fake news on social media

In his video message to the nation on Friday the Prime Minister talks about peoples collective power to win the invincible. However, he has made no concreate efforts to win over the confidence and represent the collective power of the polit...

Tourism post-COVID 19: Lessons learned, out-of-box strategies to ensure the revival

In the pre-COVID 19 period the tourism industry was seen with much hope throughout the world. However, the COVID 19 pandemic has completely paralysed the tourism industry and its dependent sectors. The tourism industry in the post-COVID 19 ...

Videos

Latest News

1 killed in explosion at sugar mill in Muzaffarnagar

At least one labourer was killed and another injured in an explosion at a sugar mill here on Saturday, an official said. It is suspected that the chimney of a boiler in Bajaj Sugar mill in Budhana exploded, he said.The deceased has been ide...

UP woman performs last rites of mother-in-law after sons fail to reach home amid lockdown

A woman in Uttar Pradeshs Deoria district performed final rites of her mother-in-law after the sons of the deceased failed to reach home amid the nationwide lockdown. Sumitra Devi, 70, was rushed to a community health centre in Salempur are...

3 Taliban militants killed in bomb blast in Aghanistan

At least three militants affiliated to the Taliban died when a bomb planted by them went off in Afghanistans central Ghor province, the Afghan government announced on Saturday.The dead Taliban members planted the bomb to target security and...

Will boycott Verka village for refusing cremation of Nirmal Singh, says Shiromani Ragi Sabha

A group of Hazoori Raagi on Saturday announced that it will boycott Verka village in Punjab after its residents did not allow the cremation of Padma Shri awardee Bhai Nirmal Singh Khalsa. Khalsa 62, former Hazoori Raagi at the Golden Temp...

Give Feedback